We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
69
116
79
16
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
116
79
16
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main gate the ground floor fabulous location sensor barrier cathedral euros parking city camino santander
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 305 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2018 via mobile

Via Gotica is nicely situated across from the bridge and main gate which leads to the cathedral, so location can’t be beat. We had a family room which had a view to the gate , where 4 beds were basically crammed into the room. The air con was not perfectly working requiring us to open the door to the balcony but there was a lot of street noise from passing cars. Accommodation is pretty basic , no frills and in line with the price. There is a bar/cafe in the ground floor which you can get drinks and snacks in. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank bjnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018

We had a room on the top floor and were blown away by the view or the Cathedral, especially at night. But we probably would not return here again for several reasons.
1. The room was terribly poky
2. The bed was very small, the mattress thin, and as we were sitting up in bed, it moved away from the wall.
3. The walls were thin, just partitioned and we could clearly hear next door's conversations.
4. The light sensor in the bathroom kept on switching on at every little movement.

But you can't beat the stunning view.
On another positive note, the receptionist downstairs was delightful and very helpful.
We parked our car in the nearest car park 100 m away for 10 Euros
I can't comment on breakfast as we went to the nearest cafe/restaurant.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank MillbrookCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2018

The hotel stands on a very busy junction, slightly below street level, it has a snack bar to the the side, a small 'front desk' and a lift to the rooms. The desk was not staffed in the late evening and anyone could have entered the hotel and used the lift.
Our floor had a small 3msq landing with the rooms off it. The room was spotless throughout with a firehose pressure shower, so strong it had loosened the holding bracket. No kettle or coffee making facilities were provided.
We choose this hotel because it stated safe carparking and it was central to the city.
However the car park was an underground Public car park 80m from the hotel, it seemed to have an attendants office near the barrier, more to ensure you paid your €9.95/day fee than add security.
Originally we planned for a 3 day stay but bailed out afer a single night because the city was so dirty and more a tourist rip-off than welcoming and appreciative of our presence.
My advice, give Burgos a miss!

Room Tip: If your a backpacker it will do for a night, but it is certainly clean throughout.
Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CoffeeLover158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017

We wanted to make a couple of hours into our journey south from Santander after arriving on an evening ferry. We chose Burgos and the Via Gotica Hotel.

It is badged as a boutique hotel and has that feel about it. We had a great room on the top floor overlooking the cathedral which was well put together, clean and best of all quiet. It is just a short walk into the old part of town.

Underground secure parking is just next door and for only 10 euros for 24 hrs good value for peace of mind when you have a car full of holiday gear.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor as there is only one up there.
Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2017

The hotel is in a fabulous location and is not very expensive.... that is really the only good thing I have to say.
The rooms were an OK size and we had a view of the cathedral but the noise from the traffic and the pedestrian crossing meant you couldn't open the window and there was no air conditioning.
The shower cubicle was incredibly small. When I was washing my hair my elbows were banging on the sides.
The beds were very hard (not fimr which would have been good) and more like 'camp beds' than proper beds. My husbands bed was really squeeky so every time he moved during the night there was noise.
There is also a motion sensor on the bathroom light so if you go to the bathroom in the middle of the night there is no option to do it without illuminating the whole room....

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank An_Expat_Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews