We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent classical train ride, although you cannot get down during trip”

Toledo Train Vision
Ranked #8 of 35 Tours in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent classical train ride, although you cannot get down during trip”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We first decided to take the city tour by sightseeing bus, but finally we chose this classical Zocotren. It is much cheaper way to roam outside the city wall. It is good way to see the stunning scenic view of the city and its surrounding area. There are some places from where you can get fascinating view of the city including Cathedral and Alcazar. The problem of this train is that you cannot get down wherever you like or it does not allow the passengers to get down at specified places and pick later, as the ticket is valid for one time only. This is the reason I cannot give the highest rating. You cannot take a snap of the stunning views as you desire, you have to take snaps from the running train. If your seat is in the middle of the train (aisle), it is very difficult to take snaps. So you have to quick to take your desired snaps. As this train does not stop to allow tourists to get down at certain places, I do not rate it as 'Excellent'.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sazzadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    247
    62
    26
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
133 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This train it is not actually a train, it is a bus (with train shape). It takes you all around the city and gives you a very good ride outside the walls with fantastic views of the city.
It is very good to take the ride during the day, so you will appreciate all the city however, the ride during the night is awesome. It inspires you.... The train stops in a place where you can see a marvellous view of the Cathedral, the Alcazar and all the rest of the fantastic buildings illuminated.
TIP: I suggest you make this tour before you visit anything else in the City. They will give you headphones to listen to the explanations whilst you are in the ride, so you will have a good understanding what to visit afterwards.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Gabriel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Train ride”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I loved our trip outside the city. We picked a beautiful sunny day and got some great photos. We took a tip from Rick Steve's and sat on the right side in the last car and it helped with the photos. For 5 euros, it was a value.

Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan City
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best Total View of Toledo”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were quite bummed out that it was raining on the day we made a day trip from Madrid to Toledo. The local #22 bus brought us from the Toledo bus station to Plaza Zocodover. But because of the wet weather, we thought we could not make this trip to Toledo worth anything.

Luckily we noted this red motorized train parked in one corner of Plaza Zocodover and it cost only €5 for a guided tour with photo stops. We immediately grabbed the chance to ride it in order to go around town without getting wet.

We actually got more than what we bargained for since this train also went outside the city walls so that we could get a view of the beautiful river, the bridges and the rest houses there. We were also given a chance to have photos taken with a breathtaking view of the whole city, clearly seeing the imposing Alcazar and Cathdral. It was just too bad our view was against a gloomy grey sky, rather than bright blue.

One disappointment was the lack of a printed route map so we can follow the recorded narration which was not always clear or coincident with what we were seeing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DMHYF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“See the city from outside the walls by this "train".”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was the best value tour in Toledo as the little train runs round the entire outside of the walls and stops for photos that enables a total view of the city and river gorge. It also weaves in and out the walls which the red double deckers cannot do. It also has a much more detailed commentary in about 15 different languages through headphones.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cleggyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toledo Train Vision also viewed

Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to Toledo Train Vision? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing