We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant small modern hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casona de la Reyna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casona de la Reyna
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Silves, Portugal
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very pleasant small modern hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife & I recently completed a 12 day 'mini' tour of Spain. Two nights were spent here as we wanted to take a look at Toledo, possibly to spend a longer visit next time we pass through this area as Madrid is a nightmare with a car. For our purpose this hotel was perfect. Quite easy to find and only a 15 minute walk (uphill) to the centre of town and all the tourist attractions, bars and restaurants. We normally use rather older hotels with 'character' and avoid the more modern hotels. This relatively recently built hotel turned out very well, beautifully done room with a nice view straight out over the river and valley. We were very pleased, nice hotel though with limited facilities. Very clean, excellent service from very helpful staff and a comfortable room. The only complaint might be that the bathroom was very small which could be a problem for some people. We very much liked Toledo itself, we walked round much of it and have every intention of visiting again, in which case it is highly likely that we will use this hotel again. This is the first time we have used a Sercotel, if this one is an indication we will have no hesitation in choosing the group again.

Room Tip: Limited experience, but our room at the front had a lovely view over the river valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    262
    70
    9
    4
See reviews for
110
300
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ipoh
Level Contributor
134 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Casona de la Reyna is located at a quiet part of town facing the river. It is not far from the historic quarters of the city and the hotel itself has free parking outside the hotel which is limited or a secure garage within the hotel itself.

The triple room is quite spacious with a huge bathroom downstairs. The room decoration itself is quite dated but kept clean enough for a good nights stay. The amenities provided are sufficient for 3 persons and the surrounding of the hotel itself is quiet and tranquil.

A big plus for this hotel was that free wifi was provided and the reception themselves speak fluent english so we have no communication problems.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Parking garage was helpful with the car rental. The hotel is quite a ways away from sights and restaurants so be prepared to walk a fair distance to everything. The room was clean and neat and wi fi worked sufficiently. We had booked a triple room for two nights as our student son joined us at 2AM in the morning on the day our our check out. He sat down to breakfast with us 6 hours later, and we were told he had to pay 9 euros for breakfast. Apparently our room was for 2 adults and one child under 12. Better customer service would have been to let him eat for free. We paid for a triple for two nights, the "child" did not eat or sleep in the room the first night and our son only spent 6 hours in the room the second night. The breakfast was not worthy of the 9 euros that we paid. Overall the staff at the front desk and breakfast area could have been generally more friendly and less accusing. Be sure to double check your reservation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baileythedog5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were on a road trip through Andalucia and decided to make Toledo our first stop after getting off an overnight flight from the U.S. Made the mistake of renting a car through AutoEurope and unless you enjoy reading fine print I would advise staying away from them. their rates only look cheap on the surface.

We wanted something that was close to the sights of Toledo without having to drive through its narrow streets, that had public transport to get us into the heart of the city and had access to easy parking.. On that score Reyna was perfect. It is relatively easy to find and was the perfect jump off point for our onward trip to Granada since it didn't really require us to fight traffic to get out of the city. There is a bus every 20 minutes (I believe) that starts right outside the front door of the hotel and will take you right into the heart of Toledo. The hotel has underground parking although we didn't need to use it since we found street parking right outside the hotel and were able to save ourselves the hotel parking charges.


The hotel is simple, the rooms are clean and the breakfast which was included in the room charge was good. WiFi is available in the area around the front desk but spotty in the upstairs rooms. The hotel has one major drawback - there is no place near it to eat that doesn't require a climb back up the hill to the center of Toledo. The climb back up the hill is very steep albeit short.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the hotel have nice views of the river- although they might be a little b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stayton, Oregon
Level Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. We especially want to thank the front desk staff, especially David, who was professional and extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were adequate. The rooms were clean and fairly well appointed. Free internet service was also available.

There are somedrawbacks. One is the location. It if quite a walk up the hill to the town if you are not fit. Driving into Toledo itself is out of the question because of the narrowness of the streets and the near absence of public parking. Bus # 12 stops right across the street and will take you downtown, or should I say uptown.
The underground parking garage is something you will want to avoid unless you have an extremely small vehicle and you are not claustrophobic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schersand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had good value,as we had paid well in advance and got a big discount.However,there were several disappointments.
The bed room was rather dreary as were the public rooms,while the reception desk was less friendly than we found elsewhere.Worst,however was breakfast which was a shambles-there are 25 rooms in the hotel and 8 tables in the breakfast room.People were having to sit outside and wait 10 minutes or more to get a seat-there was one overworked waitress trying to re-lay the tables.
She had no tray,and had to keep going back to the kitchen to collect a few more items,which took ages.The buffet was'nt good either and things kept running out,which she also had to deal with..Not good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pensioner309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. The rate was perfect for our budget. We especially love the charm and character of the hotel. The room was spacious and so was the bathroom. It was only a 10 minutes taxi ride from the train station and the cost was 6 euro. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located just outside of the main square but we didn't mind the walk thru the charming cobblestone streets. Also, Toledo is a small town so it wasn't a long walk, maybe 15 minutes if you don't get lost in the many narrow streets of Toledo which was kind of fun because we kept discovering new places to eat or see. We had the morning breakfast on the last day and felt it was worth it - lots of pastries and fruit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.8 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#2 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pintor El Greco Sercotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 stars 796 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
1.0 mi away
Hesperia Toledo
Hesperia Toledo
#6 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 stars 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casona de la Reyna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casona de la Reyna

Property: Casona de la Reyna
Address: Bajada San Sebastian 26, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casona de la Reyna 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Casona de la Reyna Hotelis a charming and welcoming hotel located in the Ronda de Toledo, next to the Castilla-La Mancha Parliament and very close to the historic city centre. It is less than a five minute walk from the Jewish Quarter, the convent of the Barefoot Franciscans of San Gil, the home of El Greco and the Toledo Cathedral.The Casona de la Reyna Hotel, our hotel in downtown Toledo, you will find 25 comfortable rooms, all outward-facing and equipped with free WiFi internet and private parking, ideal for a romantic getaway to Toledo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Casona de la Reyna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona De La Reyna Toledo
Casona De La Reyna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing