We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I might skip this”

Alcazar - Museo del Ejercito
Book In Advance
More Info
$66.29*
and up
Toledo Segway Tour
Ranked #18 of 110 things to do in Toledo
Attraction details
Wallingford, CT
Level Contributor
366 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“I might skip this”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was a little disappointed with this. We wanted to visit the Alcazar and at first I thought we were in the wrong place as this looked like a museum. They have built a museum around the remains of the Alcazar so there is very little of the Alcazar left that you can actually see. The museum is filled with artifacts, military uniforms and the like. I guess this just isn't what I expected. Also, if you choose to buy a nice little pocket knife as a momento of Toledo if my husband did--you will need to forfeit it at the metal detector. They will give it back however.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 712christineg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    404
    235
    101
    79
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Qld
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't bother unless you are Spanish”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Toledo is a wonderful city - old buildings and streets and the Cathedral de Toledo was fabulous but the Alcazar was very disappointing. We paid the 8€ and then 4€ more for the audiguide. The numbers for the audiguide were miniscule and easily missed. The many floors are a never ending labiryth of same/same displays. There is no floor plan given or displayed and many of the displays are in Spanish. There are a lot of artifacts, to be fair, but they are very repetitious. The maze of displays makes the history disjointed and hard to follow for those not intimate with Spanish history. In the end we gave up rather than continue with the other floor (not sure we would have found it anyway).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LesleyGoldCoastQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No obvious route, unhelpful staff.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Despite the fact that the museum was only completed in 2010, it is very poorly signposted from the beginning - you are constantly wondering whether you are walking in the correct direction. The audio guide was not worth the cost (€4 or €3 when bought together with the entrance ticket) and the staff didn't explain how to use it or when to turn it on. The museum is best suited to those who already know quite a lot about Spanish history or who are hardcore military enthusiasts as we felt there was a lack of context/explanation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank italianforbeginners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valle de Bravo, Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty bad :(”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

There is practically 0 information about the alcazar during the civil war, which is one of the most important episodes in the history of the building WHICH HOUSES THE MUSEUM!

The museography is horrible, it has no chronological order (it's a history museum)

You can't see anything of the alcazar because everything is covered by false walls...

I was actually expecting a bit more

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fmanzaneque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytilene, Greece
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We went there last year, a daily excursion from Madrid.
In the beginning my wife and daughter didn't want to go in the museum at all... you know, women...
In the end, I was trying to pull them out!!!
The museum had the whole militaty history of Spain, huge statue - armored warriors and the best thing of all, there were rooms with video narration and interactive activity..
I would like to be there again..and again....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank marioskotz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcazar - Museo del Ejercito also viewed

Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to Alcazar - Museo del Ejercito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing