We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rector

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Rector
Ranked #1 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Absolutely Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The best hotel we visited during our trip to Spain - we can only support all the great things other reviewers have said. The hotel is ideally situated for all the sites in Salamanca and we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful lady on reception. The parking is also a great bonus so you don't have to worry about where to park.

The room was very well appointed we couldn't find fault with anything. The lack of a on site restaurant doesn't pose a problem as there are so many eating places within a short walk of the hotel. Moreover, the recommendations from the hotel for eating places were fab.

If you visit Spain Salamanca should be on your list of city to visit and you should definitely stay in the Hotel Rector.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjamesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    49
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
99
324
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have been to this hotel twice over the years. The last visit was in June 2013. One always feels welcome. The rooms are very comfortable. The toiletries are special. Breakfast is very appetizing. All in all it is a privileged experience. The location is also ideal as it is just a walk uphill into the old city. We had not realised until this trip that there is an excellent vehicle museum at the rear.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Deserving of its premier status on TA. Bright attractive rooms - not large but well equipped. Wonderful staff. Lovely cool, well designed and comfortable public areas. Breakfast far too good ... a little bit of gold in a place called the golden town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallypsolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This must rank as one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at based on customer service and friendliness of the staff.
They simple were there at all times, helpful and kind and also efficient!
They even allowed our little dog.
The breakfast was superb and in great surroundings.
We will definitely come again one day!
If we have one concern it is the building work outside the hotel that will hopefully end soon with drilling at some times going on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riseccouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our few days at the Hotel Rector. The hotel is well situated just outside the city wall, within an easy 10 minute stroll to the centre of town. We were greeted on the steps by Therese and found all the staff very helpful, particularly Therese who fielded our unusual requests - trip to farm breeding fighting bulls - arranged. Tracking down a particular fishing fly - done. The rooms are spacious with beautiful crisp linen on the beds. Breakfast is a feast of fresh fruit, pastries, jamon, breads and preserves with plenty of juice, tea and coffee. We never felt the need for the cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the City Wall which is pretty lit at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnePD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We could have not asked for a better hotel in Salamanca. Great location, large rooms, great service, quite and walking distance to the historic sites as well as the University. Yes, you find find a lower price room but in my opinion, there is true value in this beautiful hotel. Oh and ask for Silvia, she is the best hostess that we encountered in the 7 cities( hotels) that we visited during our 20 day vacation in Spain. She truly is a carrying, wonderful person who makes you feel welcomed and part of the hotel familia. Gracias , Silvia, you are very special!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al4Cabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Me and my grown up family had a 1 night stop over on the way to catch the ferry at Santander .
The hotel is beautiful with very kind and lovely staff who couldn't do enough for you.The beds are comfortable and the rooms are lovely and clean.
Just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
#5 of 72 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#6 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 72 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rector? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rector

Property: Hotel Rector
Address: Paseo Rector Esperabe 10, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#1 Family Hotel in Salamanca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#12 Business Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rector 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Rector reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rector Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing