We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid cathedral views”
Review of Meson del Cid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meson del Cid
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Burgos
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Splendid cathedral views”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We had asked for a room in the old building, with a view of the cathedral, and that was what we were given: one of the best views from any hotel room, anywhere, ever (well, assuming, I suppose, that one likes architecture: I do). Staff sweetly correct, rooms spotless, relatively spacious, comfortable, proper cotton sheets, full sized bath/shower, water hot. Didn't have to park a car, and didn't have breakfast there - but would gladly and happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    273
    80
    18
    4
See reviews for
119
294
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Excellent position right in the heart of old town and easy reach of shops. Asked for room with view and was given one on the fifth floor which overlooked the magnificent looking cathedral.room was not large but adequate and clean.'As said previously ignore sat nav route follow signs. Sat nav tries to take you the wrong way down one way roads. Secure parking is very handy just opposite hotel at 15 euro's.

Visited March 2012

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uktaximan_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were in the older building - 4th floor and could not ask for anything better. We arrived in the rain and through intercoms outside were easily guided to underground parking and our rooms. Very clean. Staff spoke english and were very pleasant and helpful. All in all - right where the action is - our room window looked straight at the cathedral - and everything was in walking distance - total price for two for the night including breakfast (which was lovely) and parking 95 Euros!

Room Tip: Ask for the older section and a room looking over the cathedral - view divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 66JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We would return to this Hotel and also recommend it because the building conservation is a marvel of aesthetics, because of its location ..... and also because the staff very friendly, .... Yes, we like it!

Althouhgt it has some buts ....

The heat, at least in our room -5th floor-, the radiator made a very annoying noise (as if it was loading water and never finished) which forced us to have it turned off, but still you could listened to the sound from the one in the bathroom!. We did not complained about this, temperature inside the room was really good, even without the radiator on, and .... we loved the room and did not want to change it.

The toilet has no windows -inside room- and so there is very poor ventilation!.

The breakfast although orange juice is natural and scrambled eggs are real (not powder made) but somehow looks poor and so 7 € per person/day results too expensive.

Wifi connection doesn´t work, not at all, they should improve it, it's a pitty!.

The hotel has two buildings, both at the same location really close to the cathedral, but we made reservation at the old one -cathedral look- and they told us price should be charged some extra 10€ for room, finally we took a place on dormers floor which made our stay wonderful!.

Room Tip: Better the old building. Dormers floor -5th floor- the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vambira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto de Mazarron, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed here December 2011 . The hotel is situated in the town centre. The cathedral is
a few steps away. We we were pleased to have a room that overlooked the cathedral. The shops and town squares are all on the doorstep. The hotel offers underground parking close by, we recommend that you get driving instructions to the hotel and parking as there are one direction roads and it can be difficult to find. The staff were friendly, the rooms of good quality and the breakfast was good and most of all the hotel is pet friendly. The hotel restaurant is close by and can be accessed from inside the hotel. A great place to stay to discover this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Ask for Cathedral facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marina060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We are lucky when we travel. We arrived in Burgos to find that our scheduled lodgings had been flooded and we spent 3 hours wandering around the cool, hilly streets above the cathedral, asking at every bar, knocking at every hotel and b&b with no luck. We knew about the Meson del Cid, but the guidebooks promised that it would be very expensive and we wanted to spend 3 nights in the beautiful city.

Finally we decided to ask about a room, figuring that at least the concierge would know about all the hotels in the area and might be able to point us in the right direction. Our wanting to stay 3 days in the middle of the week helped. They had one room, at the top of the hotel, small but newly redone and not expensive. We are standing in one of the most welcoming, sunny lobbies in Spain, beautiful restored to it's historical origins, smelling the afternoon casse-croute offered at the small tables in the bay windows overlooking the ancient cathedral. We were confident. We wanted the room.

The clerk wanted to be sure, however, and brought us by elevator to a tiny space tucked under the highest gable at the back of the hotel; she crossed the spotless floor, and threw open the shutters and casement window. We were spellbound. The back of the hotel drops 5 stories to the cobblestone streets. But the streets race steeply down to the valley floor. As we looked into the late afternoon, we saw an African stork sail out of the sky above the far away mountains, swoop within 100 feet of our window, and alight next to it mate, on a nest built on top of one of the delicate chimneys in the neighborhood.

The hotel was perfect. The breakfast was ample and delicious, and everything in the walled city was so easily available. We were in the cathedral before the crowds, on the ruins of the fortifications after the crowds, and had plenty of time to ferret out a dark and weathered laborer's tavern where the tables and pottery hadn't changed in a hundred years, and the menu was rabbit simmered in wine.

From the Meson it was an easy walk to the music and nightlife of Burgos, or across the bridge to the buses that carried us to the outlying areas. But when the day ended, a quiet square, the coolness of the ancient fountain, and a perfect, cool nest under the gables welcomed us back to the hotel.

Room Tip: The back of the hotel is quiet with grand views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Off-the-veranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Burgos is a beautiful place to visit, it has a stunning cathedral and lots of bars and restaurants around the square area a short walk from the cathedral.
We have stayed at Mesen del Cid twice now amd we like it. Its very basic but its comfortable and there is a car park to leave your car which is under ground. You are right in the centre of everything at this hotel, its location is absolutely perfeect.
There is free internet available in the lobby. The staff are very friendly and very helpful.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Burgos.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stews_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burgos hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Burgos
AC Hotel Burgos
#4 of 51 in Burgos
705 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Abba Burgos Hotel
Abba Burgos Hotel
#6 of 51 in Burgos
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rice Palacio de los Blasones
0.4 mi away
Hotel Forum Evolucion
Hotel Forum Evolucion
#1 of 51 in Burgos
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson del Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson del Cid

Property: Meson del Cid
Address: Plaza Santa Maria 8, 09003 Burgos, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Burgos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Burgos
#5 Best Value Hotel in Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meson del Cid 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gray concrete Spanish with red pantile roof, modern facilities - Located in front of cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Meson del Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meson Del Cid Burgos
Meson Del Cid Hotel Burgos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing