We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda del Cardenal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda del Cardenal
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is located right outside the walls of Toledo. Unlike our usual stays at modern hotels, this place looks like it could be part of the wall itself. Since it is a historic building, it creates an atmosphere that Makesyou feel like your still experiencing Toledo long after you've finished the tour. My wife got food poisoning in Madrid and we arrived here, the staff was very concerned and helpful. They told us where the local hospital was located and even checked up on us and brought up some tea. I would definitely stay here again next time I am passing through!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dcampos01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    172
    62
    16
    11
See reviews for
86
249
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed there for a couple of nights in July and it was fantastic. The location, the "ambiance", the grounds and the service were very very good. Happy we stayed there and can't wait to go back!!! We walked to our hotel from the train station, easy to do, great views and a good introduction for what's next!! It's like traveling back in time, Toledo was everything I expect it would be, the stay at this hotel was a big part of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elsa22154992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Gorgeous hotel settled in a historic building next to the famous Bisagra Gate. The gardens are beautiful and it is a true oasis of peace and quiet. Angelica, one of the receptionists, was very nice, friendly and helpful, very professional.
Cons: the male receptionist was dry and unpleasant and not very helpful. The internet connection failed multiple times. There are long set of stairs to reach the hotel. It was not an issue for us but it could be for someone carrying a lot of luggage or someone with a physical impediment. The reception desk is a one person operation so there is no help available for your luggage. The breakfast was overpriced and lousy. We went to town and had breakfast in the many bars and restaurants around.
Overall: we loved the hotel, the settings, the beautifully decorated interior and we'd recommend it to anyone visiting Toledo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palomonski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have visited the beautiful city of Toledo several times, but this was the first time we stayed over a weekend. We had a wonderful stay here and I can only recommend it. If you are thrilled by a historical setting and can accept that a property of this vintage is bound to reveal a few frayed edges, you will find this hotel completely charming.
Entering the gate into the walled garden should immediately spark your imagination about how splendid this residence must have been. Spend a few minutes there and you will discover huge trees of fragrant bay leaves, others loaded with figs and clusters of grapes draped over the walls and terraces. We had dinner in the garden on a warm summer evening and the food and wine were very enjoyable. After dinner, we were given a voucher for two free drinks in the bar on the other side of the garden.
The service in both the hotel and the restaurant was friendly and helpful (and in English!). The room was clean and comfortable. It was small, but why stay in the room when you can be out in the city or in the garden? For the first time ever, my room was exactly as it was pictured on their website - very romantic with painted furniture and a window that looked into a small inner courtyard with a fountain.
The breakfast was typical for Spain and more than adequate: sweet rolls, fresh bread, tomato and olive oil, cold meat, cheese, yogurt and cereal, fresh fruit and juices plus tortilla de patata.
For the price, everything about this hotel from the location to the enchanting historical atmosphere is really good value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 109 and found it to be very good....quiet, lovely decoration, big closet, comfy be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

There are a lot of steps to get to the hotel, but it is not that big of a deal and it is worth it. The courtyard area is spectacular, and the room was comfortable. It is in a great location for exploring Toledo. The free public escalators are right nearby and that is a good short cut into the old town. Parking was a bit confusing, so we ended up parking in a nearby underground garage and it wasn't too pricey. This is a beautiful property in a perfect spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyadventurer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very nice hotel but the one unnecessary thing was the way they handled prices. We phoned and were quoted 77Euros and then a special parking deal of 14Euros per day. On arrival they wrote it down. On departure these pices excluded VAT. Why do it this way? VAT is a large chunk of the price and the only price the tourist wants to know is the price to be paid which was the case with all other places we stayed: the quoted price included VAT. Good location, parking difficult, would stay there again but would be wise to this little trick. For this alone we give a low rating just to focus on this aspect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is the first hotel we stayed at in our one week trip to Spain (we stayed at five different hotels). I have to say that we loved the location right on the edge of old town. We arrived on the weekend so the parking in front of the hotel (although a public parking) was free during our stay. There are a lot of steps between the gate of the hotel and the reception - however there is somewhat of a ramp that you can use for wheeled luggage. Fortunate for us (although not for the bulls) as we drove in to Toledo we saw that there was a special "corrida the toros" that day. We dropped our luggage and headed for the plaza de toros to have my husband experience this part of the Spanish culture. I have no complaints about the staff as they were all very helpful and graceful. The hotel itself and the gardens were beautiful and they help transport you to a different time. However, we were not as impressed by the room since the bathroom had peeling paint and a resident spider. Also, the wifi did not make it to our room. However, I would not mind staying here again - I don't think you can beat the location or the "atmosphere" at this price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.4 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pintor El Greco Sercotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.9 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#2 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#3 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Cardenal

Property: Hacienda del Cardenal
Address: Paseo Recaredo 24, 45004 Toledo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda del Cardenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda del Cardenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Del Cardenal Toledo
Hostal Del Cardenal Hotel Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing