We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Hotel Abad Toledo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abad Toledo
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Plus points:
- The receptionists were friendly and helpful. Spoke good English.
- There was a bathtub, and a TV with english language channels.
- Decor is pretty with rustic exposed brick walls, though our room (No. 12) was not nearly as nice as that in the pictures provided.
- Location was not bad, near to the Zocodover Square, but some distance away from the Jewish quarter, so do know where you intend to sightsee more before deciding which location is best. Having said that, however, the central (tourist) area of Toledo is small enough to be covered on foot, so nothing is ever too far away.

Minus points:
- Cumber room lock system (lock & key based), so all in the travelling party must stick together.
- The toilet does not have any lock, so take note of that to avoid any embarassing accidents!!! - The room was small for 3 people (a double room, 2+1 slightly smaller bed), though rather cheap at EUR74/night.
- Minor grouse: beds were on wheels which moved far too easily, so when I sat up on the bed and leaned against the wall, the bed started rolling.

Conclusion: This hotel is not excellent by any means, but there's really nothing seriously wrong with it either. I do not mind staying here again, if I revisit Toledo.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cowfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 330 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

We chose the Abad because of its price and location and we were not disappointed. The room was lovely, comfortable beds and pillows. As the walls were stone we did not get any noise disturbance, perhaps we were just lucky. The staff were helpful and pleasant and we would not hesitate to recommend it. The breakfast was basic, not much choice for those not wanting bread or cake, but the juice was good, the coffee and tea hot but I would recommend going down as early as possible as the breakfast room is tiny and can get crowded. Overall, very good!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bakerblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Charming hotel very well located in the historic part of town.
The staff is very nice and helpful. Pricing is right.
It is also noisy because of extremely thin walls.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stay at the Hotel Abad de Toledo. A very small and charming little hotel, with such a nice room, and pleasant staff.Very nice and strategic location.We will go back as soon as possible and stay there again, no questions about it.

Room Tip: Each room is different , but front rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgpabon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I stayed in Abad hotel for one night as part of a two week trip in Spain. We picked this hotel due to the location and having visited the website felt it would be the perfect place to stay for a comfortable, relaxing night. This was essential as we had a long journey planned to drive to Cordoba the following day. On arrival we were shown to our room, within half an hour we had to move rooms. The noise from the room next door was unbelievable, you could hear everything from them running a bath to flushing the toilet. We complained and were moved to the room next door. Having concerns that noise would still be an issue we were told by the staff that the room next to us was empty. When returning back to the hotel that night to sleep we heard the room next door was now occupied. We could hear EVERYTHING! even what they were talking about and this went on all night. My boyfriend complained at reception when he was told there was no other empty rooms and there was not much they could do. It continued to be unbearable and with neither of us getting any sleep still we complained again. We explained that we had to get up at 8am for our journey and needed to sleep. The receptionist spoke to the couple and asked if they could keep noise down however, it was not their fault that the walls are so thin they can’t do what they want in their own room. We were then told we could move to apartments they had in Toledo but at this point it was after 2am and the thought of packing up and getting the car wasn’t an option. At this point my boyfriend made a formal compliant and we were told we could have a free breakfast in the morning and we no longer had to pay for parking (this cost 11euro) In the morning we woke up at 10am later than planned as we knew we couldn’t set an alarm. In the morning we requested to speak with the manager as we felt we should get our money back. The manager explained he had never had any complaints about noise in the past, at this point we asked him to look at trip advisor and read the numerous complaints on noise. After explaining to him our problem we had with the room and if he felt this was how his customers experience should be in his hotel, his reply was that he had stayed in a room overnight and had no issue with the noise, I can only presume the hotel was empty that night! He explained all that could be done was for us to submit a formal complaint but we could not get our money back. To end the horrible experience the breakfast was embarrassing, rotten fruit and some cereal!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fawells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Nice hotel, but extremely noisy, at 8 o' clock room service starts cleaning rooms rudely, people leaving with strong doors closing, you can hear almost everything in this hotel. Breakfast very poor and expensive. Won't come again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarioAlbalat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Spent 1st night in Spain in Toledo ( a great place to start your trip , by the way ) and stayed at the Abad. Lovely front desk staff. they let us check in early - around 11 am. Good location. Great bathroom. Great water pressure. Very clean. Small but comfortable room. One window - fine in April but could imagine it being pretty darn hot in the summer. Would definitely stay again & recommend to others.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.4 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
0.2 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
990 reviews
1.5 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#13 of 44 in Toledo
1,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Toledo
NH Toledo
#6 of 44 in Toledo
808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abad Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abad Toledo

Address: Calle Real del Arrabal 1, 45003 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range: $70 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abad Toledo 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of the walled city of Toledo sits this unique hotel, whose principal structure is a rustic home and an antique blacksmith shop dating back to 1815. The enclave's easy access to all points of Toledo is privileged. Near Zocodover, the city's principal plaza, the Hotel Abad Toledo is surrounded by some of Toledo's most emblematic monuments: the Puerta del Sol, the Mosque of Cristo de la Luz (999 B.C.), the Puerta de Bisagra in addition to amazing views of the lower section of the Tagus River. This charming three-star hotel houses 22 rooms, each one unique. During the restoration of the building, efforts were made to maintain all of its original element, such as hand-hewn wooden ceiling and wall beams and exposed brickwork, while adding a modern concept of design and decoration. The results are both functional and innovative, but always very cozy and inviting. Paying special attention to the guest, this family endeavour has thought of every detail to ensure a comfortable stay: air conditioning, heat, Radio, satellite dish, personal safes and hair dryers. Also a buffet-style breakfast composed of traditional Spanish and more continental fare is offered every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abad Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing