We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Charming and well positioned” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda del Cardenal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda del Cardenal
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming and well positioned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its accessibility (just outside the old walls, and at the foot of the escalator leading to the old centre); and because of its character. It scores ten out of ten on both those points. The rooms were well appointed and with plenty of character, and we loved the “old palace” feel of the hotel. Yes, as others have written, there is a courtyard to cross and stairs to climb before arriving although there is a ramp at the right of the arch, we managed with large suitcases. Where this hotel falls down is with the service. We sent three emails asking if they had availability, if we should book instead through Best Western online, about parking options – no reply to any. On arrival and departure the reception desk staff would best be described as disinterested. The waiter at breakfast watched the football on TV while we were at brekfast rather than serving us. It was quite comical how poor it was. So if you can ignore the service as we did, stay for position and character - and it was good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austraveller1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    152
    58
    13
    8
See reviews for
78
214
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aubonne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Hacienda (or Hostal) del Cardenal in the Best Western chain is an elegant but inexpensive 3-star hotel on the ring road around the historic old city, near the main city gate and literally just at the bottom of the 4-stage escalator that carries pedestrians up into the old city. It was originally an 18th century pavilion built by the famous Cardinal Lorenzana, built right into the city walls, but it has been thoroughly renovated and is very charming. Within the main gate, in addition to the large three-story hotel, there is an upscale restaurant specializing in suckling pig and other specialties from the region and a charming little taverna, both open to the grand public as well as to guests. The breakfast is ample and served in a very beautiful room. We were frankly astonished that the cost of the room (in November) was as low as it was, though the restaurant was a bit pricier.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitka, Alaska
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Many have complained about the stairs getting up to reception. Yes there are plenty of them but the schlep is worth every huff and puff. I am 62 and with heavy luggage, taking my time, I made it just fine.

The rooms were well appointed, large (bay European standards), the breakfast was plentiful and the building lovely all with a very helpful and friendly staff.

I could not imagine staying anywhere else when I return to Toledo.

Room Tip: We chose a standard double and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaskanSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had an excellent deal at this hotel since our suite was free because of a summer promotion Best Western ran in 2012. After a week of nice but bare bones hotels in Grenada and Cordoba, the luxury of the Cardenal was much appreciated -- especially the comfy bed and extra pillows. Too bad it was January as we had a private balcony. Still, we made use of it with a bottle of wine we brought with us. Lovely grounds. We didn't eat at the restaurant. The escalators to the city center are just around the corner. Parking is available at the city underground garage nearby and the hotel provides a discount,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

While the grounds and edifice were very nice, there was much left to be desired at the hotel. I'm never turned off by bad service in a restaurant, but when I am sleeping somewhere and paying a handsome sum to do so, the service should be at the very least, attentive. During our 2 night stay all of the front desk men where not only non-attentive, but rather crass and unwelcoming. I don't need someone to lay out a red carpet, but would it hurt to smile and be nice? PS While the inside of the room was well appointed and lavish, the claustrophobic view from the window was a wall and you can hear every sound from the next room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachvsMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I had an excellent stay at Hotel del Cardenal. My room was ready upon arrival in the late morning. The free wifi worked great and the bathroom was nice. The food at the restaurant was excellent and I received a discount on my meal since I was staying at the hotel. The only problem I had was that the lock mechanism in the door broke, so I had to wait about an hour for maintenance to fix the problem (The key would go in the door, but it would not unlatch the lock). Other than that, it was a great accommodation and it was nice to stay at a historic property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mzyjewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

WE had a really delicious meal here. My husband is mad about lamb and said it was the best ever. My steak was just perfect, and the cream/nutty desert was perfection.
It is in a lovely setting, I wish we had paid the extra and stayed here rather than in Santa Isabel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneGledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.4 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pintor El Greco Sercotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Parador de Toledo
Parador de Toledo
#3 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#2 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Cardenal

Property: Hacienda del Cardenal
Address: Paseo Recaredo 24, 45004 Toledo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda del Cardenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hacienda del Cardenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Del Cardenal Toledo
Hostal Del Cardenal Hotel Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing