We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Parador de Toledo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Toledo
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stunning views with a wonderful patio to dine on and enjoy beautiful Toledo. Family oriented and quiet. You'll need to take taxis to town but we like staying up on the hill. Breakfast very food and we had a nice dinner too. The pool is very big and that was a plus. Liked the room and the small deck also had the great view.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,432)
There are newer reviews for Parador de Toledo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

316 - 322 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have been intermittent visitors to Paradors over the years and it's an interesting question whether they have moved with the times in terms of service dynamism and facilities. There is a suspicion they live on their fantastic buildings and locations. Whatever else you might say about the Toledo Parador its location is incomparable and the building fits it appropriately. The hotel sits high above the loop in the Tagus which circles around the old city of Toledo. From the hotel you have a theatrical panorama which takes in the whole city with its key buildings, the Alcazar and Cathedral dominating. So perfect is the view that the hotel has a steady stream of casual visitors who sit with a drink on the terrace and a camera in hand with the view in front of them. Indeed when we arrived late on a Saturday afternoon there were so many people there that the substantial car park was completely full.

However although we enjoyed the location we were staying in the hotel and therefore took a view about service and facilities. Our very generously proportioned room with its sizeable and well equipped bathroom overlooked the quite large swimming pool and its grass surrounds with half the city obliquely visible in the background. We were at one end of building so I guess there would be some rooms with a more direct and panoramic view of the city but ours was good enough, helped by the existence of a balcony complete with chairs and table. The accommodation areas in the hotel are quiet and discreet and with a decent bed we slept well.

The public areas other than the terrace which was busy had a slightly impersonal quality which was encouraged by the slightly low key presence of staff. The whole place lacked the vibrancy you find in many modern hotels; there was a stately and perhaps old style quality about the place. That said the staff were helpful when needed and I certainly wouldn't suggest we had an unsatisfactory experience. The buffet breakfast was generous and of a decent quality.

Although the location is visually stunning access to the city isn't straightforward. A car is desirable and there is accessible but quite expensive underground parking in Toledo. Otherwise it's a long walk or a taxi. The same applies if you want to eat in a restaurant. There are some local ones but most are in the old city.

Prices were about what you would expect for a Hotel with these amenities and the spectacular location. Toledo is certainly worth a visit and this hotel would certainly contribute something to it.

Room Tip: If you want the best view of the old city you'll probably need to ask for it and pay a premium...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lancashireexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Excelent hotel with a sturing view on the old city of Toledo. Up on the Hill opposite the old town. Its possible to walk downhill to the city center but back uphill a car or taxi is needed. Comfortable rooms some with excelent view. Good service and nice breakfast. Prime asset is the great terrace bar with stunning view

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

As everyone else has said the main reason for staying here is for the superb view of Toledo – the El Greco view. You can see it from the dining/breakfast room and from the bar but a room with a balcony looking over Toledo is the best option.

Apart from that the room was huge, the balcony was lovely, the marble bathroom was luxurious and the big TV had BBC World and CNN.

We found the numerous staff pleasant and helpful.

Given the number of daytrippers up for the view and a meal, parking could be a problem and beware the tiny concrete bollards littering the carpark. We managed to scrape our hire car on one.

Wifi was free and, although supposedly confined to the public areas, we managed to get a fair signal in the room.

Breakfast was OK, though nothing special. We had opted for a relatively good-value half-board deal but found that for the evening meal we were confined to the very limited set menu, which was mostly seafood. All the food on offer was very Spanish – most of the guests were Spanish.

We did see people walking into town but it’s a couple of miles down a steep hill and we used taxis, which was easy enough with the price varying between 7 and 10 euros.

Room Tip: The fourth floor facing Toledo if you can
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank src1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Nice rooms, very friendly derive, nice breakfast buffet, very quiet and relaxed - but what makes it really special is the unbelievable view. Be sure to reserve a room in the old building. Rooms have small balconies where you sit and adore the panorama of the city. Breathtaking!

Children were very welcome and treated in a very friendly way by the staff.

You will need to take a taxi to go down to the city. Taxis are cheap and the reception gets you one quickly at any time of day.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part of the building.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoetzSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I loved this hotel. It ticked every box. Huge rooms, super comfortable beds, beautiful bathroom, a good sized balcony with table and chairs with each room. Unfortunately we booked late and didn't have a terrace view of Toledo, we had to put up with a view of the pool :) The restaurant was excellent for both dinner and breakfast. Staff were very polite and efficient. Their dark, almost clerical, uniforms fit well with the atmosphere of Spain. Be sure to check out the display cabinets of jewellery and mementos for sale in the foyer. They had lovely pieces at a good price.

Mostly though, this is the hotel with the best 'View of Toledo' as in the El Greco masterpiece. I have this painting in my hall and always dreamed of going there. Drinks on the huge Parador terrace made my dream come true. The town is brilliant and an easy taxi ride away. Do yourself a favour and stay that little bit further from town. The view is a once in a lifetime experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valdajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Met with attentive staff and given in depth advice on the old town and what would be closed during our 2 night stay. Our room was like a suite with a 4 poster bed and a lounge area. The large French doors made it more special to take in the magic view. It was a cab ride to town but only €9 & taxis quick to arrive and easy to find ranks in town. Had a lovely tapas on the balcony, in the warm sun. The restaurant staff were attentive enough, but the cuisine was disappointing. Overall, I would stay here again as I don't fancy climbing the hills like the endless tourists on buses to take in the spectacular views of Toledo.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
2.2 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.5 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#4 of 44 in Toledo
1,088 reviews
0.6 mi away
Carlos V Hotel
Carlos V Hotel
#7 of 44 in Toledo
969 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#13 of 44 in Toledo
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Toledo

Address: Plaza Cerro de Las Melojas s/n, 45002 Toledo, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Toledo
#2 Business Hotel in Toledo
#3 Family Hotel in Toledo
Price Range: $118 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Toledo 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Parador de Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Toledo Hotel Toledo
Parador De Hotel Toledo
Toledo Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing