We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Green breeze in carnivorous Toledo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Madre Tierra

Madre Tierra
Ranked #54 of 415 Restaurants in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
bardolino
Level Contributor
228 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Green breeze in carnivorous Toledo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

The food was delicious at a reasonable price. The atmosphere, including the background music, were very nice and relaxing. Although the waitress's English was not good, she did her best, and so did we in our mangled Spanish. We highly recommend this establishment for anyone who can do without meat, and intend to return before we leave Toledo.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bonsi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    91
    36
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Spain
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“High quality vegy Restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The food is very good quality, the cooking excellent, the eco vines fantastic. We had cold Eco Sangria, very good.
the decoration is very nice, they play relaxing music all the time so the atmosphere is charming.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carey74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dinner at Madre Tierra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Although we are not vegetarians, we do not eat meat or shell fish, so restaurants, especially in Spain, are often a challenge. We had learned about Madre Tierra through a personal recommendation and a review in Trip Advisor.
This restaurant is located in a tiny alley in the Old City of Toledo and not easy to find. We arrived at the stated opening time to find the lights on but the doors closed. We waited for ten minutes and began to consider leaving when the cook and the owner appeared to let us in.
We were delighted that we did not abandon our plans and stayed for dinner. The owner spoke no English, but we were able to make our needs met. The menu was broad with many choices. Wines were very pleasant. The food was well prepared, nicely presented, and delicious. Portions were ample. We very much enjoyed our meal and Madre Tierra and would recommend it to others without hesitation. It is worth the time to find it and even the wait if the staff is a bit late for opening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Organic, vegetarian and amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I am a carnivore... But if eating vegetarian was always this good, I would change in a heartbeat! Dishes are plentiful. Tonight two of us shared one starter, salad and one entree. Perfect!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laruel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lasagna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

I do not like lasagna but my wife does. Well, I ended up pestering her for more of her plate. This is a vegetarian recipie and is the best I've ever had! I had escalopeines de tof. They were fantastic as well. We're going back tonight for desert and tea. The atmosphere and the service was great. This place is tucked away behind the Cathedral off of Calle de Sixto.

Helpful?
1 Thank 226leisab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madre Tierra also viewed

Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to Madre Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing