We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel - poor wifi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AC Hotel Burgos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
AC Hotel Burgos
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good hotel - poor wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed one night on business and wifi was critical but unavailable.

Staff very efficient and hotel very modern which was similar to others in Spain but felt 'soul less'.

Had a drink in the bar to make use of wifi for business meetings the next day and it was impossible to connect - couldnt even make use of the computer in the bar area as that had no connection either.

It is an ideal location for Burgos and minutes to the cathedral and restaurants but completely unsuitable for business travellers who require wifi. This seriously needs to be sorted out.

Rooms 'modern' and clean as are the bathrooms but sadly for female travellers - the age old design fault - no mirror near a socket to use hairdryer/straighteners. Cant believe such an otherwise well designed hotel makes this schoolboy error.

Didnt have breakfast as leaving very early the next day so cant comment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thegeordies40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    339
    69
    18
    8
See reviews for
102
383
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is in a good location in Burgos. It is very modern. The staff were very good. Parking is an 'exciting experience' but is very useful. It is simply not designed to cater for tourists. It is aimed at the business market, IMO, and to be frank It would not be my choice for that either.

There are a number of issues, some of lesser and some greater importance.
* No tea or coffee making available in the room. I need a coffee/tea when I get up in the morning.
*The décor is unrelieved grey. This is very depressing. The whole hotel is clearly an architects understanding of modern but it is cold and un-enticing. There is glass everywhere which includes on the stairs. These are panels with gaps and I badly hurt my hand whilst using this as a handrail to go down a flight of stairs. Someone thought that a greyscale picture of a chair back against a sky was a suitable picture decoration for the room.
*WIFI was free in the lobby but was very difficult to connect to. I have a real problem with hotels that charge exhorbitant amounts for WIFI in the room - this is definitely an indication that they expect business guests who charge to expenses - same with minibar.
*On arriving on a Saturday after a 7 hour drive at 16:00 we found that this 'international' hotel does not have a restaurant at weekends.
*The TV showed only CNN news. BBC world had no sound and kept disappearing. No other english channel.
*Breakfast was very average.

I shall be returning to Burgos but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Yes the initial pricing indicates a value but when the true cost is known this is an average
value hotel. After three weeks on the road this is the only hotel that charges for WiFi, the
laundry and breakfast are also expensive. During the day there is limited service, no bar
no cafe. Free WiFi is available is the public areas which are unheated. Wear your coat and
keep walking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dosestudientes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great value hotel in perfect location - particulalrly for the June celebrations and fireworks. Food options are a bit limited and room facilities might not be at the very top of tree however pretty good for the $. The underground car-park is only for the brave as its so tight however its better than trying to find a street spot.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wizzells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Connecticut
Level Contributor
224 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Tucked away near the river in a refurbished stately building, this hotel is amazingly an oasis of welcome, quiet and comfort.. The staff couldn't be more gracious and helpful. The underground parking was challenging but accomplished. the proximity to the center was terrific. I will stay here again. A great find!

Room Tip: ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a hotel included among those with which our company has a corporate rate. I am so glad I found this! Not only was the rate so affordable, when I checked for other reviews, the consensus was that this was a really good place. I couldn't agree more. I was very satisfied witn my choice and would highly recommend it!

The location is perfect. It is about a 2-minute walk to the Burgos Cathedral. I could not recall if I knew that beforehand, but it was a definite pus for me, since the Cathedral was on the top of my sightseeing list. Surrounding the Cathedral and towards the Plaza Mayor are many restaurants, so there was no problem with variety.

I liked the room very much. It was clean, modern and sleek. The bathroom was very spacious and I loved it that they had a salon-style hair dryer. The towels were clean and in good condition. The bed was comfortable. I liked it that they did not bother with the usual comforter or bed covers, especially since it is commn knowledge that those don't necessarily get laundered often or with change of guests anyway. After staying in hotels or hostals where the hangers were a mixed set of warped wire or plastic hangers or those that you can't hang anywhere else but the closet, the hangers here were a small, pleasant luxury. The safety deposit box was a useful size that could axcommodate an ipad with its case. The room was quiet even if it was facing the street. I think a good addition would be if they had a luggage rack, although I was able to make do with a bench they already had in the room. A really nice treat was that the mini bar had about 5 or different kinds of beverages, and I was told upon checking in that those are already included with my rate. Breakfast was basic.

The receptionist on duty was very helpful when I asked him to print stuff for me. He also helped confirm for me if it was possible for me to buy the bus ticket from Algeciras to Tarifa online (it is not) by callng the bus comoany.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Fan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This property is reportedly six years old but looks very fresh. No doubt in part due to its contemporary design and use of warm rich colors in its interior. The architects created some wonderful public spaces with the triangular site plan. The hotel developers should be commended for the added expense. The monumental stair case, extensive use of glass and dramatic atrium surely added significant cost to add a most memorable space.

We learned from and acted on the front desk's suggestion of taking a photo from the top-most floor down to our friends in the -1 level lounge area. The photo is a fun memory of a good time with friends.

Room decor is similarly well designed and each room is spacious, well finished and clean - all things one expects from a four-star hotel.

Each of the three front desk staff was exceedingly helpful (fluent in English) and always eager to be of service. Francisco was first among equals here making a call on our behalf to a neighboring hotel in an effort to reach a friend.

Complimentary honor bar and lobby bar (soft drinks) was a nice treat during the day (curiously we we were charged in the evening and could no longer serve ourselves in the lobby bar).

Free Wifi was only available in the lobby and the connection spotty marring only slightly a nice visit to a well run hotel.

The location is perfect: situated along the river promenade the hotel offers easy access to all of the local sites and central Burgos. The train station is quite a distance out of town and best reached by taxi (roughly 10 euros).

All together this is a very good value with some of the best front desk staff I've come across.

Room Tip: Although our room faced a side street, a room facing the river might be more picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skronsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burgos hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
0.5 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
0.1 mi away
Meson del Cid
Meson del Cid
#3 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Forum Evolucion
Hotel Forum Evolucion
#1 of 51 in Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rice Palacio de los Blasones
0.3 mi away
Abba Burgos Hotel
Abba Burgos Hotel
#7 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Burgos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Burgos

Property: AC Hotel Burgos
Address: Paseo Isla 7, 09003 Burgos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Burgos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Burgos
#3 Family Hotel in Burgos
#3 Business Hotel in Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Burgos 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your AC Hotel Burgos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Burgos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing