We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Modiin, Israel
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel, which used to be a flour mill, is right in the old city of Toledo, and very easy to get to. The rooms aren't luxurious, but are clean and nice. We loved the atmosphere, being in an older building. The breakfast options were lacking, but we managed. Parking was an issue, as there was no room in the hotel's small and cramped lot. The person at the front desk arranged parking for us at a hotel down the street for about 13 Euros per day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avishay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    315
    70
    12
    5
See reviews for
107
431
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Centrally located. Everything was within walking distance. Staff was courteous. Rooms were nicely layed out and clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bubbagags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our trip allowed us to stay only one night in Toledo.
As a typical tourist destination, we were concern about choosing a quiet hotel, not away from major attractions and the lovely Toledo's old city.
The room we've got was not so nice as the pictures displayed at the website. But it was ok.
It is not so comfortable for 2 persons with large luggage (not enough room to store them properly), but the bed and bathroooms are fair and clean.
The hotel is not located in the upper part of the city, and its centre, but walking around is not difficult. Its easy to find and reach the hotel by car. It has a small but fit garage at the backstreet.

Room Tip: If possible check what room stands for what picture in website to be sure what to expect for your yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed at San Juan De Los Reyes for two nights in June. The reception staff were friendly, and the service was very good.

The room was rather bigger than average. It had a large safe and free wi-fi. The wi-fi was a bit fiddly to get working, though. One unusual feature of the room was that whenever I entered it, the tv would turn on automatically after a little while. I never watch tv, so this was extremely annoying, not to mention startling.

The bathroom was also big. There was no shower stall, only a bathtub with a narrow glass screen in front, so water tends to spray out over the floor when taking a shower. The bathtub had a jacuzzi function, which is a bit unusual.

In the evening of the first day I stayed there, the air conditioning stopped working, which is not so much fun when it's well over 30 degrees Celsius outside. So I went down to the reception and talked to the guy there. He was very nice and told me he was going to fix it right away. He did manage to get it started again, but it soon became clear to me that the air conditioning didn't cool the air, it only moved warm air around the room. I then went to the reception again, and when I talked to the guy he had just found out that the air conditioning had in fact blown out on the entire second floor! The hotel only has three floors, so this must have been a bit of a crisis. However, he immediately let me move to a room on the first floor, where the air conditioning was working as it should, so I was happy again.

Breakfast was rather average fare, nothing special.

Since the hotel is located in the old town of Toledo, it's very central. The old town of Toledo is so small that any place within it could be considered central, but this place had a nicer and more open feel to it than many other places in the old town. A walk to the cathedral in the middle of the old town takes about ten minutes.

I was very satisfied with my stay at the San Juan De Los Reyes, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UrbanRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

An excellent, central location and surprisingly easy to drive to with parking available under the hotel. Our room was small, under eaves, but the facilities were fine and we had a view. The breakfast is an excellent buffet. All the sights are within easy walking distance. Free computer access in the lobby. A helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark-CynthiaColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here for three nights earlier this month and really enjoyed it. You can't always judge a place at first glance. At first, when we entered our room, we looked at each other and shrugged our shoulders. It looked a little drab for our taste. We walked into the bathroom and we were really impressed - very modern and excellent fixtures. Our surprise was yet to come. We unpacked and took a walk around the old city. Although it was overcast, and a bit rainy, we enjoyed the cobblestone sidewalks among historic buildings. We then came back to our room and decided to take a siesta. We opened the large window by the bed and we were greeted by the most wonderful birds singing the the trees across the street. The serenade was hypnotic and it put right to sleep on the very comfortable bed. From that moment on, we loved our room. Every morning and every evening we were sung to sleep and awakened by these incredible birds. We couldn't have been more happy with our room. The free breakfast was quite delicious, with a large selection of fruits, breads, cheeses and hot items. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielsonkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Toledo is the most beautiful city in Spain and this hotel is in the best location to benefit seeing it. It is located in the heart of the old city and within walking distance of the cathedral and museums. Parking is available at a cost of 15 euro for the night. The bedroom was quite large with a jacuzzi and shower. There was even a complimentary bottle of local wine which was a nice touch. The breakfast was included and included a selection of cold meats, cheeses, breads, pastries as well as cooked eggs if desired. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay here and would have no hesitation in booking this hotel again when we return to Toledo.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishGuinness1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.1 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
1.6 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.5 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#3 of 44 in Toledo
1,045 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Toledo
NH Toledo
#6 of 44 in Toledo
747 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#2 of 44 in Toledo
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Juan de los Reyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Juan de los Reyes

Property: Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Address: Calle Reyes Catolicos 5, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Juan de los Reyes 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This building of the hotel dates from 1889. At first, it was used as a cold steel Factory. "The San Jose Flour Factory" was created in 1918 and continued its production until July 1996. The Factory was used for the production of flour, marzipan, chocolates and sweets. Its products were among the most valued and known, not only for the use of raw material with an unbeatable quality, but also for the technical methods that guaranteed the supply and production of the different products.This building, considered a point of cultural interest, preserves its Neomudejar facade and is a magnificent representation of the 19th Century industrial architecture. Opened in May 2003, The San Juan de los Reyes Hotel is located in the emblematic Jewish quarter of Toledo, in the historic city centre next to the main monuments: San Juan de los Reyes Monastery, Santa Maria la Blanca Synagogue, Vitorio Macho Museum, El Greco Museum, Santo Tome Church, El Transito Synagogue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Juan de los Reyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing