We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but average hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of La Posada Regia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Posada Regia
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Leon
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location but average hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The central location of Posada Regia is excellent and arrangements for parking nearby in the underground car park in the square were very convenient. Our initial welcome was good but the room didn't come up to expectations although the bathroom was very good. The TV was old but just adequate but the room was poorly maintained. The lampshades were scorched and the window box on the balcony was full of dead plants and cigarette butts. The bed was OK and on the whole the accommodation was adequate. Sadly, breakfast was a miserable experience. The lady who brought our coffee was actually busy outside in the hall mopping the floor so you had to go and find her if you wanted something. There was a big notice up saying that you shouldn't make a packed lunch from the buffet and if you wanted eggs you had to pay extra. The orange juice was poor quality. It was all very ordinary and not welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    87
    52
    17
    7
See reviews for
42
79
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, NZ
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is central to the old part of Leon, and has a great sense of history, with wooden floors and ancient furniture.
The bed was good, and the breakfast was fine.
Only problem, as noted by others, was the noise from their own bar next door and below.
You have the choice of stfling with windows shut, or being deafened. This morning I think the last part goer quit around 4.30am.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jones499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a seriously charming, clean and convenient hotel, and the nearby gin bars are something to behold. However the characterful walls, ceilings and doors seem designed to transmit or amplify every sound. And since the plumbing is already bizarrely loud, you simply cannot rely on a good night's sleep. We certainly didn't get one.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the top floor presumably you won't hear elephants stampeding above when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deptforder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our next stop in our motorcycle trip arriving here from the Moure Hotel in Santiago de Compostela. We had decided not to go near the bike and just chill for two days. We picked the Regia because it was central and so it turned out. Very close to a great selection of good bars and eateries. I agree with previous reviewers in that it was business like and as such lacked the friendliness of our previous stops. We ended up in the annex as the main hotel was full. Not necessarily a bad thing as it was a quieter location.. It did mean however there were no staff on in our building should anything go wrong. The decor was an attempt at retro but didnt quite make it. Bedroom and Bathroom were clean and crisp -no complaints there. White fluffy towels with hotel logo embossed. Shower had good pressure and it didnt leak. Our room had a strong smell of cigarette smoke but there were no other rooms available. Staff did their best to fix it with air freshners but it remained a nuisance. Dont expect Modern here. Lovely polished wooden floors but that meant you could hear every step in the hall and floors above.. Walls must be thin as we could hear an arguement from the room above. In honesty, I felt we were just an add-on. Leon is a fascinating city with plenty to do but if we returned we would stay somewhere else probably.

Room Tip: The annex is quieter interms of street noise . The main hotel is adjacent to their bar/ restaurant a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citytravellerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is full of historic charm, and the rooms are in an antiquey sort of style.

We stayed here for a rest day on the camino, and loved the place. As you are in the city centre there can be some noise at night, however as I never travel without ear plugs this really was not an issue. Plus there always is some compromise between the location and how quiet a place can be.

You are in a great location to walk to the main sights and the staff were great at storing out bikes and giving us an early breakfast when requested.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night before I started off on the Camino. There are very friendly people working there, good atnosphere and great buffet breakfast too. The rooms are small but I didn't seem to care after a days travel from Ireland. I would recommend to anyone going to Leon.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clearer_skies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Pro: location
Con: I could tell the hotel was trying but somehow it failed to impress. Yes, the room has brick walls and 'antique-like' furniture, which might charm some reviewers. The walls are paper thin, the receptionist is very business-like. The price is too high for what it offers. I won't be back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank catsinbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leon hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor
0.2 mi away
Hospederia Monastica Pax
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conde Luna
Hotel Conde Luna
#8 of 36 in Leon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tryp Leon Hotel
Tryp Leon Hotel
#5 of 36 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Leon
Eurostars Leon
#6 of 36 in Leon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Infantas de Leon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada Regia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada Regia

Property: La Posada Regia
Address: Calle Regidores 9-11, 24003 Leon, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 36 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Regia 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Posada Regia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Regia León

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing