We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in a great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fontecruz Toledo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fontecruz Toledo
Ranked #25 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Baslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a great hotel in an even better city. The staff were great - very friendly and willing to help out - we had some great restaurant tips from them! We were even offered a choice of two rooms when we arrived. It's a bit of a nightmare to find so I'd pack a sat nav, along with some sturdy shoes for all those cobbles. Toledo is definitely not a place for heels! Whilst the hotel is lovely it isn't as amazing as it looks in the photos on it's website, but I'd definitely stay again. The only downside was that the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor - in a huge bathroom so wasn't a mega problem. It would also be nice if the hotel offered free complimentary access into the spa...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    164
    120
    52
    37
See reviews for
78
335
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
276 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Previous reviews are accurate, this is a very good hotel that has been overrated.
It is actually a good 4* hotel masquerading as something better.

Previous reviews citing a poor service from the staff are outdated and the service is now very good although there is still no assistance with luggage unloading or transporting it to the room which we completed ourselves. Also if you want to use the hotels own garage you must reserve before arrival as it only has 5 spaces.

Careful when travelling with children as they charge nearly as much for the child's extra bed as they do for the entire room. Their excellent restaurant (listed in Michelin) is closed during July/August for some reason but this appears quite normal in Toledo. There are many other excellent restaurants very close by, so no worries.

Yes we will return.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigboy1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Old Toledo is a tiny place. It's hard to believe that this town was the capital of Spain back in the 15th century, and nearby Madrid but a sleepy village. However, being a well-preserved World Heritage town, it is incredibly atmospheric and romantic, particularly at dusk. The narrow lanes, the medieval balcony hangings, the enormous cathedral; it is a place to get lost in, and, without a GPS system, you should find this fantastically easy to do.

'Lost' in the lanes is the bijou Hotel Fontecruz Toledo Palacio Eugenia de Montijo. I had expected something larger, having seen the pictures of the lobby and the wide, red exterior of the building. This is actually a very small hotel, but it doesn't ever feel parochial or insignificant. It is perfectly sized for the town and, unlike most of the old town's accommodation, is actually luxurious and tastefully finished. We arrived late in the afternoon and went straight to a small but perfectly proportioned and light room with a luxurious black marble bathroom. The room had a balcony overlooking the tiny inner courtyard and we enjoyed having the doors open as we dressed to go out for dinner, listening to the cathedral's bells in the distance as I played Rodrigo's Concerto de Aranjuez through the iPod.

There were a few problems with the hotel, hence the four-star rating. Having just experienced the glorious Westin Palace, we came down with a bit of a bump; the service, although well-intentioned and generally very good, was not quite up to those lofty standards. There is no iron and ironing board for guests; you have to have your shirts ironed at 5.50 per shirt. When I phoned down for an iron and ironing board, no one at reception was sufficient in English to understand me. At the buffet breakfast, we were asked three times for our room number as though we were freeloaders drifting in from the street and, when asking about looking for a lost item of jewellery, we were told that we couldn't look in the room as the maids had already been in there; in my opinion, even the most assiduous maid might fail to see a very small thing that had great sentimental value for its owner. Disappointing for a five-star hotel with Conde Nast Gold List plaques gleaming by the entrance.

The buffet breakfast at the hotel was acceptable but should have been served in the old dining room which was used later on as a makeshift luggage room. Instead, it was served in a bizarre annex off the lobby area with tacky 1990s chairs. A room in which you eat in ancient Toledo needs to be dramatic and beautiful; not like a conference hotel next to a motorway.

These complaints aside, it was a pleasing stay. You can see why famous visitors to the town like Princess Caroline of Monaco and Gwyneth Paltrow choose the Palacio Eugenia de Montijo; for the size of the place, it is an excellent hostelry. There are other luxurious establishments in which to stay nearby that are not in the old town, that possess views and pools and the like; very pleasant I am sure, but we had a quick in and out visit to this ancient place and this hotel served that purpose perfectly well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuxeDandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

spent the first 2 nights of our trip to Spain here, after using a hotel-arranged car service from the Madrid airport. We had booked a standard double room, which was beautiful and quiet - we did have an unfortunate problem with the air conditioning not working in our room, which took a day for the hotel to fix. Woke up several times during the night to open the balcony doors to let in fresh air (early April, so it wasn't hot, but just too stuffy for comfort.) The front desk staff is charming and trying to please (especially Marta and Javier). Yes, it would be hard to find with a car - we marveled that our taxi drivers could find it! But isn't that part of the charm of the winding, narrow streets of this beautiful, historic town! We didn't take the breakfast option, so walked about 2 blocks to the hotel-recommended cafe, Fin, which everyone enjoyed very much (and for a very reasonable price.) We walked to most of the sights that we wanted to see, and all thought the location was perfect!

Room Tip: loved our room: tiny balcony gave us glass doors to open for fresh air, and overlooked the glass atr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichmondVaJass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCuadrado, Gerente at Fontecruz Toledo, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Richmond Va:

It is a pleasure to know you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. We can't control the contingencies but we will always solutions immediately to affect the least possible.
Thank you so much for the appreciation our work and for share the experience in our city and hotel.

We hope to see you again in Toledo

Kind Regards:

Laura Cuadrado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Fontecruz for two nights in April. Fantastic location, although hard to find: not the hotel's fault, Toledo is a maze of narrow streets. The room and bathroom were very nice.

Only one negative: since our travel agent booked the room, we assumed that our breakfast was included. When we sat down to eat, two different staff came up to us and questioned us about whether we booked breakfast with our room. A quiet conversation wouldn't have bothered me, but they were very loud and it was embarrassing to us as there were others eating breakfast and the other guests heard everything.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anitagoetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night only in the heat of summer. Great and quiet location, and the hotel definitely has its charmes. If this was advertised as a 4 star and at a reasonable rate, I'd have been happy. However, as a 5 star and at the given rate this place lacked a few things... room was rather small, even though the furniture was nice. The only person to work at the hotel seemed to be the receptionist. TV reception was a bit if an issue, plus small choice of channels. Didn't need TV really as we wanted to see the town, but still below par for a hotel of its class. Not sure where any other hotel services that a 5 star property should have were hiding.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank insulaner1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at the Fontecruz for two nights mid February 2012. - Pricewise this was the worst Hotel standard we found on our trip coming from Malaga going to Madrid and staying in five different Hotels.

First: coming by car, the Hotel is hard to find because directions are giving as Palacio Eugenia de Montijo instead of Hotel Fontecruz.

Second: when arriving, the whole place doesn't look like a palacio rather than a youth hostel.

Although the Hotel is marked with five stars, the whole service comes up to maximum three stars. - The reception people are incompetent. They had no knowledge of opening hours, directions for places we wanted to visit or Restaurants in town.

Althought marked as a five star hotel there is no baggage handling. The carpet of our junior suite was terribly dirty, there were now bathrobes nor slippers in the bathroom. To our question we were answered that bathrobes are only provided for suites.

The Lobby was dark like a crematorium and the breakfast room is extremely small and was, on Sunday morning, crowded by people.

This is definitly not the standard you are expecting at a five star Hotel. We don't know how Conde Nast Travellers Magazin awarded this hotel for so many years.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edmund A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toledo hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pintor El Greco Sercotel
1.7 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abad Toledo
Hotel Abad Toledo
#12 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Ciudad de Toledo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontecruz Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontecruz Toledo

Property: Fontecruz Toledo
Address: Plaza Juego de Pelota 7, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Fontecruz Toledo 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your Fontecruz Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Eugenia De Montijo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing