We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with no bar - that's a first!”
Review of Carlos V Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carlos V Hotel
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here for two nights recently having spent two also in Madrid. Hotel in good location as are most hotels in Toledo as it is a small place. We were looking for the bar on the second night but were told there's only a rooftop bar in Summer. Nothing in Winter. Have never stayed in a hotel with no bar. Couldn't even get a cup of coffee if you wanted one. Breakfast very basic so didn't even bother going down on the second morning. Staff not particularly friendly but the room was fine. Nothing really to rave about as it was really a glorified B and B.

Room Tip: High floor
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 186605Jacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (973)
There are newer reviews for Carlos V Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 973 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Clean and quiet. Perfect location with two parking garages nearby.
Breakfast is a nice touch, since not all 3-star hotel during our travel through Spain offered breakfast.
And the view is amazing.
Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Natalia_Kobzareva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a beautiful small hotel with stunning views of the city. We've stayed for one night initially and we loved Toledo, so we changed our itinerary and came back to the same hotel for one more night. We've got different rooms, both with beautiful view of the cathedral. Although it says 3 stars, this hotel is close to a 4 stars. It is very clean throughout, large modern bathrooms and nice rooms. Reception staff is very polite and the roof top terrace is perfect for late nights with superb views of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudetteSouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here one night and have no complaints, I was given a room with a view, very nice roof top terrace. This hotel is close to all the sights. Personally didn't like the breakfast buffet but I like fresh juice for my breakfast and it was just out of a carton.everything else grand.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebepigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel has a great location in the old city of Toledo. From our room on the 4th floor, we had a view of the Alcazar and the Cathedral. We were a short walk to the Plaza Zocodover and close to a variety of other restaurants, shops, and places of interest (however, it did take a few tries to get used to the twisting, turning, narrow streets of Toledo and we did get lost a few times). If possible, I would recommend not driving in Toledo - trains run very frequently from Madrid and it's only about a 6 Euro taxi ride to the hotel. The hotel was incredibly well maintained and clean. I would recommend this hotel to someone staying in Toledo.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed 1 night. Hotel is very close to main plaza, Cathedral and Greco museum. Good restaurants nearby. Nicely decorated. Quiet. Nice view at night from rooftop bar. Breakfast was good. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel CARLOS V is really nice and well run hotel. I like the decor and the services. The restaurant was excellent with fast service and friendly staff. GREAT LOCATION !
If you have a couple days to spend in TOLEDO old city STOP at CARLOS V it is a must !
The roof garden is extremely relaxing and the breakfast was gorgeous.
Also for groups the CARLOS V° is excellent , I'll come back asap Toledo !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLAPEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
0.4 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
0.6 mi away
NH Toledo
NH Toledo
#6 of 44 in Toledo
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#3 of 44 in Toledo
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Juan de los Reyes
1.7 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
1.0 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#13 of 44 in Toledo
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlos V Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlos V Hotel

Address: Plaza Magdalena No 4, 45001 Toledo, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Toledo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Toledo
#9 Family Hotel in Toledo
Price Range: $63 - $484 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlos V Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Mirai, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlos V Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlos v Toledo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing