We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the very centre of Salamanca”
Review of Room Mate Vega

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Room Mate Vega
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed in Vega twice, first in July 2011, then in July 2013, and certainly would stay there again. The location was just perfect, within a minute from the Plaza Mayor and a walking distance from all the sights. Not having ordered breakfast, I can't comment on it, however everything else was just perfect. The rooms are bit small, but if you order suite this problem is resolved.

Room Tip: Might be useful to order suite instead of ordinary room - the price difference is not that big, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaroslav_Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VegaDireccion, Manager at Room Mate Vega, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for telling us about your stay in Room Mate Vega.This is very helpfull to impruve.
As you say, we have different kind of rooms, and standard room is smaller than executive room and there´s no a big difference in the price, so is good to have the bigger one.
I hope to see you again in Room Mate Vega.
Best regards.
Angela Plaza
Manager
Room Mate Vega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Very central location close to the Plaza Mayor and the cathedral.
The staff on reception and at breakfast were excellent.
Difficult to find in a car, as the signposts on Gran Via point through some narrow bollards into a pedestrianised area.
The single rooms are very small.
The underground car park is very tight and extreme care needs to be taken in a medium size car.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmtwsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VegaDireccion, Manager at Room Mate Vega, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your comments in TripAdvisor.
It´s true that the way to arrive the hotel sometimes is difficult to find. For this reason, we send an e-mail to all the customers we had mail with a map, explaining how to arrive the hotel. Is not possible for us to change the signals in Gran Via, because is going to change againg.
I´m sorry for the inconvenience.
I hope to see you again in Room Mate Vega.
Best Regards
Ángela Plaza
Manager
Room Mate Vega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Hotel is situated in a great central location and is a little difficult to find by car due to the system of one way streets but it is really worth the effort. The room was comfortable and the Staff most helpful. Their recommendations for Tapas Bars & Restaurants were excellent.
Parking in the Hotel underground car parking is difficult but the Hotel Manager Angela will Park it for you!
KeithR

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VegaDireccion, Manager at Room Mate Vega, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for yours comments in TripAdvisor.
One of the most important thinks for us is to make the customers feel as a friend´s home. The only thing I did it was making you the arrival better.
Thank you very much for visiting us.
Best Regards
Ángela Plaza
Manager
Room Mate Vega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great location near Plaza Mayor on the Plaza del Mercado.
Angela (manager) and her staff were extremely helpful, agreeing to our every request. Their restaurant recommendations were excellent (suggest CAfe El Corrillo).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VegaDireccion, Manager at Room Mate Vega, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for telling us your expirience in Room Mate Vega, and than you very much for the spetial mention to our staff. We think that the best way to travel is visiting your friends, so we try to be your "Room Mate".
I hope to see you againg in Room Mate Vega.
Best Regards
Angela Plaza
Manager
Room Mate Vega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was my first experience with a Room-Mate hotel, and it won't be my last. I usually prefer B&Bs, but I was interested to try the Room-Mate chain. It was one of the cleanest hotel rooms I've ever come across. I thought the breakfast buffet was great, as I had heard not to expect large buffets such as in Germany. The hotel's location is great, with the Plaza Mayor just steps away, and directly across from the Mercado.

I was in a single room, and unfortunately the mattress on my bed seemed to be very old. It was soft and lumpy. I often have hip pain while sleeping so this was a problem for me. I considered moving to another hotel for my next 2 nights, but I didn't want to leave Vega. As well, I had no guarantee that another hotel's mattress would be any better. So I just took some nighttime aspirin and I was fine. The rest of the hotel seemed pretty new to me, so I was surprised that the mattress wasn't in good condition.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kgbotc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VegaDireccion, Manager at Room Mate Vega, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for telling these good things about Room Mate Vega in TripAdvisor web.
Just inform you that we are changing the mattress in this last months, so it will not be a problem in the future.
I hope to see you soon in Salamanca and in Room Mate Vega.
Best Regards,
Ángela Plaza
Manager
Room Mate Vega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This would be a five star hotel if it wasn't for the noise outside. This is a common problem in Salamanca. We had trouble sleeping even with our earplugs. It is a well run hotel with great staff. Very clean and comfortable.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 226leisab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VegaDireccion, Manager at Room Mate Vega, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for you telling us about your stay in Room Mate Vega.
It is very important for us making the customer feel as a friend house, for that reason, the staff work hard and explain everything the best way they know.
I hope to see you soon in Room Mate Vega.
Best regards.
Angela Plaza
Manager
Room Mate Vega.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Nothing similar to other roomates, dated rooms with no a bit of color. Room was noisy as there was a pub close to the place and you could here the people talking. Heating system is hot air that I do personally not like at all. I have been.to other roommates and are much better,colorfull, modern, this one it is not, and the price was not quite cheap just ok but not for the value in my opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VegaDireccion, Gerente at Room Mate Vega, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for telling us about your stay in Room Mate Vega, and I´m so sorry to make you feel that way.
All Room Mate Hotels are different. Is like you go to visit a friend. We make the hotels as the city we are, so is difficult to make something, for example, like Oscar (Room Mate) in Chueca (Madrid). (the friends you visit have different houses)
If you decided to visit again, please, ask us for a quiet room to make you feel better.
Best regards.
Angela Plaza
Manager
Room Mate Vega

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salamanca hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Salamanca Puerta de la Catedral
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Las Claras
Eurostars Las Claras
#4 of 68 in Salamanca
978 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hospes Palacio de San Esteban
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#8 of 68 in Salamanca
765 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parador de Salamanca
Parador de Salamanca
#5 of 68 in Salamanca
1,347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Exe Salamanca
Exe Salamanca
#15 of 68 in Salamanca
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Vega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Vega

Address: Plaza Mercado 16, 37001 Salamanca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#11 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range: $44 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Room Mate Vega 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Room Mate Vega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Vega Salamanca
Room Mate Vega Hotel Salamanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing