We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its worth every Euro...!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Don Gregorio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Its worth every Euro...!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

A great small exclusive hotel...where they have attended to every detail with passion and quality.
This hotel is a "Gem".....within a jeweled crown of a city.
Its location is PERFECT......its comfort is WOW........and its expensive but not over priced.
The service is so good....nice people who care and try so hard to make you feel comfortable.
Go by car they garage it for you and bring it back within seconds.
Great Little bar .....excellent house Rioja.
So many restaurants locally for you to try....and a great place to stroll and site see.
Its like staying in the middle of a history book.

Room Tip: Great car parking.....easy drop off outside the hotel.....the rooms are so comfortable its hard to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Readytoburst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    49
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
58
190
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MAdrid
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family (my wife plus two babies of 2 and 15 months) spent last weekend in Salamanca. We wanted a great atmosphere to relax in a beautiful city not far from Madrid (max two hours drive). After some research we found this hotel. It was a great experience. It has a small but more than enough SPA that for 40€ you can book exclusively for your use. In addition the hotel would provide different services as a fisoterapist, a baby sitter for the kids, etc.

The service absolute gentle and nothing was difficult for them. everything served with a smile. Perfect location (5 minutes away from Plaza Mayor, Cathedral or old university) but in a very quite and relax street just in front of a beautiful convent.

the Hotel has only 17/19 rooms. if you can try to book the one in the third floor since it is the only room in the whole floor so the privacy atmosphere will be even greater.

The hotel is placed in a old mannor house, and they have been able to keep all the historical beauty but with the most modern rooms and facilities.

With no doubt a safe recomendation.

Room Tip: The third floor has only one room so it is more exclusive. if it is not available try to get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JavierCC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

the hotel is beautiful ... recent / new ... is very well located ... comfortable ... I recommend when visiting Salamanca. The staff are very friendly and professional. Next door a restaurant with a Michelin star Victor Gutierrez but you must book in advance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANNGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel and rooms are phenomenal. The bathroom is amazing. The bed is very comfortable. The rooms are clean.

Unfortunately we spent the two nights sweating and unable to get a good night's sleep. The air conditioning did not work properly.

It is not entirely the hotel's fault as we did not say anything during our stay. Given that we were there for two nights we just dealt with it. That said the second night was much worse than the first night, temperature wise in the room, and since we were checking out in the morning we decided to get through it.

Other than this the hotel is great and it is close to the Plaza Mayor and eateries. The staff is very polite.

If the air conditioner would have worked properly I would have given it 5 stars. It is soooo hot in Salamanca in the summer. That second night was a nightmare.


Safe travels!

Room Tip: Sleep Quality was poor not because of the bed or noise but due to the lack of air conditioning in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJRTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We loved this place. We had a nice room, with a glass of cava as welcome in the bar and freshly cut fruit in the room. Rooms are very high standard and the whole hotel is just so nice (if you like old houses, like we do...).
Breakfast was truly excellent: lots of choices and high quality food.
Location is simply amazing, a stone's throw from the cathedral and all other places to visit in Salamanca. If you like food, the one Michelin star Victor Gutierrez is next door.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Travelling across Spain by car we made a stop overnight at this beautiful boutique hotel.
The experience was extremely enjoyable with 5 stars quality ideally located to tour the centre of this amazing historical city. The service was excellent and dispensed by extremely courteous staff. I give Don Gregorio 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great hotel - very luxurious boutique style hotel in centre of Salamanca - Complimentary minibar, chocs on pillows, fluffy white dressing gowns, very comfortable beds, lovely shower and overall a great 5* experience. The restaurant is in the basement and had a good breakfast buffet. We did not eat in the hotel in the evening (not sure if the restaurant is open) but there are so many places to eat in the main town square (only 10 mins walk away) that we were spoilt for choice.
As salamanca is an old town, getting to the hotel was a bit tortuous (one way system in operation) - there is a parking bay outside the hotel to offload luggage and then there is valet parking (€15 a night). Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rector
Hotel Rector
#1 of 72 in Salamanca
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
NH Salamanca Palacio de Castellanos
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Vega
Room Mate Vega
#5 of 72 in Salamanca
4.0 of 5 stars 816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#3 of 72 in Salamanca
4.5 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Don Gregorio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Don Gregorio

Property: Grand Hotel Don Gregorio
Address: Calle San Pablo 80-82, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Don Gregorio 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RESTORED 15TH CENTURY PALACE NOW A FIVE STAR BOUTIQUE HOTEL Don Gregorio Grand Hotel is an elegant, luxury hotel in the historic city of Salamanca, Spain. The boutique hotel offers 17 guestrooms and suites for a quiet retreat with the charm of a palace and the convenience of modern amenities. The five-star Grand Hotel sits minutes away from many historic landmarks in Salamanca, such as the Plaza Mayor, Ieronimus Cathedral, and Clerecia Towers. Book a splendid vacation at a Tripadvisor Travelers' Choice(R) 2014 Winner for Top 25 Luxury Hotels in Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Don Gregorio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing