We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to my expectations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alcazar - Biblioteca de Castilla-La Mancha

Alcazar - Biblioteca de Castilla-La Mancha
Ranked #21 of 110 things to do in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
long island
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not up to my expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We made an extra effort to view this museum, but I was very disappointed. Rick Steves gave it 3 stars but did mention that it curiously lacks any coverage of the Spanish civil war. I am far from a military expert, but I have thoroughly enjoyed Gettysburg, London' s Imperial War Museum, and the Normandy beach tours, but this site did not capture any of the historic feeling for me.
We spent 3 days in Toledo and enjoyed many attractions, so if your time is short I would look elsewhere.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gil014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    177
    83
    17
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A must do for military buffs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The site has been lovingly reconstructed. The shell pitted room of the garrison commander gives you a real sense of the horror of the siege. The marriage of multiple period remains is well presented. If you enjoy the detail be prepared to spend the day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ralph w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Impressive and great to See”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We ere happy to make this visit as the other time we had visited Toledo the Alcazar was in renovations.
It is spectacular to see the quality of the renovation and the great work out in to accommodate the Bibliotheca. This is great to preserve and allow the public to see collections of the past. No, not everything can be appreciated through the Internet. Happy to have seen in person.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boubou60_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood Pierce County, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Confusing floor plan and boring”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Even my husband, who loves military history, eventually got bored and wanted to leave. The floor plan is extremely confusing. The museum completely skips over their 3 year civil war, which destroyed the original building. I enjoyed the armor room and that was about it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ramblingnowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
2,558 reviews
2,149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,910 helpful votes
“Stunning on the outside, not that much from the inside.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This fortified palace looks absolutely stunning from a distance.
The rectangular building is simply massive and impressive.
Standing next to it makes one realize just how huge it is.
But, upon entering it, you're in for a little disappointment.
Well, there's the famous library, of course (not that impressive, alas), and in order to get a good view of Toledo, you have to go to the top floor and peep through the windows of a tiny café.
While the views are wonderful, this somehow seems a bit unfitting for such a fortress.
Still, it's free and you can easily spend 15 minutes there, upon the beginning of your trip to Toledo.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alcazar - Biblioteca de Castilla-La Mancha also viewed

Toledo, Province of Toledo
 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to Alcazar - Biblioteca de Castilla-La Mancha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing