We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome B&B (Casa Rural) on Camino de Santiago.”
Review of Molino Galochas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Molino Galochas
Ranked #1 of 22 Leon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This casa rural is a bit off of the beaten track but ever so homey. Mercedes welcomed us with drinks and a snack and cooked us a hearty meal in the evening. If anyone was born to be a host of a B&B it is Mercedes. The house is full of antiques, including the trademark “golacho” wooden shoes they use around the farm. It is easily accessible to León by car and
so enjoyable to return to after a day of touring. Mercedes is quite a good cook and even offered us an egg at breakfast with juice, toast and a pot of coffee. They had wifi but it apparently needed to be reconfigured; however, we could use the computer in the common room above the dining room. I enjoyed seeing the Camino de Santiago pilgrims walk by in the morning from the French doors in our room and was, also, fortunate enough to meet several pilgrims who were lodged at the house. The owners truly enjoyed their guests and we really appreciated their hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiguelitodeIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 93 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night as we were walking the Camino de Santiago. It is right on the Camino Real. There is a train track nearby but the trains are so infrequent as to be no bother at all. The welcome, friendliness and accommodation were all first class and the evening meal was one of the best we had on the whole 500 mile walk. If they allow non walkers we shall definitely go back - if not?.......we will have to do the walk again

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dancinggreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2010

A long (28km) day out of León through Villar de Mazarife brought me into the pueblo of Villavante. I took a break there, as the next stage brings me 5km into Hospital de Orbigon, with its famous mediaeval bridge and it was mid-afternoon, with the sun high over the fields and the country roads leading west.

As I entered Villavante, I took note of a sign urging me to a casa rural (b&b) called Molino Galoches. As I saw the path which would take me walking by the railway tracks, I noticed a renovated millhouse to my right. I decided to walk up to it and knock on the door and see how much accommodation might cost. The owner told me that there was a special pilgrim rate of 30€ for bed, breakfast and dinner. This was very reasonable and well below their regular rate, and he showed me to the guest wing and a comfortable bedroom, with a newly refurbished and spacious bathroom across the hall.

The house is built over the millstream, and a glass-covered panel on the floor of the main room allows one to view the trout swimming by. As well as the large living/dining area, there is a library upstairs with free internet. Washing can be dried on lines in the orchard.

Dinner was superlative, with much of the food from the garden and the stream. A green salad was followed by a (egg and potato) tortilla and grilled trout. Dessert featured pears from the orchard—they were of a sort which could not travel unbruised and were a treat; the wine was from a neighbouring vineyard. One of the owners speaks English and she prepared a breakfast of eggs and cold meat for me early next morning, so that I could leave just as the sun was rising.

While catlovers will be entertained by a group of stunning half-Siamese kittens, the friendly hospitality of the owners and the high quality of the accommodation and food for a very reasonable pilgrim price makes this casa rural a remarkable treat.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elmstrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mperezfierro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1valladolid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank lacasares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Eleuterio11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
16.5 mi away
Parador "Hostal San Marcos"
16.9 mi away
Hospederia Monastica Pax
16.8 mi away
Tryp Leon Hotel
Tryp Leon Hotel
#5 of 35 in Leon
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Hotel Real Colegiata de San Isidoro
17 mi away
NH Collection Leon Plaza Mayor
50.4 mi away
Hotel Rural Valle de Ancares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molino Galochas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molino Galochas

Address: Villavante, 24393 Leon, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Leon > Leon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Leon
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing