We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On The Way and Easy To Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Azofra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Azofra
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“On The Way and Easy To Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

A 20 minute walk from the center of the town, The room was good and clean, the staff helpful but with little English, the breakfast disappointing, although there were a couple of great cafes nearby.
Overall a good place for a few days rest. While the weather can be wet, as it was on this visit we liked the Hotel and the town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    51
    15
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
41
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed one night here on our way to the ferry at Santander. The hotel was very good. Clean, well maintained. The staff were friendly and helpful despite the language barrier. Our Spanish is mediocre. We had a meal in the restaurant and the waiter was very pleasant, the food was excellent, we had the roasted lamb. The bar area was typically Spanish all dark wood and high stools, but the choice of drinks could have been better.It was quite a walk into the city centre,but a 25 minute stroll along the riverside brought us to the cathedral. However, the Monastrey of Huegla was only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. and well worth a visit. The location was very quiet. The price was reasonable but no breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I speak perfect Spanish and my husband is Spanish, so there was no language barrier. We were treated extremely rudely by the receptionist. Era muy impertinente y nos despreciaba de una manera incomprensible. I do not usually place reviews, but I would have liked to have been warned in advance, so this is a warning to others. We were not the only ones upset by her manner, though Burgos is a wonderful city. By the way, this trip took place last summer but I was surprised by the other reviews so I decided to write this. They must have had a different receptionist. I would not wish our experience on anyone.

Room Tip: Rather dark and dreadful curtains
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wol2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

Charming room- comfortable, well-equipped, impeccably clean. Pleasant and knowledgeable reception staff. The price was a very good deal, including a (basic) breakfast. Parking easy, quiet location. The only drawback (for some- not us) is that it's maybe a 25 minute walk to the city centre, along the river, but it's a lovely tree-lined walk. It's next to the old "Hospital del Rey"- now the University law faculty- which is a very fine collection of old buildings. It's also close to the Monasterio de las Huelgas, which is nearly as good as the cathedral and well worth a visit.
The hotel's restaurant is very good indeed- friendly service, good food, huge portions.(see separate review under Casa Azofra).
We'll definitely go there again next time we visit Burgos.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmens_hubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
166 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2007

We stayed 1 night with no previous reservation. We loved the room, very modern, large, clean, confortable bathroom. Although, high price concerning its location (15 min. by car). No breakfast included in the price.

  • Liked — Confort
  • Disliked — High price for its location, no breakfast included
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortoExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burgos hotels
1.3 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
1.2 mi away
Meson del Cid
Meson del Cid
#3 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
2.4 mi away
HQ La Galeria Hotel
HQ La Galeria Hotel
#12 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
1.0 mi away
Abba Burgos Hotel
Abba Burgos Hotel
#6 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Cordon
Hotel Cordon
#8 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Azofra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Azofra

Property: Hotel Azofra
Address: Calle Don Juan de Austria 22-24, 09001 Burgos, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Azofra 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This attractive hotel is situated in the university area of the city, conveniently just a 5 minute drive from Burgos' old town. The well-equipped accommodation comprises light and airy rooms with lovely wooden floors. In addition there are a number of meeting rooms, a cafe and a popular restaurant with a varied menu of traditional local dishes. Its location means you can enjoy the benefits of a residential area, peace and quiet and no problems finding somewhere safe to park, yet never far from the charming and historical old town. This property is also rated for the best value in Burgos! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HRS, Hotel.de, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Azofra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing