We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“functional rooms in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our room #110 faced the back parking lot - it was on the dark side and the bathroom though clean was dated. Hallway noise was quite easily heard, however fortunately fellow guests were respectfully quiet. Public spaces were attractive and well maintained. Parking [€18 a day] was available and the staff parked our car saving us the hassle. Front desk staff were cheerfully helpful and efficient. WiFi access was free for our 2 day stay. The hotel's key attribute is its location, the front terrace faces the Convento de San Esteban and the Plaza Mayor, Catedral and other historic sites were less than a quick 10 min walk away.

Our rate did not include breakfast, and we found too many dining opportunities so ended up only snacking at the hotel - though our plate of ham with wine set on the terrace were delicious. Highly recommend the restaurant La Hoja 21, which is virtually across the street. Weekday fixed price lunch special [€20 per person opens at 2PM] included wonderful starter, main plate and desert as well as a bottle of excellent regional wine. The meal was one of the highlights of our Spanish dining experiences. Our lunch at the nearby Río de la Plata [2 blocks off the Plaza Mayor] was also of the best quality with top notch service. Several local grandees were dining there as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front terrace and confirm you will receive free WiFi as part of your rate.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhileasFoggII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
There are newer reviews for NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 773 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our stay in Salamanca was probably too short for that amazing city and the hotel did really surprised us: its overall ambience, its location just few steps away from the beauties of the city, the helpful staff. Certainly a good motivation to plan another visit to this city and Spain in general.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flavio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stopped here overnight on our Iberian road trip and spent the night in a somewhat cramped room overlooking the cathedral, luckily no bells after 18:00hrs. Didn't eat in the restaurant as being time pressed and it not opening until 20:30 hrs we went about town instead. Can't say I had a restfully sleep and awoke to the normal city clatter and chatter and had a quite meagrely breakfast before setting off for Oporto.
Internet access here not free if you want email and again we had to pay, rip off yet again.
Beware everyone with a large car. The garage here is somewhat difficult to say the least and suits a Fiat Punto or a smart car only. I'd love to see the Top Gear team try and deal with it, that would be a laugh.
Good position, but could do better in some areas.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank BaddyPurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were so impressed with this hotel for our brief stay. Located SO conveniently a few mins walk from the key Salamanca sites it was a brilliant base to explore from rather than being a luxury hotel that you spend tiem in. The room was comfortable enough, Eva on the reception very helpful with a map and recommendations of where to go/eat. The building is beautiful from the outside and inside stylish and in keeping. Secure parking under hotel - bit expensive, and a tight manoeuvre if you have a large car. Can't understand the bad reviews at all.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alchristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night just to visit Salamanca. The hotel is awesome and in a superb situation with stunning views and easy walking distance to all the main attractions. I loved the ambience of this hotel its classic styling, good parking and helpful staff. I thought the furniture was just great and in keeping with the hotel. Certainly it did not need replacing, you don't replace great classic items. Lovely terrace overlooking the wonderful old town.
If you are looking for a classic hotel then you cant go wrong. If you want something trendy and filled with plastic chairs then this is not for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanafish_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed with my wife here in salamnaca twice in August, this time was the return trip, we stayed two night and paid approx 70 euros per night, the hotel is good value for money, staff helpfull and polite, we had great views from our room, the bad reviews here really are over the top. Two weeks earlier we stayed in NH Hotel puerta catedral, (same hotel chain) which is only a short walk away, this was one of our favourite hotels we stayed in, and would opt to stay there on future visits.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigsyswann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed a few friends and we liked it
Breakfast is very good, rooms are also good (could have a bit more space but nevertheless are spacious enough)
I do agree that the furniture could be renewed , but is not as bad as other comments suggest.
The location and the building are fantastic .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 70 in Salamanca
908 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#7 of 70 in Salamanca
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Plaza Mayor Salamanca
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
0.8 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#8 of 70 in Salamanca
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos

Address: Calle San Pablo 58-64 | City Center, 37008 Salamanca, Spain (Formerly NH Palacio de Castellanos)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Salamanca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#8 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: $85 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos hotel in Salamanca is located in the heart of the old part of the city, right next to the Plaza Mayor main square and with superb views of the neighboring Plaza de Concilio de Trento, the old Dominican Convent, and cathedrals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Palacio De Castellanos Hotel Salamanca
Nh Hotels Salamanca
Nh Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing