We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hostal Plaza Mayor
Nearby Hotels
$91
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Room Mate Vega(Salamanca)(Great Value!)
$55
$49
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca(Salamanca)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Puente Romano de Salamanca(Salamanca)(Great Value!)
$65
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hosteria Sara(Salamanca)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Eurostars Las Claras(Salamanca)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$221
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$245
$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$64
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostal Gud Salamanca(Salamanca)(Great Value!)
$50
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveler rating
106
95
29
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
95
29
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplaza mayorgreat locationrooms are smallsmall fridgeroom was spotlessly cleanthoroughly enjoyed our stayper dayexcellent valuereception areanoiseluggagespainparkingcitycafessiestaelevator
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 236 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

We recently visited Salamanca for one night and stayed at the Hostel Plaza Mayor. The room was basic but very clean with a nice ensuite. The service was brilliant although only one of the staff spoke English but we managed with phrase book Spanish fine! Exellent location to explore Salamanca, I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheffield88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Hostal Plaza Mayor was just the best location to stay in Salamanca for a budget price and it was far from what I would consider a 'hostal'. Just off the magnificent Plaza Major - literally a few yards from the corner of the square nearest to the cathedral and universities, the hotel entrance is narrow and unobtrusive from the front - squashed between cafes and bars - probably not the sort of entrance I might have gone for if I hadn't read the stunning Tripadvisor reviews which influenced our booking. But as soon as you start up the steps it as shiny and spotlessly clean - the lobby, the stairwells and the rooms. The receptionists were friendly and helpful and Oscar in particular gave us loads of great tips for convents, walks and tapas bars and encouraged us to try Pimientos de Padron for which we will thank him forever.
Our room was a reasonable size and the shower room was small but adequate. We were right at the front with a balcony but it was far too hot to open the shutters other than for a peek. The air conditioning was brilliantly efficient and the bed was comfortable and having the little fridge was a real bonus, as the markets are just a few minutes away and it was good to stock up with fresh fruits.
It was great to be able to enjoy this fantastic city and just wander back from time to time to our room to refresh, as it really is such an amazing location. The Plaza Major at night is an entrancing place to wander around - be it the excitement of political demonstrations, the lively university folk bands or just the gentle dancing groups and the clicking of castinets - it's the place to be as midnight tolls on a hot summer night.
We would definitely stay here again and would love to return to Salamanca.

Room Tip: We only saw our room - one at the front with a balcony - and it was great. But I would imagine they are all nice and clean. Other guests seemed happy enough.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the hostal. If you are looking for clean, comfortable, simple accommodation at a good price then this will suit you. The rooms aren’t large but ours had en-suite, TV and a small fridge and was very comfortable. We had a room at the back of the hostal which was very quiet in spite of the location being very close to the Plaza Mayor. We were there when Spain won the European Cup and the whole town celebrated but even then the noise wasn’t disturbing.
We were given a warm welcome and Oscar was very helpful when we needed any information. I left some earrings by mistake and these were very kindly posted back to me. We would certainly stay at the Hostal Plaza Mayor again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaycee9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Basic accommodation in the heart of Salamanca. Very friendly and helpful guy at reception (the main plus of the place), bedroom overlooking an air shaft with an extremely loud exterior A/C or ventilation unit, probably belonging to restaurant next door, that made sleeping impossible. For one night bearable.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RexTsatsaroglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This "Hostal" is a few steps from the plaza mayor in Salamanca, so its in a ideal location to be right in the centre of things. The entrance is up a flight of steps between two bar/restaurants, so although its quite well signed its still possible to miss even if you know pretty much where it is.
The one down side is that there is no lifet. The rooms are relativelt small, but its still good value. Our room was on the third floor looking at the rose window of the church just south of the plaza major. we had two small "balconies" overlooking the street, fromn where you could see the cathedral, and through the arch, glimpse the corner of the plaza. The staff had fairly limited english but we managed just fine as they were very co-operative and patient. Parking is a big problem, but the hotel has two spaces on a nearby street. We were expecting to pay an extra 15euros for the priviledge, but I don't think they charged us (not sure how it works) The hotel man came to the car with me, but then went away (I think sometimes they move them for you, perhaps we just got lucky). The satnav tried to send me up some pedestrianised streets as I got close to the accomodation, but it re-calculated when I took a different turn.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kb61263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews