We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Collection Palacio de Burgos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

As a solo traveller, I stayed here for one night on the way from San Sebastian to Madrid.Burgos is a wonderful small city that I most enjoyed.
Having booked through Tripadvisor, I had gotten a good rate that did not include breakfast. Reception staff facilitated an early check in for me circa 12pm and were helpful, but not particularly warm or welcoming.
The location is super - right across the river from the Cathedral and many other attractions.
The room was just fine and very comfortable. I did not have breakfast in the hotel, instead visiting a nearby cafe. I did have a drink in the bar on the night and the barman was excellent - engaging, chatting to customers and providing excellent service.
The building itself was originally an old monastery or some such and the restoration work has been brilliantly done.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dromadamusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    474
    80
    22
    12
See reviews for
260
712
40
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Staying at this hotel was a bit of a treat for our last night in Spain, having ridden through France and The Pyrenees on a bike. It was a hoot roaring up on the Triumph to such a grand looking hotel - a style of hotel I'm not really that used to! Anyway, Palacio de la Merced is fascinating if only for the fact that it occupies a 16th century building with a cloister. It has an air of superiority and is quite formal and corporate (and a bit stuffy), but that said, we had a good 'room only' deal and the bed was enormous as was the bathroom. The hotel is well placed for the cathedral, plaza, parks and many restaurants and cafes - we loved the location. Initially, we said no to breakfast at 15 euros each (ouch)... but then changed our minds as we were on holiday! Well, I've never seen such choice - you could eat yourself to a standstill...

Room Tip: We had a room at the back, so it was quiet but there was no view, however we got some quality sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blacktiger1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore,MD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I drove to Burgos from Madrid tired from our flight from the US. Wanting a big room with a big bed and full size shower, this was it. If you are driving, they have a garage that is right attached to the hotel. This makes carrying your luggage very easy.

We booked a junior suite which was actually two rooms plus is big bathroom. The first room had a couch and TV with a nice view of Burgos. The bedroom had a king bed and desk. Bathroom was great with separate area with sink. More than enough room for two. I would say a family of 4 would have enjoyed it.

The location is very good and an easy walk to the attractions and bars/tapas/ restaurants. We did not eat the breakfast as all of the bars offer a cortado and pastry for less than 2EU. I thought their breakfast was over priced.

This is a great place to stay. They also had free wifi!

Room Tip: Junior Suite for big room with King Bed and Shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Captpablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have been in this hotel a few times. The last time we spent a night in this hotel, the room was large and confortable but it wasn't so clean as it used to be.
Staff was very nice.The hotel is a beautiful buliding just across the cathedral. It is a perfect location for visiting Burgos. Parking is possible but expensive (€18.25 per day).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLetita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

The building is amazing, and when you think that it´s just in the city center you won´t believe it. And then, when you get up and go to breakfast, we were really surprise of all the variety they had.

Just be careful, when choosing a place to park your car, it´s the city center and if you donñt choose to use their parking you can find free parking lots at 5 minutes near the Empecinado Park or Calle Carmen.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of their suites, and that was wonderfull, with a nice view to the river and the cas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIKandCRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Spent three nights in the hotel. Its location is grand, and the hotel itself is attractive and clean. But the best part is the staff -- all of them!! They couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. One night, just starting dinner, the maitre 'd asked us if we'd like to go to the wine tasting which was just starting in another part of the hotel. He whisked us away, we spent 30 minutes tasting some new local wines by a vendor (for no cost) and then we returned to our dinner table. A delightful experience. You will feel comfortable here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brucedodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

The is an elegant Parador, with an inner cloister. The rooms were surprisingly large, well furnished and the service outstanding. We arrived after a 17 mile hike, and it felt like we had entered the gates of paradise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burgos hotels
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Burgos
AC Hotel Burgos
#3 of 52 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
0.1 mi away
Meson del Cid
Meson del Cid
#4 of 52 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Evolucion
Hotel Forum Evolucion
#1 of 52 in Burgos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abba Burgos Hotel
Abba Burgos Hotel
#7 of 52 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rice Palacio de los Blasones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Palacio de Burgos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Palacio de Burgos

Property: NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
Address: Calle Merced 13, 09002 Burgos, Spain (Formerly NH Palacio de la Merced)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Burgos
#1 Family Hotel in Burgos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Burgos
#1 Business Hotel in Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Palacio de Burgos 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Palacio de Burgos hotel in Burgos is located right in the city center, perfect for getting to know one of Spain's most interesting and cultural cities and the surrounding Castilian region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, NHHotels, Orbitz, HRS, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your NH Collection Palacio de Burgos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Palacio De La Merced Hotel Burgos
Nh Hotels Burgos
Nh Hotel Burgos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing