We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Impressive gothic cathedral

A pity that you can only access through paying 6 euros. This doesn't give the possibility to share... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
sofmen7
,
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Nice gothic cathedral

This is a stunningly large cathedral, to have been build by a community of just 5000 people. The... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Katrien S
,
Ghent, Belgium
Read all 4,610 reviews
  
Reviews (4,610)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveler rating
393
113
18
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
113
18
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide the stained glass windows gothic architecture well worth a visit sunny day flying buttresses square meters entrance fee visit leon next door beautiful city old town cathedral light chartres spain building
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 528 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

A pity that you can only access through paying 6 euros. This doesn't give the possibility to share its beauty to all the people. the price is more expensive than Burgos, which is a more important cathedral in terms of works of art. And also, unlike Burgos, I haven't seen that the amount of money that they are taking for the tickets is used in restoration.

Thank sofmen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a stunningly large cathedral, to have been build by a community of just 5000 people. The towns people got the builders from France, and this is also the only easily recognisably gothic cathedral in Spain. Like the French examples, there is more glass than stone, making the whole structure not too stable, and there was a very long restoration and rebuilding necessary before it could reopen during the last century. Still they are currently renovating part of the front façade and the rose window. The full impact of the church is somewhat limited by the barok choir wall, added much later and blocking the view. But in itself is is nicely carved. Outside, some of the portals have nice carvings. The audio guide is quite good, but do not expect a 2nd Chartres, or you will be disappointed.

Thank Katrien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Even though it was under some renovations whilst we were here it was just in one corner so could still view the church itself, stunning and well worth the visit.

Thank JDUBLYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have visited many Cathedrals in Spain and around the world, maybe the expectation did not live up to the reality. While this is one of the great gothic cathedrals the highlight was meant to be the stain glass windows and while we visited on a sunny day they just did not match the descriptions I had read.
The audio guide was excellent as was the lady on the ticket desk.
While looking round the cathedral there was a lady sat at the organ, I asked if she was going to be playing, yes but that evening at a free recital which on exiting the cathedral the ticket desk lady told us about and gave us a program.
So at around 20.00 we arrived for the 20.30 start to find a queue right round to the tourist office opposite the cathedral. When opened we moved in quickly and there was plenty of seating.
The recital was fantastic, immensley varied and on one piece it felt like every pipe was in play, the cathedral was booming on the bass notes. The recital ended but due to poplar demand there were several encores.
The organ player was Mar Vaque, she was lovely to talk to and fantastic to listen too. The highlight of our stay in Leon.

The

Thank BandKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the most spectacular of the cathedral on our trip. It has some of the most extensive stained glass after Chartreuse.

Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Beautiful. Simple, clean lines and with more light than most of people imagines.
The unforgettable stained glass... Recommended the complement of the guided tour with headphones.

Thank Dollyjos J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

Yes the stained glass windows are impressive, even if they make the interior dark, but its got a lot going for it. Some folk are pleased that audio guides are part and parcel of the entrance fee - however I find them a total distraction. I want to be overwhelmed or otherwise by the sights and not told what to look at and what my reaction should be. I prefer a few unobtrusively placed labels - like Chichester - but there are few here. I would have liked to see an indication of the services, music etc. but didn't find anything. I know buildings like this require funds but it did seem to me that getting the folk in at 6 euros a pop was overtaking its original function as a place of worship.

Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018

A very impressive Gothic Cathedral, built on the site of the old Roman baths. 13th century. Beautiful stained glass windows

Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

I have never seen more stained glass in my life. It is absolutely stunning!
The cathedral crowns the beautiful city of León. Don’t miss it.

Thank Tomi987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

A well organised venue with audiophiles included which gave a very detailed explanation. The stained glass alone us a reason to visit on a sunny day. A fantastic time.

Thank Elchimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews