We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly hotel”
Review of Hotel Martin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Martin
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed just one night here and enjoyed our stay. The staff at reception were very friendly and spoke good English, recommending some good places to eat, which we tried. We were also given a map and directions, suggestions of where to go - most helpful.
We arrived by train and one could get a bus, but we elected to walk. While we had an idea where the hotel was from the map, it took us a few minutes to find it - later we saw a big sign which we had missed.
We had room 309, very clean and a great breakfast with local delicacies to try - quite a large buffet as we had thought it just might be Continental breakfast.
The hotel is only a short walk from all the interesting places to visit in Toledo.

Room Tip: We had room 309 on the second floor and had no problems.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margo37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Martin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 103 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for New Years, it is a small, family run hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff, all of them spoke English. The room was cozy, good beds, nice bathroom. There is no problem parking on the street, there are parking meters and it's free on the weekends. The hotel is about 10-15 min walk to the center. Free WI-FI in the common area. The breakfast is very simple continental, just like in most Spanish hotels. We had it the first morning and skipped it the second

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sroubek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Three of us stayed in one of the apartments at Hotel Martin and had a very pleasant experience. There were two single beds and a couch that pulled out into a bed. All were reasonably comfortable. The apartment did show some signs of wear and tear, but nothing that was made for an inconvenience or was severe enough to negatively impact our stay. The hotels are located in a building separate from the main hotel and (for what it's worth) are not handicapped accessible. The hotel staff was friendly and spoke sufficient English for conversation (none of us spoke Spanish). Breakfast is not cheap, but there is a good selection of meats, cheeses, and bread. We only chose breakfast on our last day as we had to hurry off to the airport. Overall a good stay.

Hotel is at the bottom of a hill and is located outside of the city walls (which has it's pluses and minuses). Overall, a VERY good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayDubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Last year we visited Toledo on the way home by car from Andalucia. It is an astounding city for architecture, culture & history. At random we booked Hotel Martin and were not disappointed. The service and the friendliness we had from the young woman at reception was extremely helpful.
In the afternoon of Thursday 6th September 2012 we arrived again to use it as an overnight stop on our way down to Andalucia. The standard of service and helpfulness had been maintained very well. Getting us a taxi was no problem and advice on eating and visiting when we return for 3 nights towards the end of this month was freely available. We came away with details written on a map by the reception clerk. The staff providing breakfast were their usual welcoming selves and we went on our way suitably refreshed for our journey south. We thoroughly recommend this hotel as value for money.

Room Tip: Approach them in a friendly way and they will do their best to give a good room. We had to add a t...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Barely a 5 minute brisk walk from the Bisagra Gate entry into the Old City, the Hotel Martin offers a moderately-priced/quiet refuge while visiting this impressive UNESCO World Heritage-listed city.
The train station is an easy 10-15 minute walk away.....making it a practical option for arrival and departure, as well. Service was efficient and hospitable. General condition and cleanliness was practically top notch. Breakfast looked good, but, as usual, we opted for early starts and "fending for food" around town. Wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Martin again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VagaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The staff and owner of this hotel are obnoxious and unprofessional.

What started out at check in as a disagreement over a parking charge (that had not been made clear at the time of booking) led us into a catalog of unprofessional responses to questions. Being effectively given 'the run around' over where and how to park, being asked twice to move a locked and secured vehicle despite having been watched parking and a totally unwelcoming attitude from both reception and the owner.

In a combined thirty plus years of extended business and leisure travel we have NEVER felt the need to walk out of a hotel before even completing check in. Especially since we have now got a dispute over a no show charge!

The description of hotel location whilst technically accurate conveniently ignores a number of very important points also.

1, there is limited if any sensible street parking locally. What there is, amounts to short term paid 'ticket' parking.

2. the owners garage is their 'private car park' and is barely capable of holding three cars.

3. the hotel is located in what can only be described as a run down residential area, at the base of a VERY steep hill that must be negotiated in order to access Toledo old city some 15 mins walk away.

This hotel is not cheap for the locality and there are far better located, professional and welcoming hotels nearby, all with decent if limited access and parking.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Hotel Martin is simply but tastefully decorated. Our room, though small, was clean, airy and light--white bedspreads, white tile floors, white stucco walls and rich pine woodwork. The flat-screen tv had three English channels. There was a bathtub. The desk clerk was charming and knowledgeable and recommended a convenient restaurant for our dinner, one we would not have found without her help. The hotel is a bit off the beaten track, but for us, that was a plus. It was quiet and uncrowded.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picklesMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sol
Hotel Sol
#15 of 44 in Toledo
206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Toledo
Hostal Toledo
#29 of 44 in Toledo
166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casona de la Reyna
Casona de la Reyna
#8 of 44 in Toledo
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
El Hostal Puerta Bisagra
0.3 mi away
Hotel Domus Plaza Zocodover
0.6 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#14 of 44 in Toledo
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Martin

Address: Calle Espino 6, 45003 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range: $54 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Martin 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin Hotel Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing