We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous value, good views but a bit basic and far from the city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cigarral Domenico

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cigarral Domenico to your Saves list
Hotel Cigarral Domenico
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Cerro del Emperador s/n, 45002 Toledo, Spain (Formerly Hotel Kris Domenico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Toledo
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Tremendous value, good views but a bit basic and far from the city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed in the Kris Domenico at Toledo for one night on our drive between Marbella and Bilbao. Our sat nav found it without a problem. We selected this hotel because it seemed to offer good value, which it did and it offered good parking which it has.

Our room was pretty basic but included everything necessary for a stop over. It was clean, good bed, good bathroom and shower.. so all in all we were happy with it.

The breakfast was continental with lots of spanish meats but there was a roller toaster so we were able to get toast and hot croissants. Enough to keep us going.

We also ate in the restaurant on the evening of our arrival and were pleasantly surprised by the quality and size of portions, so this was worth it and good as well.

If you need a place for a stop over this is a good choice but if you wish to visit Toledo I would suggest having a hotel that was much closer to the city as this one is quite far out.

We will be driving back to Marbella later in the summer so we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: You will needs sat nav to find this place, suggest you request a room overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demented999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    127
    87
    37
    22
See reviews for
101
172
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Hotel overlooking Toledo. Picturesque setting. Delicious meals offered in eye-pleasing presentations. Only complaint would be that both mattresses were way too hard. Did't get an enjoyable night's sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ericeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

this hotel is excelent, with a magnificent view over Toledo. The staff was very welcoming. The room was clean and spacious, the dinner at the restaurant was good and tasty. If want to book a room try to ask for the ones facing Toledo, at weekend the city lights are all lite up and the view is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesmanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadiaro, Spain
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

It's difficult for me to fault this hotel - we wanted car parking, breakfast and a comfortable bed. The reception staff greeted and checked us in quickly with a smile and an answer to every question. We requested and got a room with a view of the city on the second floor - large room, giant bed, large bath, minibar, safe - everything you would expect from a 4* hotel. As the hotel is out of town we called a taxi and for 11 euros the four of us went to the city centre - the same charge when we returned after dinner at 11pm. After a good night's sleep we had breakfast at 8am for 7 euros which included cereals, fresh fruit, cooked eggs, fruit juice, coffee etc. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivyholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed this hotel! Such a nice surprise after leaving the chaos of Madrid. We drove into the city which there are 2-3 easy parking garages right upon entry to the city. Our room was extremely quiet as I think maybe a low season. Friendly staff. Quaint bar/ breakfast room. Fantastic views. I especially liked the small gatitos that welcomed us at the door.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank natnordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We got a really good deal for bed and breakfast at this hotel, we weren't totally unhappy with our stay, there were good and bad points, here are the main ones:

The hotel is set in a beautiful area, overlooking the city. You need to take a bus (€1.40 single journey per person) or taxi (around 8 euro single trip) across to the centre, particularly at night, as it is in a hilly area, so walking in the dark I think would be out of the question. This wasn't a problem for us, I think it's worth it for the views and we had only gone for the one night.

We were lucky enough to have the view of the city from our room, but really the view from the other side (over the hotel car park) is not bad either, the car park isn't unattractive and the surrounding areas are lovely.

The breakfast buffet was okay, not as good as some other continental breakfasts I've had - not as much choice of fresh fruits, cheeses and pastries, and not the nicest Spanish omelette I've tasted either.

The room was very clean but I would agree with other reviews that they could probably do with a bit of a revamp or even just a coat of paint. The shower wasn't brilliant, the shower attachment was very loose and difficult to keep in place.

There is a small balcony and I think it would be ideal if they placed a small table and chairs there to allow people to sit out and enjoy the views.

The hotel though is in traditional Spanish style so I wouldn't expect it to be overly modern.

The sleep quality wasn't too bad, it was hot so we had the air conditioning on most of the night and it's pretty noisy, so woke me up a few times.

My main complaint with regard to the hotel is that first of all we weren't told we had to book for dinner, and the restaurant was advertised as being open till 11.30pm. Although we weren't advised that we would need to reserve a table I called around 9pm to ask for a table at 10.30 on our return from the city centre. We hadn't got the impression that the hotel was very busy so didn't think there would be a problem, but the girl on reception told me they were full but would check and call me back. She called back five minutes later to say they were full and couldn't offer us a table. We went to the first restaurant we saw after that and actually ended up having a lovely meal. The restaurant is just at the other side of the footbridge coming from the city centre, called "La Venta San Martin". The service, quality, and cost was fantastic, I couldn't recommend it enough.

When we returned to the hotel, however, at around 11.15pm, we passed the restaurant, which was empty. We could see the terrace area of the restaurant from our room and it was only half full, with people still being served at that point. Although it worked out okay in the long run I was disappointed that the hotel could not give us a table for dinner given that they certainly weren't full. There was only myself, husband, and daughter, so I don't think it would have been out of the question to accommodate us.

Room Tip: I've given the rooms very good because although they could be doing with a coat of paint, the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel four times and have always been completely satisfied. The views of Toledo are breathtaking (ask for a second floor room overlooking the city)
The restaurant manager is superb, and we had a wonderful meal here with friends. We ordered a bottle of red wine, but as I was the only person eating fish the manager said that he would bring me a complimentary glass of white wine! At the end of the meal my husband ordered a Carajillo coffee which was the best he had ever tasted.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room overlooking the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.3 mi away
Cigarral El Bosque
Cigarral El Bosque
#21 of 45 in Toledo
3.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
2.3 mi away
Eurostars Palacio Buenavista
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Ciudad de Toledo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abaceria
Hotel Abaceria
#25 of 45 in Toledo
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#14 of 45 in Toledo
3.5 of 5 stars 756 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pintor El Greco Sercotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cigarral Domenico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cigarral Domenico

Property: Hotel Cigarral Domenico
Address: C/ Cerro del Emperador s/n, 45002 Toledo, Spain (Formerly Hotel Kris Domenico)
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cigarral Domenico 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Cigarral Domenico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kris Domenico Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing