We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room and good location”
Review of Fontecruz Toledo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fontecruz Toledo
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We were surprised at how large our room was. We had two large windows looking into a courtyard. The bed had high quality linens, the bathroom was spacious with lots of granite. The former palace of Eugenia (gift from Napoleon) set the stage for a high quality stay.
We loved the location, just a short walk to the Cathedral, which was stellar. We also walked to the Plaza to catch a tourist bus for a ride with spectacular views of the city. It was great for picture taking.

Room Tip: Our room was 215 and had good light and spaciousness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank married35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 591 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2011

This palace converted hotel is located right at the heart of Toledo, within 5 minutes walk to the Cathedral means that you can reach other parts of the old city practically within walking distance, and always with the Cathedral as your reference point to go back to the hotel. Very convenient it is in short.

The marble floored lobby immediately gives a luxurious feeling which continues in the very spaious room. Not sure if it was a free upgrade but what we got was a room with one king sized, very comfortable bed with a desk and a two seater sofa room, a washing room with two basins and separate toilet area.

The free wifi available in this hotel is a definite plus. Service was good in general but the only downside we found would be that when we tried to check out at 12, in order to catch the 12:25 train to Madrid, there was nobody at the reception. Yet, still highly recommended to anyone going to Toledo.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerchung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Pluses:
The hotel is located near all major sites in old city.
The environment in the hotel is peaceful and quiet
Minuses:
-The hotel seems quite old.
-The room is quite small with very small window.
-The service is really bad (although we got a welcome note from the manager promising excellent service) for example:
The receptionist is also the bell boy so no one helped us with the luggage when we entered the hotel - strange for 5 star hotel...
Then after we entered we got our luggage about 6 hours later!
The staff was very unfriendly and unwilling to help - very strange for 5 star hotel.
Another example: We ate breakfast at 16 Euro and some of the food was finished and when I asked for a tomato they said they don't have any....
Parking - costs 16 Euro in a nearby (1 min. walk) public parking lot.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrlyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This hotel is in a converted palace. The public areas areas are superb with wonderful marble floors and beautiful wooden ceilings. We had an upgrade to a small suite. It was a very spacious room with a large and comfortable bed and also a 2 seater sofa. The bathroom was black and shiny marble with a separate WC and shower room as well as full size bath and 2 hand wash basins. We had views over the city roofs and to the country side beyond. If we leant out of the windows we could see the Alcazar. We enjoyed the breakfasts which were usually "help your self" with a large choice. One day the breakfast was a la carte. We had dinner one night in the Belvis restaurant which is in the hotel. We had a wonderful meal. The hotel staff were always pleasant, happy and helpful. We definitely recommend this hotel. It is in a good position for walking to see all the fabulous sights in Toledo. It is a very special hotel in a wonderful city!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel last june in two adjoining rooms(two adults and two kids).They gave us an early check in,rooms are very good ,clean and comfortable,bathrooms big enough .Hotel is located in historic Toledo ,next to the Catedral and Jewish neighborhood in a very nice old mansion.Toledo is very interesting and the front desk staff was very helpfull .

Room Tip: great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilbertos303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

The hotel is centrally located, in the old city, within a few minutes walking from the imposing Toledo cathedral. It's a nice, comfortable hotel, with spacious quiet rooms, and good service. Staff is kind and helpful, even if at times a bit slow in getting things done. Our room was nice, just what we were wishing for. The only quirk was the bed: why would you want to assemble a queen size bed with two individual beds is beyond my understanding -- it's not particularly nice for a couple, and it's surely too close for comfort if you are expecting two beds to begin with :-) OK, it was a small quirk that did not spoil our altogether rather pleasant stay in the hotel. We will most likely go back to it for our next visit to Toledo.

By the way another reviewer mentioned parking and reaching the hotel by car -- of course there's no parking and reaching it by car is difficult -- driving into the old city in Toledo is not a good idea to begin with!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfredoLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCuadrado, Gerente at Fontecruz Toledo, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2011

Dear Alfredo, thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed a pleasant stay. About the beds, we have double beds and two beds together, and try at all times meet the requests of our customers, but sometimes it is not possible. Tell us on your next stay, when booking, the type of bed you want and we will try by all means make it available on arrival.
Our priority is always your satisfaction.
We hope see you again in Fontecruz Hoteles

Laura Cuadrado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Palacio Eugenia de Montijo for 4 nights. The hotel is in a great location close to the cathedral and shopping. Our rooms were lovely and well maintained. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful. Angela in particular was extremely accomodating. She speaks English which helped since my Spanish is limited. The staff arranged for taxis and a car to take us back to Madrid. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Having free WiFi was a nice perk. If you get a chance, take the bus at the main square that takes you around Toledo. It was worth the 5 Euros. The history in Toledo is fascinating and the Hotel Palacio Eugenia de Montijo helped to make a good trip even better.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmavenNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LCuadrado, Gerente at Fontecruz Toledo, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2011

Thank you very much for choosing us as a hotel in Toledo and for your comments.
I am sincerely glad that the hotel staff has contributed positively in his journey. We hope to see you soon again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.1 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
1.7 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#6 of 44 in Toledo
1,015 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abad Toledo
Hotel Abad Toledo
#14 of 44 in Toledo
336 reviews
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Ciudad de Toledo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontecruz Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontecruz Toledo

Address: Plaza Juego de Pelota 7, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Toledo
Price Range: $83 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fontecruz Toledo 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontecruz Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Eugenia De Montijo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing