We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel needs renovation”
Review of Hotel Maria Luisa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Maria Luisa
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Burgos
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Hotel needs renovation”
Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

While Burgos is a wonderful city the Hotel Maria Luisa is in need of a renovation. The room we were in was cramped and smelled very old. I thing the plumbing may have a problem. The parking requires some very special skills to manouver your vehicle around very tight corners. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mash49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    121
    56
    22
    8
See reviews for
69
112
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We arrived in this beautiful town close to mid night. With no prior booking we all over sudden came across this hotel. We thought it could be so expensive for our level (and somehow we didn't care. We were tired and we just wanted to lay our bones straight) but it was something like 20 Euros for a double room. We took it. The receptionist was great (as opposed to one arrogant and tricky manager of Ca' Contarini, Guest house in Venice, Italy)and it was relieving to have someone (at last) who could speak some English since we are nill at speaking espanola. To cut a long story short. Burgos is a wonderful, quiet place for taking a relieve after a tiresome trips. But it becomes more nice with great services and atmosphere like the one we found in Hotel Maria Luisa. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND IT:)

Room Tip: The hotel is in the center of Burgos town and surrounded by open spaces at all sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odhiambo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NH
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

A very nice clean cheerful hotel. My single room was more than ample size. Buffet breakfast is worth the 7 euros. They are on a main street, so asking for a room in the back, as I did, might be a good idea. Though on the map they look a bit out of the way, it is only a 10 minute walk to the center, a bit more to the cathedral. Supermarket just around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, since they face a main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank phys406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Room space is Ok. Furniture is not new, but Ok. The window view was a shaft, but no noise. There was 1 extra bed for kids in my room.
Breakfast is just basic and price is fair. You can also choose a cafe/bar around.
Location was Ok for me. Easy to find it on a main street (my GPS indicated 100m before).
There are many facilities (restaurants, markets, stores, etc) around.
Hotel doesn’t have parking lot; it has one place in front of it just to stop car and move the luggage.
You can search for car parking around or stop in the street (free of charging during night).
You can go walking to Burgos Cathedral in 15 min crossing downtown area with nice atmosphere (very recommended).
Maria Luisa Hotel met my expectation. I was just one day/night to visit Burgos and continue in my journey across Spain.
The guy on reception was very friendly and provided useful information.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoseCarlos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This hotel must have fallen on hard times as it did not live up to TA rating. it was in a great part of Burgos and the staff was very helpful. We had bikes to store. But the room had a horrible smell emminating from the bathroom. We were tired from riding al day and ignored it for a while. After taking a shower, the entire bathroom was flooded-- hence the smell. We asked to be moved, that was no problem. But, the mini bar was broken in the new room and hence another horrible smell!! There was also some problem with the Internet, never could get a password.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcbColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Although the webpage states it has lots of amenities THEY DON'T. Nor do they try to accomodate you in any way for the inconvenience. Don't count on the internet working either.

The staff is unfriendly, and I found the rooms very clean, but small.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank worlldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Burgos hotels

Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2008

The Maria Luisa is well located, comfortable, almost providing luxury hotel rooms but with a small, cosy breakfast room and bar where locals pop in for a coffee.

Great value for money

  • Liked — the quality of the room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgt_in_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burgos hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
0.6 mi away
Meson del Cid
Meson del Cid
#3 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cordon
Hotel Cordon
#9 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rice Bulevar
Hotel Rice Bulevar
#15 of 51 in Burgos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cardena
Hotel Cardena
#18 of 51 in Burgos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maria Luisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Luisa

Property: Hotel Maria Luisa
Address: Avenida Cid Campeador 42, 09005 Burgos, Spain (Formerly Hotel Rice Maria Luisa)
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Maria Luisa 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Maria Luisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Luisa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing