We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good city centre location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A good city centre location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our Superior room was at the back of the hotel and so avoided the attractive view of the Plaza Mayor which had a noisy beer festival going on with music until midnight (first 2 weeks June). We had use of a separate sitting area attached to our room. The reception staff were very helpful and the dinner menu although short was good value, well cooked and served. When we looked at nearby restaurant choices were found nothing better.
To find the car park trust the yellow Plaza Mayor parking signs. The spaces are extremely tight for an average sized car but there were always spaces available and the lift is next to the hotel
The hotel is in a very good position for visiting all the old town sights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickm45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    338
    59
    13
    4
See reviews for
111
439
32
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is ideal as a base for exploring Leon. Opening onto a main square and close to all the features of the old city. While we found the parking a bit complex to find and use .everything else was great. The staff were non intrusively helpful and the room quite comfortable. One feature was to wake up to the markets in the square one morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here on a trip thruout northern spain. The hotel is centrally located ont he plaza mayor. Cathedral is only 3 minutes walk away. Everything else is also walking distance.

Parking is available underneath plaza mayor. GPS could easily find it. There is an elevator from the garage to plaza mayor, that opens 10 meters next to the hotel entrance, underneath a covered walk way. Easy to get the bags from car to hotel.

Friendly reception staff at checkin. Hotel room did go out to the back, so no nice view, but in exchange very quiet (the market was build up over night).

Room has a decent size, enough storage space. Compared to some other centrally located hotels on this trip a bit pricier, but still ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Falk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

It was a real pleasure to stay at this hotel, even found the car park without a problem. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. Our room was well laid out, and the bed was very big and comfortable.
Leon was very interesting, we only stayed for 1 night, want to go back and see more.
Drawback - had to pay for WI-Fi, 6.60 euro.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We echo all the positive comments about this hotel - excellent location, comfortable rooms and extremely helpful and friendly staff. We left some travel papers behind at the computer in Reception - they phoned us up and faxed them over to us! You absolutely MUST follow the driving directions tho and NOT just put the hotel address into Satnav. We spent literally hours lost in the streets of Leon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fianne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenchley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

If only we'd read the directions provided by Booking.com more precisely we'd have saved ourselves a lot of friction in the car trying to find this superbly located hotel to visit the sights of the old town of Leon. Having found the correct car park off the Plaza Mayor we were assisted by a wonderful hotel receptionist who just happened to be passing and redirected us to the allocated spaces for the hotel and showed us how to find the lift to the hotel.
Our premium room facing the lovely square was very good, comfortable and, in our view, excellent value.
As well as it's proximity to the sights of Leon, the hotel provided an excellent launch pad to visit the plethora of lively restaurants and bars nearby.
The breakfast at 14 euro per person was good and provided an excellent start to the day.
The reception staff were absolutely brilliant throughout our stay.
We left the hotel significantly easier than our self inflicted arrival debacle!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alistair V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed there for one night on a business trip and was very happy with it. The room was a bit small, but very comfortable and clean. The hotel has atmosphere, it is not like other business-oriented hotels that tend to be rather impersonal. The rooms are modern, but they have managed to preserve the feel of a historic building. The location is perfect, too - right in the heart of the old city, very close to the cathedral, and also close to the train station. Very friendly staff as well - they helped me with everything I ask for, always with a smile. I cannot end the review without mentioning that the Agua de Terra amenities are way above the standard I would expect in any hotel - a small detail, but still a very nice touch to the overall experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lv6ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hospederia Monastica Pax
0.9 mi away
Parador "Hostal San Marcos"
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Leon
Eurostars Leon
#6 of 36 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tryp Leon Hotel
Tryp Leon Hotel
#5 of 36 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Leon San Antonio
1.5 mi away
Hotel Husa Abad San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor

Property: NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor
Address: Plaza Mayor 15-17 | Barrio Humedo, 24003 Leon, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Leon
#1 Luxury Hotel in Leon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel NH Plaza Mayor is a four-star hotel in Leon, Spain, centrally located near the historical area and shopping district, close to many attractions, restaurants, and traditional tapas bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels León
Nh Plaza Mayor León

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing