We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a Fantastic View of Toledo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Cigarral Domenico
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Toledo
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is quiet, modern, clean and very friendly. Regardless of where your room is situated you only have to walk outside to admire the fantastic view of Toledo itself as the hotel is situated on a hill within a vineyard overlooking Toledo. An excellent hotel for either short or long stays. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 461 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just a one night stop en route to the south, the USP of this property has to be the location. If you get a room at the rear of the hotel, you have a stunning view over the city of Toledo. It is just amazing. The hotel is large, but was very quiet on our stay. The reception staff were friendly and spoke much better English than my feeble Spanish. Clean, comfortable and well sized room. Plus a free bottle of Cava on ice in the room ready for us.
We had dinner in the restaurant, which was OK as we were travelling and didn't want to go out again, but nothing special - but the portions are huge (share a starter, don't have one each). Breakfast was good - large selection.

Another that is on the list to stay at again if in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear with a balcony overlooking the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinw1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I spent two nights here for work in early September 2012, and my overriding memory of the stay is having barely slept on either night - although this is a decent hotel with plenty of amenities and a stunning view of Toledo, if you get lucky with your room.

I was one of the unlucky ones. Half of the rooms - including mine, it transpired - face out on to the hotel car park. After such a beautiful ride up to the hotel (and there's no public transport anywhere up there, so grab a cab in town if you're otherwise on foot) it was a huge disappointment not to be facing the view, but they were full. Oh well.

Really, if you can, do try and get a room facing the view - it's every bit as stunning as it looks in pictures! Toledo's a beautiful old town as it is, and with the river and the gorge and the skyline, at sunset it will really take your breath away.

Anyway, that gripe aside, my room was comfortable, clean and spacious. Sadly, it was also terribly hot, the air con was awful, and the window latches didn't work properly. I was stuck in a sauna. Again, the hotel being full meant that I had to endure all this, without any sympathy from the (largely not particularly pleasant) staff whatsoever.

This was not in any way conducive to sleep, and nor were the parties and fireworks displays that were taking place over the hill on my side of the hotel. It turns out there's a number of nightclubs up there. Oh well.

After having not slept, the continental breakfast was decent enough, with lots of coffee to keep us weary car park-facers going. The pool was nice too, although it wasn't heated when we were there, which made it rather chilly.

Now, the good stuff. Did I mention the view? It's stunning. Really, truly jaw dropping. The evening catering was also decent. We ordered various mixed plates among the group, and everything was perfectly done, although not exactly plentiful, and a few of the more rotund members of our party went back to their rooms hungry. Oh well.

Ultimately, I slept about 3 hours each night I was here, all in, and that's a huge problem at a place like this. I was here for work, and I managed OK, but I imagine it would ruin the holiday entirely for a family or couple who were here to relax.

I'd still come back, though - in slightly cooler weather - for that view...

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the view of Toledo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Although we arrived much later than anticipated, we were immediately smitten by the fabulous overview of the old city of Toledo. Sitting on a hill among vineyards above the city gives this property a five-star setting.

The large spacious room and clean bathroom were a pleasant change from the tiny rooms we had experienced in north Africa during this same trip. Our only complaint about the hotel was the fact that we could not regulate the heating/cooling and it got a bit too warm during the night. We never could get the AC to blow out anything but warm air.

Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices to include eggs and meats. Several different juices and even some delicious hot chocolate to go with our pan chocolate.

Before our departure the next a.m., we lingered on the terrace overlooking the city and took some of the best pictures of our trip.

Overall a delightful and restful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room with a balcony overlooking city. The third floor only has skylights wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is located in the countryside, about a couple of kilometers away from the old town of Toledo. The hotel itself is good, nothing special, but the view from the balcony and the patio on the old city is amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dezz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for one night while travelling from south to north of Spain , the weather was appalling but the hotel was warm and friendly they gave us a nice chilled bottle of cava in the room , the room was a little bit tired and good do with refurbishment but it was comfortable , the restaurant was in the bar and not very inspiring limited menu and what we did have was not very good but the breakfast was great ( same room) lots of choice and plenty of it, The staff are very good and friendly and the view over the city at night was great although it is quite a long way from the city centre if you want to venture inn . All in all good value for the money .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travelGalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel was beautiful, our room was big, clean and with a very nice view over Toledo. There was a free sparkling wine waiting for us in the room upon arrival. The breakfast was good, including some hot options. They could have added some vegetables to make it better, however we found this to be a general issue in the hotels in Spain. We liked the free parking. At the price we paid (51 EUR) it was a really good value for money. Would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to Toledo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joe_cy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toledo hotels
1.3 mi away
Cigarral El Bosque
Cigarral El Bosque
#22 of 44 in Toledo
590 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eurostars Toledo
Eurostars Toledo
#14 of 44 in Toledo
1,021 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Bastida
Hotel La Bastida
#19 of 44 in Toledo
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel Ciudad de Toledo
0.7 mi away
Sercotel Hotel Pintor el Greco
2.4 mi away
Hotel Beatriz Toledo Auditorium & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cigarral Domenico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cigarral Domenico

Address: Plaza Cerro de Las Melojas s/n, 45002 Toledo, Spain (Formerly Hotel Kris Domenico)
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Toledo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Toledo
Price Range: $68 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cigarral Domenico 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cigarral Domenico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kris Domenico Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing