We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel; close to everything.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fontecruz Toledo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fontecruz Toledo
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel; close to everything.”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My sister and I stayed at the Fontecruz for two nights in April. Fantastic location, although hard to find: not the hotel's fault, Toledo is a maze of narrow streets. The room and bathroom were very nice.

Only one negative: since our travel agent booked the room, we assumed that our breakfast was included. When we sat down to eat, two different staff came up to us and questioned us about whether we booked breakfast with our room. A quiet conversation wouldn't have bothered me, but they were very loud and it was embarrassing to us as there were others eating breakfast and the other guests heard everything.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anitagoetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    167
    121
    54
    39
See reviews for
82
340
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Stayed here for one night only in the heat of summer. Great and quiet location, and the hotel definitely has its charmes. If this was advertised as a 4 star and at a reasonable rate, I'd have been happy. However, as a 5 star and at the given rate this place lacked a few things... room was rather small, even though the furniture was nice. The only person to work at the hotel seemed to be the receptionist. TV reception was a bit if an issue, plus small choice of channels. Didn't need TV really as we wanted to see the town, but still below par for a hotel of its class. Not sure where any other hotel services that a 5 star property should have were hiding.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank insulaner1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at the Fontecruz for two nights mid February 2012. - Pricewise this was the worst Hotel standard we found on our trip coming from Malaga going to Madrid and staying in five different Hotels.

First: coming by car, the Hotel is hard to find because directions are giving as Palacio Eugenia de Montijo instead of Hotel Fontecruz.

Second: when arriving, the whole place doesn't look like a palacio rather than a youth hostel.

Although the Hotel is marked with five stars, the whole service comes up to maximum three stars. - The reception people are incompetent. They had no knowledge of opening hours, directions for places we wanted to visit or Restaurants in town.

Althought marked as a five star hotel there is no baggage handling. The carpet of our junior suite was terribly dirty, there were now bathrobes nor slippers in the bathroom. To our question we were answered that bathrobes are only provided for suites.

The Lobby was dark like a crematorium and the breakfast room is extremely small and was, on Sunday morning, crowded by people.

This is definitly not the standard you are expecting at a five star Hotel. We don't know how Conde Nast Travellers Magazin awarded this hotel for so many years.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edmund A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Toledo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olathe, Ks
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We were surprised at how large our room was. We had two large windows looking into a courtyard. The bed had high quality linens, the bathroom was spacious with lots of granite. The former palace of Eugenia (gift from Napoleon) set the stage for a high quality stay.
We loved the location, just a short walk to the Cathedral, which was stellar. We also walked to the Plaza to catch a tourist bus for a ride with spectacular views of the city. It was great for picture taking.

Room Tip: Our room was 215 and had good light and spaciousness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank married35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

This palace converted hotel is located right at the heart of Toledo, within 5 minutes walk to the Cathedral means that you can reach other parts of the old city practically within walking distance, and always with the Cathedral as your reference point to go back to the hotel. Very convenient it is in short.

The marble floored lobby immediately gives a luxurious feeling which continues in the very spaious room. Not sure if it was a free upgrade but what we got was a room with one king sized, very comfortable bed with a desk and a two seater sofa room, a washing room with two basins and separate toilet area.

The free wifi available in this hotel is a definite plus. Service was good in general but the only downside we found would be that when we tried to check out at 12, in order to catch the 12:25 train to Madrid, there was nobody at the reception. Yet, still highly recommended to anyone going to Toledo.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Pluses:
The hotel is located near all major sites in old city.
The environment in the hotel is peaceful and quiet
Minuses:
-The hotel seems quite old.
-The room is quite small with very small window.
-The service is really bad (although we got a welcome note from the manager promising excellent service) for example:
The receptionist is also the bell boy so no one helped us with the luggage when we entered the hotel - strange for 5 star hotel...
Then after we entered we got our luggage about 6 hours later!
The staff was very unfriendly and unwilling to help - very strange for 5 star hotel.
Another example: We ate breakfast at 16 Euro and some of the food was finished and when I asked for a tomato they said they don't have any....
Parking - costs 16 Euro in a nearby (1 min. walk) public parking lot.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrlyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
Level Contributor
319 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This hotel is in a converted palace. The public areas areas are superb with wonderful marble floors and beautiful wooden ceilings. We had an upgrade to a small suite. It was a very spacious room with a large and comfortable bed and also a 2 seater sofa. The bathroom was black and shiny marble with a separate WC and shower room as well as full size bath and 2 hand wash basins. We had views over the city roofs and to the country side beyond. If we leant out of the windows we could see the Alcazar. We enjoyed the breakfasts which were usually "help your self" with a large choice. One day the breakfast was a la carte. We had dinner one night in the Belvis restaurant which is in the hotel. We had a wonderful meal. The hotel staff were always pleasant, happy and helpful. We definitely recommend this hotel. It is in a good position for walking to see all the fabulous sights in Toledo. It is a very special hotel in a wonderful city!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.1 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
1.7 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 45 in Toledo
906 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abad Toledo
Hotel Abad Toledo
#13 of 45 in Toledo
299 reviews
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Ciudad de Toledo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontecruz Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontecruz Toledo

Property: Fontecruz Toledo
Address: Plaza Juego de Pelota 7, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Fontecruz Toledo 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontecruz Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Eugenia De Montijo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing