We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel; good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel; good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We spent 2 nights here in late March. Our room was lovely, with windows overlooking the river and the monastery. The breakfasts were good, and we were very happy with the location. Surprisingly for such a significant hotel in Toledo, we found that the front desk staff were uninformed on local sights, including the vista point from which El Greco painted (and reimagined) Toledo. We had the same kind of response from a different clerk when we wanted to take the 90-minute-or-so drive to Consuegra to see the famous windmills of La Mancha. He’d heard of Consuegra, but didn’t seem to know how to arrange a trip, until he called the taxi company and found that they had a set fare. But overall this was a very nice hotel in a good location and we would recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    304
    69
    12
    5
See reviews for
104
420
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for three nights during Semana Santa. Toledo was VERY busy with tourists. We were happy with our stay, although there were a few small issues.
Our room was not ready at check in--at we arrived at 3 pm. We had about a 30 minute wait.

We were unable to connect to their wi-fi, which they assured us was working fine "no problems" After 24 hours with no internet, they finally admitted there was a problem, and gave us the password to their office (private?) wi-fi. We were then able to connect, although it wasn't the best.

The hotel is in a great location, easy to walk to anywhere in old town Toledo. There are several cafes and shops right out the door. The lobby and reception are very nicely furnished, and their is a computer for guess use.

Our room was small, but nicely furnished and very clean. No view other than to the building next door--but we had reserved just a standard room. The bed was VERY firm--a little too firm for our liking. It was very quiet--no noise issues at all.

The bathroom was nice, with a deluxe shower system and a rain shower head. Good water pressure with plenty of hot water.

Would we stay at The San Juan de los Reyes again? I think we'd make a different choice. I'm sure there are better hotels for less--it was a bit "spendy", most likely due to the holiday time frame.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVacationQueen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel during a 2-week trip through Spain. By far, this was our favorite hotel! The rooms were clean and well-furnished with the things we needed for our stay. I chose this hotel because of its location, as well as the ability to park our rental car within the hotel garage (an extra charge, but well worth it for the convenience and the peace of mind). Toledo is a very walkable City, but even so, this hotel was conveniently located near a couple of the major tourist sites. We did not purchase the breakfast option, and instead stopped at a grocery store nearby to pick up some basic supplies. I would highly recommend this hotel based on its comfort, location and convenience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanders2of2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel. We arrived via taxi from the train station at about 1pm and checked into our room without problem. Our room was on the second floor, was spacious and clean. The only window, however, was a skylight window in the ceiling. Although it had a shade and could be opened, there was no view of any kind.

Basically across from the Sinagoga del Tránsito and next to the Monasterio de San Juan de los Reyes, the hotel's location is excellent. It's an easy though uphill walk to most of the eateries and sights.

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will stay there again. But next time we'll request a room with a view or at least a real window.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

So much about this hotel was great: location was absolutely perfect, front desk staff was super-friendly, helpful. I didn't have breakfast but my kids and husband did, and they thought it was fine. Parking is around back, under the building, and costs extra, as it did everywhere we stayed. I really liked that it was near a little town park with a pretty overlook view - went there in the evening to read my book and have an ice cream and felt very "local". We'd definitely stay there again. We had rooms on the top floor, in front, and although we could hear the street noises, it wasn't a bother really. We opened the "hatch" window and enjoyed the fresh air.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melkmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is situated near the end of the old Jewish quarter in Toledo, near the Monastery of San Juan de los Reyes, the El Greco Museum and the Transito Synagogue. The hotel was a flour factory at one time and is within walking distance of all the monumental sights of Toledo.
Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The people at reception were very nice and helpful at all times. Remember that the streets in Toledo are cobblestone and you need good walking shoes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a great location in Toledo. We were able to walk everywhere. Some things were a longer walk than others, but we had no issues. Since the hotel is in the old section of the city, the streets are more maze-like. So, make sure you get a walking map from the hotel before venturing out too far.

Our room was in the back of the hotel and there was no view at all, but we did have a balcony. (From what I could tell, none of the rooms has a view.) The room was spacious for a European hotel room, as was the bathroom.

The hotel has a parking garage. You will be assigned a numbered spot for the duration of your stay. Please note that the garage and the parking spots are very small and very tight.

There is great souvenir shopping close by and a lot of great locally made products, like knives, damask, linens, leather goods and pottery.

If you are driving, I strongly suggest you get directions from the hotel staff and that you not follow your GPS. My GPS took me through a labyrinth of very narrow streets and at one point I honestly considered abandoning our rental car and telling the rental company if they wanted the car, they could come get it themselves. But, we persevered and eventually found the hotel. We got directions from the hotel staff from that point forward and had no issues at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vycki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.1 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
1.6 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.5 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#2 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#4 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hesperia Toledo
Hesperia Toledo
#6 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Juan de los Reyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Juan de los Reyes

Property: Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Address: Calle Reyes Catolicos 5, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Juan de los Reyes 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This building of the hotel dates from 1889. At first, it was used as a cold steel Factory. "The San Jose Flour Factory" was created in 1918 and continued its production until July 1996. The Factory was used for the production of flour, marzipan, chocolates and sweets. Its products were among the most valued and known, not only for the use of raw material with an unbeatable quality, but also for the technical methods that guaranteed the supply and production of the different products.This building, considered a point of cultural interest, preserves its Neomudejar facade and is a magnificent representation of the 19th Century industrial architecture. Opened in May 2003, The San Juan de los Reyes Hotel is located in the emblematic Jewish quarter of Toledo, in the historic city centre next to the main monuments: San Juan de los Reyes Monastery, Santa Maria la Blanca Synagogue, Vitorio Macho Museum, El Greco Museum, Santo Tome Church, El Transito Synagogue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Juan de los Reyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing