We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing view of toledo”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cigarral El Bosque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cigarral El Bosque
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“amazing view of toledo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

the location and the view from my room was out of this world! Truly unique experience.

However, the taxi rides (7 to 9 euros) to the town add up to the price.

As the hotel is ideal for weddings, the dining room (with the magnificent view) was not available to the guests for dinner, which takes much of the pleasure out of staying at the hotel.

The personnel was very friendly, and the wi-fi good.

Room Tip: Room with a toledo view : mine, room 316 was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avid_traveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    185
    103
    29
    38
See reviews for
116
279
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
189 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

The curved design of this hotel and some of the building materials used make this faciity unique. The views from the balconies of the rooms are spectacular. If you have a car, there is free parking and easy access into the old town. The history of the property, with its stately home, gives the property charm. The gardens and sculptures add a touch of sophistication, an extra artistic flair.
HOWEVER, the hotel is 10 years old and is showing its age. The rooms are basic. The decor, both in the rooms and hallways, is tired. The gardens and paths need some tending (although we were there early in the season, so perhaps they just hadn't gotten around to tending to the plants and paths yet). Perhaps the economy has taken the toll on this place and without guests, investment will not be made.
But I do hope and I do encourage the Mercure Hotel Chain to invest in this property to bring it up to the 5 stars it claims to be. This is a special place that has lost its way.

A note on the food: The restaurant food was only okay. While we were there not many quests ate in the restaurant for dinner. The breakfast was expensive and the choices rather boring.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmazingRacerWannabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

We wanted to visit Toledo during the El Greco special 400th anniversary so that we could see the special El Greco collection in the Santa Cruz museum. We stayed for 3 nights and visited all the main sites in the Toledo old town.
We selected this hotel mainly because it said to have ample and safe parking and because it advertised to be out of the city center noise and to offer great views.
The parking facilities, views of the city and the peaceful setting were great and exactly as advertised. So we slept perfectly.
We booked a suite premier and the room was very large and absolutely clean.
Although the hotel is out of town we never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a taxi and the cost to the center (including tip) was never more than 8 euros. Much better than trying to find parking in or around the city center.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Some negatives that prevent an excellent score. At this hotel level and certainly in a suite one would expect to have a box of tissues. Not a single tissue provided. Same for bottled water, none provided. The suite comes with a great living room but it is impossible watch TV from your bed. We also found the hotel restaurant to be expensive for the quality provided. We ate much better and at much better price performance in the city center.
But this said, ones one knowns the defects, we would be staying here again on a next visit to Toledo. We just would be prepared to bring our own tissues and water.

Room Tip: Select a room at level 3 (top level).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KvG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

price: booked ahead for mid may at 80 eu so not expensive
great quiet location, good view. If you want to avoid the hub bub of hotel in town. Free parking and very good wi fi so I chose not to hassle being in town, rolling luggage from city parking to a hotel. But a long walk to town so plan on a cab and save your feet for use in the city (wonderful). Ate at the "cafeteria" side of the restaurant - simply meant closest to the bar area and simpler menu - same kitchen. Great food, fair price

now the less than good.....rm 101 (remember it was a bargain) has limited view. Room is large, austere, no real amenities like coffee, water (seems like not a tradition in Spain). But not even a little chocolate. The toilet/ bidet room smelled musty. Bathroom large, well lit, separate tub and shower, 2 sinks.
The real buyer beware is the remains of a connecting door to room 102. Only one door in the opening. You could hear everything. Hotel handles this by hanging a big picture in front of doorway?? Some 1" insulation board over the old door would be clever! I figure the STC sound rating of that area is about 35 (cheap tract house wall) vs US code rating would be 50 STC minimum.

Room Tip: get higher up for the wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

A good hotel with ample parking. Taxis get to the hotel quickly after a call from the friendly reception staff and costs on average €6 and five minutes to get to the middle of Toledo town. Room was acceptable, better was the great view from the room's patio towards the town. Restaurant etc were average and comparatively pricy. All in all if driving we would use again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

The view fab the entrance to the hotel charming, but there any resemblance to 5 star ends... No extra pillows, no extra blankets, poor quality towels, no draws to put anything away, no complimentary water, no tea and coffee making facilities and the breakfasts are very expensive, we had better facilities on our ferry crossing to Spain. I have stayed in many hotels in Spain, some fantastic some not so good, this has to be the poorest, proporting to be a 5 star.the staff were very professional and polite.

Room Tip: Look at other hotels !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Livvielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.2 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Ciudad de Toledo
0.8 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cigarral de Caravantes
Cigarral de Caravantes
#16 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fontecruz Toledo
Fontecruz Toledo
#26 of 45 in Toledo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cigarral El Bosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cigarral El Bosque

Property: Cigarral El Bosque
Address: Carretera Navalpino s/n, 45004 Toledo, Spain (Formerly Hotel Cigarral el Bosque)
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cigarral El Bosque 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cigarral El Bosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing