We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impressive but..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Toledo
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hostel has an excellent location, 2 minutes walking to Zocodover Square. It has a very impressive decoration with full renewed furniture. The ambience of the room is freshing with light colors, mostly white. The reception lady was very helpful and she marked all the places to visit in the map for us and told her opinions. We asked to leave our heavy bags there after we check out and she accepted to keep them during all the day. There is an elevator in the hostel which is very useful. There is a terrace floor with free access computers and a chill out place. The terrace has a good view of the city but we couldn't enjoy it in the end of October since it was very cold and rainy. The air conditioner in our room blew cold air on us (to the beds). We told it to the reception girl, she came to check and said you have to wait for some time and it will blow hot. We waited for 4 hours and we were freezing after that! We turned it off at last and slept at 15 degrees! There were no shampoos or soaps, or a hair dryer in the bathroom so if you prefer to stay here you need to bring those with you. But you can ask for the hairdryer to the reception, as long as you give it back when you finish. By the way, there is no phone in the rooms, so you have to go down 3 floors (depends) to talk to reception. The room was not very clean at all, especially the bathroom. There is a restaurant connected to the hotel which applies 15% discount for the hostel visitors. The breakfast there was very tasty and warming after all. If I go back in summer I may prefer again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 350 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

We've just returned from a fabulous trip to Toledo - what a lovely city! And the Oasis Hostel was the icing on the cake!

We'd got the accommodation on special offer, but even at the standard rate it is a bargain. It's just been recently renovated, and everything is white and fresh. The room was small, but had everything you needed (apart from tumblers in the bathroom!). Nice to have both bath and shower ensuite.

The hostel is very central, and easy to find, thanks to helpful local signs. (Just a short walk from the bus stop, from airport). The cafe/bar next door, Pepe's, is a bonus. It's very trendy and welcoming, with an interconnecting door, open all day. Lots of different types of people always dropping in, so there is a great buzz. They serve breakfast on behalf of the hostel (included in the price), and there is a limited choice.

We were delighted to find such helpful and friendly young receptionists, who were happy to do anything to assist, such as finding out bus times, excursions, restaurants, etc - nothing was too much trouble.

The best part of the hostel is the roof terrace. A little haven! We were lucky enough to have blue skies during our stay, and spent several hours relaxing on the decking and sun loungers. There is also a nice chill-out room on the roof, complete with pc and settees.

The hostel is on the corner of a busy street, and there are some rooms with balconies, which may be a bit noisy. We had a room at the back, and the main noise was just the heavy doors banging shut within the building.

All-in-all a great find, and much recommended. We are a middle-aged couple, but didn't feel at all out of place in a hostel - it's just a budget hotel really, clean, with plenty of facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Once we had found it , it was easy to find again ! Excellent location although (at our age )nightclub opposite may not be for everyone! Staff were excellent, helpful, friendly and spoke good English.Rooms clean and comfortable, breakfasts good and terrace and "chill out area" we're lovely.We were there for 5 nights on a special offer deal, which was brilliant value, but can't comment on what normal rates are. Loved Toledo and we were sad to leave.

Room Tip: Not opposite the nightclub (although we did so much walking we slept well anyway !) unless you plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Toledo´s warren of backstreets can be a nightmare to navigate. Oasis Hostel, however, is easy to find, just off the main Zocodover Square.

Still smelling brand new when I was there, it´s a boutique-hotel-like restoration of an old apartment building (or hotel?). Clean white walls, clean dark wood floors and woodwork. My four-bed dorm had its own top-quality bathroom, the mattresses were comfy and the supplied linen spotless, and it overlooked a quiet sidestreet, with atmosphere but not noise.

At the top (four floors of stairs, but there´s a lift too) there´s a delightful terrace with sun loungers, chairs and tables, and a spectacular view of the Alcazar, city rooftops and surrounding countryside. Perfect for a sunset drink, snack (mini-supermarkets abound, there´s one opposite if you get suddenly thirsty) or (if you indulge) a cigarette.The air-conditioned penthouse-like PC room/lounge is up here too.

The only issue for some might be the lack of a kitchen, so self-caterers are restricted to picnics up on the terrace. However, there´s 15 per cent discount on the good, reasonably priced cafe-bar adjoining.

Security is good, with keycard entry to the main hostel and to the rooms; there are also underbed lockers, though you´ll need a *small* padlock.

There was a good proportion of mature people (including, er, me) on my stay, and it´s not a raucous ´party hostel´. They do run a range of activities for nightlife fans wishing to meet other travellers, though, such as tapas trips and pub crawls.

Overall, a quite excellent hostel, clean and comfy and stylish, and superbly situated. Should satisfy even the most demanding partner!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VauxhallVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in this hostel for 2 nights and were very sad at the moment we had to leave. It was spotless clean, beautiful, perfectly located and had very friendly staff who knew how to help us out by giving recommendations for the low budget. Also, it was the cheapest hostel we found!

Other than that, we met great people who were staying in the hostel and had two great nights out with them.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amaonze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

What a great experience and welcome ! People who take care of this hostel are, moreover, really fun and sympathic. The location of the hostel is also really good, inside the old Toledo, in a calm street. Finally, I really advise this youth hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 671marjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Brand spanking new, in fact still being renovated during our stay, so workers making noise first thing in the morning was a bummer. But this hostel is spotless clean and a pleasure to stay in

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benkinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa0001, Manager at Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Toledo, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hi there,

thank you so much for your comment and apologies about being woken up by ugly hammering. We promise all is done now and your sleep is ensured. We would be happy to host you another time, please just let us know at toledo@hostelsoasis.com

Thank you, your Oasis Toledo Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.9 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#13 of 44 in Toledo
1,046 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hostal Toledo
Hostal Toledo
#29 of 44 in Toledo
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Domus Plaza Zocodover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Bastida
Hotel La Bastida
#19 of 44 in Toledo
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#15 of 44 in Toledo
226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Toledo

Address: Calle Cadenas 5, 45001 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Toledo
Price Range: $32 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Toledo 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oasis Backpackers' Hostel is where to stay in Toledo for travellers looking to experience something different. Take a break from Madrid and come visit Toledo. You will be suprised and glad you did. A real Toledo hostel with a real travellers price.Book your Toledo Hostel Room Now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oasis Backpackers' Hostel Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing