We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent view on Toledo and the only disappointment during my 3 week trip in Spain”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cigarral El Bosque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cigarral El Bosque
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent view on Toledo and the only disappointment during my 3 week trip in Spain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2011

It's a really beautiful hotel with excellent view on Toledo, nice garden and good restaurant. But nevertheless I was disappointed - absence of hot water in the room, 3 requests to improve the situation and nothing was done.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olenyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    183
    103
    28
    38
See reviews for
115
276
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
1,240 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,686 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

The Hotel Cigarral el Bosque Toldeo, located on a hill overlooking Toledo, is an exceptional hotel property. The rooms are large, and each room has a large balcony that overlooks the historic walled city of Toledo. The bathrooms are also large, with a full-size bathtub and a separate walk in shower. In addition, the air conditioning system works well, in room internet capabilities are free, and the large garden and swimming pool are attractive and inviting. The members of the staff with whom I had contact were very friendly and accommodating. Both the dinner in the restaurant and the breakfast in the cafeteria were excellent. There is plenty of free parking area and security is provided at night.

My stay at the Hotel Cigarral el Bosque was extremely positive. In summary, the facilities, location, food, amenities, and staff were exceptional. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJTravelerTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

We spent three nights in this hotel in April, chosen mainly because Toledo can be difficult if you come with a car. Easy to find and easy to park, the location's downside is that you have a 20 minute walk to the city, uphill on the way back. In April this was fine but might not be fun in the warmer months. Great views from all the rooms, ours was 311 and was spacious and clean though not especially luxurious. we paid Euros 70 per night which is good value, but we avoided breakfast (Euros 15-21) and didn't go to the restaurant which we guessed was equally expensive. Lots of places to eat and drink in the city in between the wonderful sights to see there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanSchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

The Hotel Cigarral El Bosque is comparable to the Parador in Toledo -- both are 5-star hotels on the hills just outside the Old Town, with gorgeous views. But the Cigarral El Bosque is, in my opinon, better value, because it's less expansive than the Parador, and in in some ways, even better.

All of the rooms have terraces or balconies looking out over the Tajo River to the Old Town of Toledo.

The room service food was good -- try the "croquetas de faisán" (pheasant croquettes). I couldn't say anything about the breakfast buffet, because we had a continental breakfast on our room's beautiful garden terrace, listening to the birds in the lavender bushes.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola_in_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

This elegant hotel was not in the city center but a short, affordable taxi ride outside of town. It was like a resort, with incredible views of the city (especially lovely at sunset--and we had a rainbow!) from the large patio off our room. It would be a perfect honeymoon hotel. It isn't walking distance to the old city, however, but if you're going in to spend the day, the cab fare wasn't too bad; around 10 to 15 Euros I think. Very spacious and elegant rooms. The dining room has great views; the food was fine but not the absolute best of our trip (we had been spoiled by French food, however!)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvadoxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

Rooms are excellent and spacious. Nice bed and absolutely cleen. The view and the balcony are fantastic. Breakfast was very good. Only minor problem: hot water supply in the shower. In contrast to other comments, we did not find it difficult to walk to the town (approx. 20-25 minutes). The hill (to which other commentators referred to) exists but is not to steep. Beware: taxis seem to be quite difficult to get.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2008

We checked in at 14.00 hour after long drive only to find room had no hot water.
After many calls to reception and 2 hours later still no hot water.
Decided to leave immediately and find another hotel.
Staff at reception were very rude when I checked out as I refused to pay.
Disgraceful for a so called 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JJJJSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.2 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.7 mi away
AC Hotel Ciudad de Toledo
0.8 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cigarral de Caravantes
Cigarral de Caravantes
#16 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fontecruz Toledo
Fontecruz Toledo
#26 of 45 in Toledo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cigarral El Bosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cigarral El Bosque

Property: Cigarral El Bosque
Address: Carretera Navalpino s/n, 45004 Toledo, Spain (Formerly Hotel Cigarral el Bosque)
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cigarral El Bosque 5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cigarral El Bosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing