We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“half excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cigarral de Caravantes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cigarral de Caravantes to your Saves list
Cigarral de Caravantes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. de Circunvalacion, 2, 45004 Toledo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“half excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

the hotel had wonderful views from the bar and surrounding terrace
unfortunately our room advertised as having a view of the town had another building
immediately in front of it( if I stood on a chair the view was very good)
the room was very dated and the bathroom needed complete refurb.
the walk into town and from there to the centre was very steep.
Toledo itself was crowded with tourists and very hot

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamsbs7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel is about 1 km outside the old town part of Toledo, up a hill (remember this if you plan on walking into town). However this means it has the most fabulous views back over Toledo. The hotel has lovely rustic patios and balconies to sit and drink wine and make the most of the views. The good sized rooms have all the basic comforts including air conditioning and a very well priced mini bar. The beds were very hard and the pillow was harder and flatter than a piece of 2 x 4. The staff were friendly, however they do not speak much English and there is no Internet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bri1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Colwyn
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Enjoyed our two night stay here. The view is superb and just a short walk into Toledo(uphill coming back though!,)The receptionist was very obliging and even did a deal for an extra night, to match booking.com. Our room had a huge balcony with views across to Toledo. The room was large and rather rustic, the bathroom needed an update. The room was very comfy and quiet. The breakfast was ordinary but it was superb to sit outside and admire the view. The pool was a short walk from the room, secluded with planting all around. However, there was no loo handy and no bins. We were given two free drinks on arrival and went to the attached bar which was very quiet. We did not eat in the restaurant on either night, preferring to explore the area. In fact, we had a lovely lunch along the road in a roadside cafe with views across to the city. Loved Toldeo!!!!!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

If you are visiting Toledo why not stay out of town, hotel ciragal de caravantes has a view on Toledo which is almost the same as the panorama of El Greco s famous painting within walking distance of the town. Spacious clean rooms all with a terras and a view.pleasant and correct service at a good rate it certainly was good enough for us

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very nice sized, clean room with a balcony looking over at the old city. Great location - 15 minute walk to the bridge of the old city (all downhill) and another 10-15 (depending how long it takes you to find it through the winding lanes) to the Cathedral uphill. Wireless and onsite parking great! We walked to the old city at midnight to watch a Holy Week procession, and it was perfect to walk the lanes in quiet after all the day tourists had left. Highly recommend, both the hotel and restaurant; had a great dinner there.

Room Tip: We had room 35 which was very nice, but be aware that the noise from the lobby and downstairs restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickAngBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here in march for 2 nights with my wife. Amazing place. Very beautiful. And staff is very friendly, and they always keep smiling. Its about a 20 min walk from the walled city, and I love that fact. The distance assures you get a great view from your room. You wont know if to go to the walled city, or just stare at the view from the room balcony.

Room Tip: A tip, ask for the highest possible room facing the walled city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhardwaj_Vikrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great location. The hotel has much more potential than what it shows. Wifi internet was "said" to be available but was basically not usable. Speed was dramatic. It took 2-3 minutes to open single web pages. Using youtube was not even possible.

Reception had no internet and could not print our boarding passes.

Overall the hotel location is very good, breakfast is decent, service is good. The restaurant in the evenings was a bit empty.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PopeyeSpinach0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Ciudad de Toledo by Marriott
1.7 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.7 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#3 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Bastida
Hotel La Bastida
#8 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hesperia Toledo
Hesperia Toledo
#7 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cigarral de Caravantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cigarral de Caravantes

Address: Ctra. de Circunvalacion, 2, 45004 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Cigarral de Caravantes 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Cigarral de Caravantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cigarral De Caravantes Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing