We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality and incredible location”

Posada El Cristo de la Luz
Ranked #86 of 422 Restaurants in Toledo
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tel: 622541297
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hospitality and incredible location”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a great find for us on our recent holiday in Spain. Old Toledo can be a bit intimidating. My wife, may adult son and I had been touring all day and were in need of a place to eat. We just stumbled upon Posada El Cristo de la Luz by accident and we were very glad we did. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. He brought us our food, explained the history of the unique building that the restaurant inhabits and provided us with directions to a bodega that was still open so that we could buy some wine before leaving the next day.
He is obviously proud of his business and the food was very good. No trouble providing an excellent recommendation for this restaurant and it's exceptional owner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Herbie51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    71
    25
    19
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely home cooked lunch”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Excellent lunch , home cooked and amazingly just 10Euros for two courses with a drink. No fancy tables just honest,tasty food served by the most charming host you could have.
I guarantee you won't leave without seeing the gate! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank alan752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we found in Spain”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stumbled upon this lovely family run restaurant looking for somewhere we could eat that had a view of the sunset. We found a lovely table inside that had a view and returned the next day for lunch and sat in the courtyard.

The food was completely homemade and gorgeous.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferandJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cadiz
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little gem in the heart of Toledo”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

When visiting parts of spain it is so unusual to find a restaurant serving something different to the usual spanish fare. We visited twice in three days, lovely food ( menu quite limited ) the owner is kind and welcoming to all. Good food, cold beer, nice wines and all so cheap. A real gem in the heart of Toledo.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eilish j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgos, Spain
1 review
“Tasty meal in Toledo”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This restaurant is hidden just over the old city walls and opposite the mosque Cristo de la Luz. The owner is so welcoming, the food delicious. Do not pass this place by. Seek it out and enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miranda452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Posada El Cristo de la Luz also viewed

Toledo, Province of Toledo
 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to Posada El Cristo de la Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing