We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda del Cardenal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda del Cardenal to your Saves list
Hacienda del Cardenal
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Recaredo 24, 45004 Toledo, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

WE had a really delicious meal here. My husband is mad about lamb and said it was the best ever. My steak was just perfect, and the cream/nutty desert was perfection.
It is in a lovely setting, I wish we had paid the extra and stayed here rather than in Santa Isabel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneGledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is in a grand old building in a great location but looks a little unloved inside. The staff are not very friendly and offer the minim of service. The breakfast is just OK. The rooms have little noise insulation from adjoining or overhead rooms. It offered nothing more than a budget priced hotel and I have stayed a better.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel was a great find. We found a great deal online - two suites for 3 nights for the price of 2 nights. They only have 2 suites in the hotel. The rooms were huge, had a small sitting area off the bedroom and a large outside deck. The hotel is an old palace and is really lovely. Breakfast was good. We didn't eat at the restaurant attached to the hotel because there are so many great restaurants in Toledo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 154913Happytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Arriving on a hot afternoon it was wonderful to step through the old walls into the calm oasis of the gardens in front of the hotel. We knew there was a steep flight of steps to tackle and with a dodgy knee they were tricky, but my husband carried the cases and we managed fine.

Our room was traditionally decorated, very spacious and probably had the most comfortable bed of our whole tour.The bathroom had everything that you needed but it was quite small.The corridors of the hotel had antiques and interesting objects throughout and we liked the fact that it felt like you were staying in a bishops summer palace rather than a hotel chain.

We had booked a bed only deal and this was fine being located so close to the city walls. Whilst the tourist escalators are very close to the hotel we actually preferred the walk through the nearby Bisagra gate and up the hill, if you weren't in a hurry this was a more pleasant way into the city and brought you directly to the main square. However one night we decided to order a taxi for the journey and it arrived within minutes and wizzed us up into town for less that 4 euros - a bargain.

The hotel was let down in two ways as the outdoor space lacked attention to detail and some of the front desk staff acted as if you were a nuisance rather than a guest! The outdoor space proved to be underutilised by guests and was a little unloved, tidying away glasses and straightening chairs every day could have made such a difference.

As for the older chap on reception, he was miserable, never smiled and was incredibly unhelpful.
When we asked to buy a large bottle of mineral water (as advertised in the room guide) I swear he harrumphed so much that he nearly blew all of the papers off the counter and when we tried to establish how the preferrential car parking worked with the nearby public car park he said crossly "Why didn't you tell me yesterday that you wanted this, now you have caused me a problem" to which we replied "Why didn't you ask if we required it? - we've never been here before and didn't know that you needed to know in advance"
Mr Stroppy's behaviour got worse and worse - Best Western if you're reading this Luis needs to go on a customer service course....pronto, before he drives all of your clients away!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raine75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I ditto all the good things said about this hotel. When you walked thru the portal and saw the gardens, terraces and patios in front of you, you wondered if you were in the correct place. Through the gardens and up the stone stairs you can see that this was once an opulent residence at one time and now a lovely tourist residence. Nice rooms, nice staff. The ambience was a perfect match for being in one of the most interesting cities of Spain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuddy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

On arriving I thought I was in the wrong place. This place is by far the poshest ‘best western’ I have ever seen. It has a lovely tired courtyard with lots of great features on them leading you to this grand hotel thank makes you think you have stepped back in time. The rooms are large and full of wonderful bits of art. The only downside is the staff are maybe a bit too ‘laid back’. The restaurant looked great and quite formal. In all a great place to come and have a bit of luxury at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitby_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We are sitting in a lovely room in the hotel, awaiting a bus to the train. The property is magnificent, previously the residence of a cardinal and now within the Best Western chain. This is not the American Best Western! The rooms are large, the restaurant is lovely (albeit expensive) and the public patio and rooms are a comfortable escape. My only complaint is the frigid greeting from the entire staff, except for a bartender eager to learn how to make a martini. Was it because we were a tour group of Americans? Who knows. I only know that throughout the rest of Toledo we met warm and friendly people and here we did not - and that is the reason for a four instead of a five. AND WARNING: Nothing about this hotel is handicap accessible!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor. The climb up to the hotel is overwhelming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grams69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.4 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pintor El Greco Sercotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AC Hotel Ciudad de Toledo by Marriott
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#4 of 45 in Toledo
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hesperia Toledo
Hesperia Toledo
#7 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda del Cardenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda del Cardenal

Address: Paseo de Recaredo 24, 45004 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda del Cardenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda del Cardenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Del Cardenal Toledo
Hostal Del Cardenal Hotel Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing