We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big spacious room but slightly dated. Great bath.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Walk 5 mins left to Monastry and another 5 mins down to Bridge of St Martin. Continue walking to escalators down and turn right to new gate of XXXX. Walk around to plaza and Castillo (around corner is free entrance up to 9th floor café for fantastic views of Toledo). Keep walking to Cathedral of Toledo (8 Euro entry with audio headphones – allow at least 2 hours here).

Walk right of hotel 5 mins to gardens and Jewish Quarters and up across 10 mins to Cathedral of Toledo. We arrived hotel at 12.30pm from Madrid (1 hour drive) and parked under hotel (euro 17). Room wasn’t ready so we went exploring till about 6pm on foot. Came back for a rest and went next door to Adolfo restaurant for dinner at 8.15pm – still bright.

Room spacious with newly fitted bathroom though room itself seemed old – old carpets and furniture. Hotel is in perfect location in old Toledo. Bathroom has a new Jacuzzi which is big and comfortable for 2. Great water pressure and hot water system. Our room 115 had a balcony (what it seems like the only room that has a balcony). Euro 17 car park per night.

Breakfast - ala carte of buffet. We had the ala carte and was very well priced.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 714 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

On a whirlwind 6 night, 6 city stay hoping to get one special thing from each. Be aware that parking may not be easy; however we arrived about 6pm and were lucky enough to find parking directly opposite the hotel.
Toledo was "el Greco" for us and this hotel was within very close walking distance. Also very easy to walk around the old town and see whatever you want if you are staying longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanna w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I took my mom to Spain for the first time last week and I found this hotel on trip advisor. When we arrived, the staff were so lovely and accommodating. The location cannot be beat, just a walking distance from all the major sights. I would absolutely without hesitation stay here again. In an example of going above and beyond, my daughters stuffed animal got stuck in the sheets when the maids cleaned. I went down to the desk the next morning and it was nowhere to be found. A week later back in the US, I emailed the hotel and they said they had found it and would send. Superb hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We found the staff rather offhand when we arrived and my husband asked directions to the garage but they did warm to us. We were upgraded to a room with a jacuzzi - I always request a tub and they are not always available. We certainly enjoyed the 2 person jacuzzi and there were plenty of towels but we would not consider the hotel to be a four star standard. After travelling around Spain for three weeks we found the breakfast here to be at the bottom end of the scale.

The location is good in the Old Jewish Quarter and only a few minutes walk from Meson de La Orza where we enjoyed dinner on our second evening. The hotel has a garage at a charge for guests very convenient in such a congested old town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a jacuzzi
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We really enjoyed our time at this hotel. It was about a 15 minute walk from the main square in town, Plaza de Zocodover and that seemed to be where most of the people were. It was unbelievably busy as it was the Easter weekend. We had called ahead to ensure that we would be able to access the hotel when we arrived. Because it was Good Friday we were concerned about processions. The hotel assured us that "hotel guests" would have no problems accessing the roads. We didn't understand that they meant the police would let us through the road block if they knew we were going to the hotel. Either way it worked out fine because we saw police letting a couple of other cars through and gave it a shot and showed them our reservation.

I think the people at this hotel are so willing to do anything to make your stay better. We asked if they had an extra folding luggage rack for our second big suitcase and they actually carried a big wooden one in from the room next door.

The room was nice but not very big and the bed was comfortable. We had a fair sized balcony but no view except of people driving in to the parking behind the hotel. It was so hot that we didn't spend much time there.They gave us a room with a two person Jacuzzi but we had a lot of trouble figuring out how it worked and the water wasn't warm. After that we gave up and took showers.
The wifi worked well. The breakfast was nice. If requested they will cook eggs and bacon etc. to order for you as well as the buffet. We asked the desk to call us a cab and the person actually went outside to speak to the driver to ensure that they knew where we wanted to go.

Everyone was very helpful. The hotel is a little pricey, especially for the small room but it has a lot of character and excellent staff.
The underground parking is beyond tight. My husband said he thought he needed a canopener to get out of the garage. We had parked underground a few times but this was the tightest and they even said they gave us a good easy spot so we could get out easily.

I think if I had been driving I would have had to leave the car in Toledo. Don't think I could ever have navigated it out of that garage. Nice place to stay in Toledo.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spriglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on an overnight stopover on our way down to Southern Spain.
Had picked Toledo because of the medieval city.
Found the hotel really easily from the motorway. Was able to park our car in the hotels garage,last place so lucky! 17 € overnight.
Had a room on the ground floor no view but lovely big windows which we opened wide to let the warm breeze in.
Room was plenty big enough with a large bathroom. We had a problem with the water but the staff were very apologetic & whilst we waited for a plumber a platter of wine,olives & chocolates was delivered to our room. We were also given a complimentary breakfast the following morning. So well done Sercotel San Juan de los Reyes good customer service! Breakfast was very nice fresh fruits & lovely pastries. Ask for fresh coffee/cappuccino they don't offer it,but have a coffee machine.
We used the internet & found it to be fast & efficient. We also Facetimed our family back home.
With regards to the hotels location,fantastic right in the heart of the medieval old town. A short uphill stroll brought us to restaurants & shops. It's best to just meander around,get lost don't try to do too much map reading or you'll miss out on the wonderful architecture.
Do try the local marzipan it's delicious. We had a lovely meal of local Toledo pork stew.
Would stay at the Sercotel San Juan de los Reyes again if we found ourselves back in Toledo.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We spent 2 nights here in late March. Our room was lovely, with windows overlooking the river and the monastery. The breakfasts were good, and we were very happy with the location. Surprisingly for such a significant hotel in Toledo, we found that the front desk staff were uninformed on local sights, including the vista point from which El Greco painted (and reimagined) Toledo. We had the same kind of response from a different clerk when we wanted to take the 90-minute-or-so drive to Consuegra to see the famous windmills of La Mancha. He’d heard of Consuegra, but didn’t seem to know how to arrange a trip, until he called the taxi company and found that they had a set fare. But overall this was a very nice hotel in a good location and we would recommend it.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.1 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
1.6 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.5 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#4 of 44 in Toledo
1,089 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Toledo
NH Toledo
#6 of 44 in Toledo
798 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#13 of 44 in Toledo
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Juan de los Reyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Juan de los Reyes

Address: Calle Reyes Catolicos 5, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range: $82 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Juan de los Reyes 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This building of the hotel dates from 1889. At first, it was used as a cold steel Factory. "The San Jose Flour Factory" was created in 1918 and continued its production until July 1996. The Factory was used for the production of flour, marzipan, chocolates and sweets. Its products were among the most valued and known, not only for the use of raw material with an unbeatable quality, but also for the technical methods that guaranteed the supply and production of the different products.This building, considered a point of cultural interest, preserves its Neomudejar facade and is a magnificent representation of the 19th Century industrial architecture. Opened in May 2003, The San Juan de los Reyes Hotel is located in the emblematic Jewish quarter of Toledo, in the historic city centre next to the main monuments: San Juan de los Reyes Monastery, Santa Maria la Blanca Synagogue, Vitorio Macho Museum, El Greco Museum, Santo Tome Church, El Transito Synagogue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel San Juan de los Reyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing