We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel & retaurant -- not in town”
Review of Landa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Landa
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Burgos
Reviewed October 25, 2009

This is really a wonderful hotel with every amenity. We had a Jr. suite which had a sitting area with a whirlpool and lots of windows. Really nice. Everything about the room was delightful.
We did have some challenges finding the hotel, which is right off of the freeway, and has very easy free parking. While driving into town to see the historical sites was not difficult, we generally prefer to stay in the midst of the sites. That said, parking in town was not challengin, the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly, and everything about the hotel is deluxe. The food in the restaurant is on the same level.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anewadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 471 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2008

My stay at the Landa Palaca must be viewed in two parts.
The hotel, i.e. the place where you sleep, is marvellous. A very impressive castle tower, the great reception hall, grand service. A beautiful bedroom, very finely decorated in wood, stone and metal. Good views over the surrounding countryside, even down onto the Burgos cathedral in the distance, through big windows for a mediavel castle!
One remarkable feature of the hotel is that it is located close to an important motorway intersection and to a shopping centre. You must remember that the Landa started off life some fifty years years ago as a road side restaurant along the old 'Nacionale I'. Much has changed since then, especially here, yet it still manages to preserve a very pleasant atmosphere. Even with the windows ajar, my room was still quite tranquil.
The second part of the of the Landa is the area open to, and very popular with, outside guests, where you find the dining room, bar, breakfast room, etc. Here the standards are not up to the same level as the hotel itself. I would even say the service ressembles that of countless international chain / big city hotels, i.e. somewhat impersonal, inaccurate and uninterested. Still the decoration is of a high level. And the dinner food excellent, albeit from a fairly small and undistinguished choice.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berdafina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We stopped at Landa Palace for our last night before grabbing the ferry home from Santander. We booked it whilst at our previous hotel based on reviews on TripAdvisor.
On arrival it does seem as if you are pulling into a Motorway Services, and as there had been an accident on the motorway on the day we arrived there were cars everywhere in the car park as people stopped for a long lunch. Once inside the hotel though we began to realise why this hotel had such good reviews. It is like staying in a fairytale castle. The pool is so romantic and the rooms are beautifully styled. The service is excellent and the lunches in the public mixed restaurant are a great experience.
We chose to book dinner in the high end restaurant (forget the name) and the food was superb.
On returning to the exclusivity of the hotel, we sat in the study ,on our own, with feet up on enourmous chairs and drank wine until the early hours.
A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MrMrsMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Having stayed at the Landa in 1995 during a driving tour through Spain, the opportunity again presented itself this year and I was keen to take it up. The Landa is a very good hotel with wonderfully comfortable and spacious rooms, great bathrooms, efficient if slightly formal service and a good location to tour this part of Spain.

On first visit I had a superior room, remembering a superb red marble bathroom. This time a suite in the tower which featured a very large bedroom cum sitting room, hallway and very luxurious bathroom with separate shower and lavatory.

The hotel has a wonderful indoor and an outdoor pool, gym, several public spaces all wonderfully furnished, and a superb restaurant under a fabulous gothic vaulted arch ceiling. We ate in the restaurant for three nights - on the first two it was excellent, very good food, great wine list, and all at not exhorbitant prices. On the last night, a Saturday, the restaurant was extremely busy and service quality plummeted.

On the downside, the hotel is situated at the junction of several highways which makes it complicated to find your way to the entrance, however the sound proofing is very efficient.

Other downsides:

- we had good hot weather but the air conditioning felt as if it wasn't coping
- the breakfast is incredibly limited for a 5* hotel - only continental unless you have room service and even then a small selection
- breakfast is served around the indoor pool which marks it out of bounds if like me you like to go down and exercise in the morning
- the staff are very efficient but a little stiff
- and finally, you only get one room key - now this may be OK normally but the hotel uses a one-way door system when moving from the private to the public spaces (e.g. the bar) and you need your room key to get back in and use the lift, so if one of a couple goes downstairs and it's raining, you can only get back in by going outside, amazingly the staff didn't seem to think this an issue!

All in, I'd definitely return though - as a base for touring and a very comfortable one too.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slinky09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

We stayed at the Landa palace for three night in just and it was fantastic. We particularly like the Tower Suite (you needed a key to operate the lift to the 5th floor).
The staff could not do enough for us. Rooms and all the facilities were spectacular. The indoor swimming pool with its valuted ceiling.
Very good and will go again.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank pasivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2006

Stayed here for 3 days in October (have stayed here on a number of previous occasions). Yes, the rooms are wonderful, the residential part of the hotel is charming and peaceful, the staff at reception are very helpful, professional and make you feel really welcome. The indoor pool is wonderful (it was the end of October), relaxing and very comfortable to sit in and read after a lazy 30 mins. in the pool. However when you go from the residence through the door to the bar and public area something changes. I found the bar staff to be unfriendly and aloof. The restaurant, however was a major disappointment. I tried it on two of the three nights I stayed in the hotel (giving the benefit of the doubt) the food is, at best, uninspired. The service is sourly. The wine list is poor. The ambiance is strained. Remember this is the restaurant in a FIVE STAR Hotel so expectations are naturally high. Please Landa get the restaurant sorted and raise standards in the areas mentioned so that the experience can be, for ALL guests, a pleasant one.
Will I stay here again? - Without doubt as the positives far outweigh the negatives. Landa Palace is an oasis of calm, comfort and elegance.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2006

It is worth changing your itinerary just for the chance to stay at this exquisite hotel. It's located outside of Burgos, sharing a highway exit with a gas station. You won't believe, as you pull off of the highway, thay you are headed to the right place. But once you step through the enormous wood door and into the castle keep, which holds the reception area, you'll know you are someplace very special. The interior is gorgeous. We were greeted by very gracious reception staff, who fluently managed conversations in Spanish, English and French. As we were shown to our room we walked through several meticulously and comfortably decorated common areas. The room itself was elegant and comfortable. The real highlight however was the indoor pool. A beautiful pool is contained in a huge room with gothic vaulted ceilings and beautiful picture windows decorated with gothic style tracery. The hotel is famous for its restaurant as well. The restaurant was in a beautiful room, but the food did not quite live up to the atmosphere. All in all, a hotel definitely worth taking a side trip for.

7  Thank csboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burgos hotels
1.8 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
2.1 mi away
Abba Burgos Hotel
Abba Burgos Hotel
#6 of 50 in Burgos
823 reviews
1.9 mi away
AC Hotel Burgos
AC Hotel Burgos
#3 of 50 in Burgos
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
2.0 mi away
Meson del Cid
Meson del Cid
#4 of 50 in Burgos
619 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Rice Palacio de los Blasones
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landa

Address: Carretera Madrid Km 235, 09001 Burgos, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Burgos
#4 Family Hotel in Burgos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Burgos
Price Range: $148 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Landa 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beginning of the Landa dates back to 1959. A little restaurant was opened 2 km outside Burgos where travellers used to refresh themselves on their journey along the road which, despite its faults, was then the main route linking the capital with the north of Spain. The commitment of the Landa family to the hotel business dates back to the beginning of the 20th century with the "Real Club de Puerta de Hierro" in Madrid and "La Perla" in San Sebastian, and later with "La Gran Taberna", also in Madrid. The Landa started out during hard times for the Spanish hotel business in non urban areas; the hotel, its various extensions, the tower, the pool, the square... Were incorporated later on, little by little. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Otel, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Landa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landa Hotel Burgos
Landa Palace Burgos
Landa Palace Hotel Burgos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing