We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Almirante Bonifaz Hotel
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Burgos
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfortable”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed en route to Costa Del Sol. Found the hotel very easy to find off the main motorway, and was greeted by very pleasant and helpful reception staff, who did speak reasonable English too. I had emailed the hotel prior to our stay regarding on-site parking. Despite being told none could be guaranteed, I was offered a space. The car-park is indoor parking with access through doors at the rear of the hotel. Previous reviewers had commented on the tightness of the spaces, and they weren't kidding. It took very careful turning to get into the allocated space between padded pillars. The Hotel is well situated for the centre of town and cathedral areas, however we were somewhat disappointed with the lack of variety in restaurants. Most serving Tapas type food only. We eventually chose on a restaurant off the main square called "Parrys" because this seemed to offer a selection of meals from steaks, chicken & Paellas. Avoid this restaurant at all cost!! the food was served far too quick, and in an uneatable condition, we sent it back only to be reserved again a few seconds later, we refused it again. Pity really, because it spoilt what appeared a very pleasant town to walk round. The hotel was very clean, and comfortable. To access broadband in your room you need your own cable as this was not provided, disappointing, and was somewhat surprised that a Hotel of its size had no Bar, yet did have a restaurant, but served only very limited times, we missed them. Previous reports commented on the breakfast, and this was worthy of its credit, a good selection of continental breakfast plus a limited amount of scrambled egg and bacon was also available, well worth the nominal charge. In summary, would use the hotel again, but found the town disappointing, preferred Salamanca.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKongPhooey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    84
    51
    17
    3
See reviews for
47
77
1
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've been staying at this hotel every year for three years running and we came to really love the professionalism, friendliness and helpfulness of staff, and the amazing breakfast worthy of five star hotel. The location is excellent - one block from the river in one direction and one block from old city in another. The hotel is spotlessly clean, rooms are comfortable, but basic. They recently upgraded to a much better ac system and the rooms are more comfortable in the summer. There is only Ethernet connection in the rooms, wifi only in the lobby. No charge for Internet and they provide Ethernet cable. Ask for a room that faces the street rather than courtyard: more light and all windows are triple paned, so with ac on it's quiet. The breakfast is amazing, Abundance of fruit including some of the best melon and honeydew I've eaten anywhere, selection of four-five cheeses including local cheeses, four or five daily baked cakes, cheesecakes, and pastries, tortilla, tomatoes, eggs, cold cuts including locally cured jamon, etc, etc. the breakfast is catered in association with local celebrity restaurant Ojeida, which might account for its unusual quality of food. Great value and quality. The only little negative is some rooms have certain smell that comes and goes that is reminiscent of old plumbing. I suppose it cannot be helped, it is an old building, but if you open the windows, it disappears.

Room Tip: Ask for room that faces the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMaestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed for just one night and found this an ideal base from which to walk in and explore the cathedral area. Nice sized room in good clean condition. MariaCruz was helpful on the front desk and spoke good English. Room only was €55, but for just €5 more you can enjoy a lovely breakfast. The only negative was that the lady in charge of breakfast did not check on or replenish the hot food items that had run out. Good selection of items, especially the cakes and pastries. The underground parking is indeed rather tight, but manageable if someone just watches you from outside the car. Parking fee has just increased 50c to €11 plus 10% tax per day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betterthanwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
607 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had a business appointment in Burgos, so I needed an centrally located hotel, this hotel was perfect to my meeting, and as well, well located to the old cathedral and the central part of town, it is an interesting old town, and well worth the visit, apart from the Museum of the Civilization, that was closed on that day, but it is within walking distance of the hotel. The room was very comfortable, and enough, clean, and the room was quite in spite it was facing the main street, but , it is provincial town, and all goes slowly. Worth it, Breakfast was ok and enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Temper43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacolod, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were booked in Hotel Almirante Bonifaz during our last pilgrimage to Europe. Though we arrived late, the hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was great with a lot of newly baked breads, pastries and fresh fruits to choose from. The rooms are big and comfortable. Its just walking distance to the Cathedral, boutiques and nearby restaurants. We would love to come back to this hotel on our next visit to Europe.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RitaMarieAzarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

On a tour of Northern Spain, we stayed in 10 different places, and this was the only one to disappoint - especially since it was one of only two 4 star hotels we used. Hopefully we were just unlucky. To start with the positives:- It's very well situated;public areas were smart; Room looked smart and bed was comfortable;breakfast was good, and the one attendant pleasant and helpful. BUT, for what is charged, we found parking facility poor - entrance is a walk round to the back of the hotel, bays are not very big, and there's not much space to manoeuvre . Had better facilities free/cheaper in other hotels in the north of Spain. The staff were okay but the ones we met didn't appear too interested in their clients, and certainly I was glad I had a reasonable command of Spanish, for the staff we met didn't seem to have much if any English. The room lacked the advertised mini bar; the window screen took two of us, and a good bit of effort to operate, despite us being used to that type of mechanism, and the curtains didn't meet to adequately exclude the light. Several of our 2 star hotels were better than this.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our last night on car tour of Northern Spain.

The hotel itself is well placed a short walk from the Cathedral and the old town with it’s many restaurants.
The room was quite spacious, but due to it being Fiesta weekend and being adjacent to a busy main thoroughfare it was not very quiet.
Breakfast was fine and had a good choice.
The hotel has a hotel garage just round the corner from the hotel and this was a major factor in making our choice, although it is at a small extra cost.
Our stay was made even more enjoyable by the free public events provided by the city with live bands, street entertainment and an amazing firework display as a finale.

This hotel offers good accommodation and is to be recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burgos hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Silken Gran Teatro
0.4 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Burgos
0.5 mi away
AC Hotel Burgos
AC Hotel Burgos
#3 of 51 in Burgos
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cordon
Hotel Cordon
#9 of 51 in Burgos
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Corona de Castilla
0.6 mi away
Abba Burgos Hotel
Abba Burgos Hotel
#6 of 51 in Burgos
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almirante Bonifaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almirante Bonifaz Hotel

Property: Almirante Bonifaz Hotel
Address: Calle Vitoria 22, 09004 Burgos, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Burgos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Burgos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Almirante Bonifaz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located 50 meters from de Human Evolution Museum and 200 meters from the cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Almirante Bonifaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing