We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel and terrible wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silken Luis de Leon
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Leon
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel is well located in the center of the city. Leon is not a big town anyway, so everything is relatively close to the center of the city.
Room was OK although the shower was pretty old and was not functioning very well.
The worst, however, was the wifi. Very limited and slow. Only web browsing allowed. All other services were filtered out, so no direct email, no VPN, etc. Totally useless for professional use, so if you are a business traveller you might want to have a better service. In my case it was key!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberto163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 653 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked day before and managed two nights for £100. Whilst not expecting too much we were pleasantly surprised with good facilities and attentive staff. Car parking in basement very convenient and not as expensive as other towns in Spain. We originally were allocated a double room but when we could not operate the safe (it was faulty) the reception immediately suggested a change of room and we ended up with a much larger room with more seating and bigger bathroom. Location for heart of old town means you are 5-10 minutes stroll away which is nothing. Whilst wandering about we saw plenty of other hotels further out of town and did not regret booking this one. Other reviewers comment rooms a little tired and I would agree they are functional and maybe if we had paid more than £50 per night my review would have been slightly different.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Blue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the start of our recent trip to Spain. We'd stayed in another hotel round the corner the last time we visited Leon, so we knew the area reasonably well. It's about a 15 minute walk from the bus station and right opposite El Corte Ingles, but about a 15/20 minute walk from the main sights in the old town.

The room was a reasonable size, with a decent sized bathroom. There was some fruit and a bottle of mineral water out for us when we arrived, which was a nice touch, but it wasn't clear if this was free or attached to the pointlessly expensive mini-bar. We decided that it was free!

The bed was a double, made up of two attached singles, so again, this was a good size. Overall, the room felt a bit dated, although there was a digital radio/iPod thing in the room, which came on every time we came in the room - annoying after the first time. Our room faced the back of the hotel, but I doubt they give the best locations to people staying for one night.

The hotel was near a couple of local bars, one of which we went to for a few drinks. There are also a couple of local restaurants that seemed good value. We didn't have breakfast there, because we were on a mission to see the cathedral and had to catch our bus to Astorga. However, breakfast did seem rather expensive, which is another reason we didn't buy it. The wifi was fine.

Overall, it was a reasonable hotel, but not great. We've stayed in a Silken in Burgos and that was far nicer than this one, so I don't know which one would be more representative of the chain. The staff were okay on arrival and departure, but fairly perfunctory - again, not something we experienced elsewhere. So, overall, fine for a night, but not sure I'd rush back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madamedefarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hotel Silken Luis de León is a centrally located option w/ big rooms. We stayed one night w/ a large group of university students (50 total) and the experience was 'fine'. It is more of a 3 than 4 star hotel when you consider the dated carpet, the spotty wifi and stuffy rooms.

For the most part, the staff attended to the group well aside from not having maps of the city (they 'needed to keep those for their private guests - those who do not travel in groups' - as if the students should not be extended the same courtesy as others staying in the hotel). While I understand it is a pain to prepare tons of maps for guests, our reservations were made over two months in advance so the hotel was well-aware of the group's arrival. Also, the reception easily could have made black and white copies of city maps if they were short on color copies (I assume the hotel has a xerox machine).

Having said this, there were some positive aspects to our stay. The breakfast was very good: cured & cooked meats, cheeses, eggs, tortilla de patatas, zumo, coffee, and a wide assortment of breads, rolls and 'coffee cake' type things. It was the best part of our stay and the staff did a wonderful job of replenishing the supplies (our entire group ate within one hour & there were many other guests eating at that time, as well). I have stayed at hotels that became overwhelmed when many people arrive en masse for the breakfast buffet. This did not happen at Silken Luis de León. Also, the hotel is conveniently located. After a short walk of 5 minutes, we were in the wonderful 'tapas area' of el Barrio Húmedo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anditos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Only stayed here one night while traveling through northern Spain. Big room, very clean. Old bathtub and No hot water!!! Restaurant staff saved the place for me as they were very solicitous and accommodating! Very nice location, easy walking distance to sights in Old City.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed here for a business trip and found it to be good value for money. The room was ample, clean, with mini-bar, free WiFi which worked well for me, and even complimentary water and fruit on the first night. Staff are friendly and helpful, not so informed about the Spanish train strike however which was not so helpful. It is in a quiet location, near to everything; Leon is a small town so most places are within walking distance or a short taxi ride including the station (high speed trains to Madrid approx. 2.5 hours). Breakfast was very good! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FruitCake_2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Excelently located hotel 5 minutes walk from the main square and Barrio Humedo. Service was efficient and pleasant, som items lacking in the room were brought immediately with a smile (so often lacking in Spain). The room was a Club double, clean and very spacious with good views and modern decoration, a work desk with chair as well as 2 easy chairs and a coffee table. Free WiFi is available, ask for a code at check in or you'll have to go back down to pick it up. Excellent bathroom ammeneties (soap, gels etc.).
Not alot of free parking around the hotel but the car park is only 10€ so worthwhile. Getting there was interesting as the hotel is surrounded by a one way system and any small mistake can mean you have to drive around a fair bit to come back to where you were.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveladdictMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
1.3 mi away
Tryp Leon Hotel
Tryp Leon Hotel
#5 of 35 in Leon
939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eurostars Leon
Eurostars Leon
#6 of 35 in Leon
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Leon San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor
1.9 mi away
Hotel Abad San Antonio
0.4 mi away
Hotel Conde Luna
Hotel Conde Luna
#7 of 35 in Leon
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Luis de Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Luis de Leon

Address: Calle Fray Luis de Leon 26, 24005 Leon, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: $49 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Luis de Leon 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silken Luis de Leon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing