We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4* hotel”
Review of Santiago Leon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santiago Leon
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Leon
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a 4* hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

As a stop over, the hotel was convenient. We were with a group of 50 people. The rooms were a bit dated but clean and comfortable. We had a good might sleep.
Diner was good and service was efficient.
Breakfast was not well organised. Not enough coffee or hot water or milk. Some people didn't get breakfast as staff was nowhere to be seen to bring more food!

Room Tip: If you come with a group, make sure you come early to breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doyia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    51
    60
    24
    37
See reviews for
51
78
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

The price is average, the service and the food is acceptable, however, the location is very bad. We had a problem because seems that GoogleMaps for this hotel is not accurate and, only after booking and arriving in Léon, we discovered that the Hotel is something like 3 km from the city center. In this sense, if your priority is to do the Camino, other hotel more closer to the Camino and the center should be a better option.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rafaelfeldmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

this hotel provided a very good overnite stopover ..a little out of the city of LEON..but

excellent in its position..the room and bedding facilities were comfortable and the dining

was very pleasant ..we had an evening meal and a coffee and pastry at the bar..all in all

dining experience was good

Room Tip: rooms away from highway are more preferable hotel's position good for highway entry to travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavros66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Great value stop if touring or travelling to and from Santander / Bilbao ferries. Large spacious rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giggsy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietarsaari, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
503 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Hotel Husa Santiago, Leon is a large hotel outside Leon. The girl in the reception was not so friendly, but the room was very nice. We had a family room made of two double rooms to a price of one double room. They have also a swimming pool, but it was closed when we were there. We was on a road trip in Northern Spain, but the hotel was rather difficult to find, so we took a taxi to drive ahead of us to show us the way.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leffex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stopped here overnight on our way to the Picos de Europa. We took two rooms- one for the kids and one for us- the cheap prices made it possible for us to afford it.

The Hotel seems to be used mainly by motorists, pilgrims on the Camino de Santiago trail and I also noticed a large number of newly weds.

Cons: Not in City center. 10 mins drive to the cathedral. No decent restaurants within walking distance.
Pros: Free parking. Large well maintained and clean rooms. Nice pool. Convenient access to major highways. Free wifi.

Very friendly and competent reception staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2travel1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Quiet hotel -free parking -on a bus route which is a bonus as Leon is not the easiest city to negotiate.Excellent value for money-We ate at the hotel next door-the Cuidad de Leon -3 course meal with wine and water 16 Euros.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kennetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.4 mi away
Tryp Leon Hotel
Tryp Leon Hotel
#5 of 35 in Leon
841 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Husa Abad San Antonio
0.6 mi away
Apartahotel Exe Campus San Mames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
AC Hotel Leon San Antonio
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riosol Leon
Hotel Riosol Leon
#30 of 35 in Leon
378 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silken Luis de Leon
Silken Luis de Leon
#14 of 35 in Leon
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santiago Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santiago Leon

Property: Santiago Leon
Address: Avenida Asturias Km 1.6, 24008 Leon, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 35 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santiago Leon 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Santiago Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing