We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“neat and clean, good location”
Review of Hotel Santa Isabel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Isabel
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2007

We flew into Madrid and hired a car, luckily had navman with us as all roads said Madrid or Cordoba. No mention of Toledo til we were a long way out, then many roads indicated they were to Toledo, we took about the 6th and parked outside the Alcazar for a quick look about before driving to the hotel. Yes we drove! Wing mirrors tucked in and followed the signs for hotel santa isabel - easy! We didn't need the car the rest of the week though. Trained it to Madrid - fab, cool, on time and cheap. Madrid was gorgeous.
Although hotel was lovely, well placed and in a quiet location, the walls were a little thin. For example a young lady from the USA expressed her boyfriends name sweetly and clearly several times in the early hours. We heard every zip and plastic bag fold for two hours whilst a couple packed - at 4 in the morning.
Our room (number 114) was very small and lightling was very subdued. We wondered why we were put in this room when we were the only people staying all week. (you do not need to stay a week in Toledo) Despite the photos posted on the web, we did not have a view. One of the day staff was helpful, two were rude and did their best to ignore us, but the night staff were chatty.
Breakfast was apparently at the hotel but we never found it and couldn't smell the coffee so we ate toast and took coffee in a selection of cafe's out in the morning sun which was very nice. Zocodover plaza is the most expensive place to sit and drink and there are many more plazas to sit and watch the world go by.
The windmills of Consuegra are just over an hours drive away on open and clear motorway - look out for the unmarked police speed trap car. We qualified for a 30% discount on our fine but could have spent the 100 euro on other things.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AJnNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,088)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Santa Isabel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 1,088 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2007

We stayed in a triple and found this very comfortable. The location was very close to the cathedral. We had a view of the cathedral which we requested at booking. Comfortable beds and large bathroom. Looks like they recently remodeled. The only thing I would reccomend is to bring a brighter lightbulb if you want to read in the room. Also bring a compass to get around the streets. It is impossible to find your way. We had walking tours from a website and continually got lost. Allow extra time for this. The hosts were friendly. A mini mart store was a block from the place where you could load up on 1.5 l bottes. We never did find the grocery store. Looked the whole time we were there. You can walk to zocodover square from the hotel but need to take a taxi from the bus/train station. Too many cobblestones to pull a suitcase over.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ackart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

I booked our room eight months in advance requesting a balcony room as recommended through other trip advisor reviews. What an absolutely fantastic find this was! My wife and I were here for two days (June 2 & 3) following a Baltic cruise. All in all, Toledo was our favorite stay. We had room 214...it has two balconies, one fantastic view of the Cathedral as we lay on the bed. The sounds from the cobblestone lane below was beyond belief as the celebration of Corpus Cristi was just beginning.

Any one planning a trip to Toledo will be richly rewarded with a couple nights in this very nice and charming hotel. The magic of the town is to see how lost you can get and still find your way back to the hotel. Do yourself a favor and walk and walk and walk. After dark, flood lights light up the majestic buildings, they are stunning. Make sure you go up the spiral staircase to the roof top....day time and at night.

I will vouch for the photos displayed in other reviews...they are the same as mine and they are accurate. Again, staying at the Hotel Santa Isabel will be a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank herfav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2007

We stayed in May of 2007 for 2 nights, definitely would stay again, looked out our window to great view of the cathedral, and the rooftop deck was a good place to watch out from. All positive and would recommend it to anyone. Definitely take the taxi if you have bags. They also recommended a fine restaurant for dinner.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank h2ofall2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

I would agree with all the positive comments for this hotel & I'm so glad I found tripadvisor.com to read real reviews before booking. This hotel was more than I expected - charm of old, but modernly upkept. The rooms were good size, we had a double (2 twins pushed together). The elevator may be one of the most modern I've seen! Everything was very clean. We didn't try breakfast - after reading all the reviews. For most of Spain we tended to venture out to cafes on our own for breakfast - having cafes con leche or solo & tortilla (trad'l omelette with potato & onion) for just a few euros.
The streets are narrow & when we arrived, the front desk staff advised us to park beside the hotel, as the street to the left of the entrance is for pedestrian use only, thus saving us the $for the garage that we were prepared to pay.

tip -for tapas, we tried a few places just outside the city wall (past McD's) & found that all drinks came with the trad'l 'free tapa' - small, but tasty & good to see how tapas were intended, as most of our visit was in the larger cities that don't really offer 'free'.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimnSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during our trip around Spain. I had asked for a room with a Balcony overlooking the Cathedral. this is what we got and the view was great. Our friends got a room with a balcony overlooking the narrow streets and that one was also really good. The rooms are perfect, the hotel is very clean,rooms have wood floors, showers are small (not a big deal). Make sure you ask for a room with a view, (balcony if possible), located in the newer building and on an upper floor. If you get the first floor you are pretty much sleeping under the street level. The hotel is in a perfect location, right in the middle of the historic area, on the corner of a lovely narrow street, walking distance to all the attractions, very safe area. We used their parking facilities for an extra 10 euros (parking is not easy to find here so it was a plus). Their breakfast was overpriced (6 euros) for coffee, juice and a toast. We found this issue all around Spain. Try to find something better around town. I would definitelly recommend this hotel. All of us loved the Santa Isabel !!!! Would stay there again anytime. Reserve early because their price, location and quality is hard to find anywhere else.
Make sure you eat tapas at "La Abadia" great food and packed with locals.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uribes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

We stayed at this hotel during Holy Week in April 2007, when rooms were very hard to come by. My husband and I had a double (with twin beds, alas) and my father a single, neither with any view at all. But the price was good, the rooms were spotlessly clean, and the location is gorgeous.

The service was generally very pleasant, although I have to agree the breakfast as overpriced. (We found this throughout Spain.) I forgot an iPod and expensive headphones in the hotel, and the receptionist very efficiently had them sent back home for me.

If you stay here, do yourself a favor and ask for directions to the rooftop terrace. The view is outstanding, but it seemed we were the only ones to bother going up there.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jafrogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.2 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
0.2 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
969 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
0.8 mi away
NH Toledo
NH Toledo
#6 of 44 in Toledo
796 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#13 of 44 in Toledo
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Isabel

Address: Calle Santa Isabel 24, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Toledo
#2 Family Hotel in Toledo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
Price Range: $48 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Isabel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Santa Isabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Isabel Hotel
Santa Isabel Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing