We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful intimate restaurant”

Restaurante La Orza
Ranked #13 of 426 Restaurants in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: La Orza is located right in the heart of Toledo's Jewish quarter, next to the Iglesia de Santo Tomé, the El Greco Museum and the El Tránsito Synagogue. Relax and enjoy a traditional Spanish meal with friends in the intimate surroundings of our restaurant. With its excellent reputation for serving new takes on traditional dishes, La Orza is a must-try restaurant for anyone looking to enjoy Castilian specialities. And La Orza's rustic décor adds a warm, traditional touch to our special restaurant. Famous faces from the worlds of politics, culture, arts and sport have dined at La Orza, as well as distinguished visitors from all over Spain and around the world.
New City, NY
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful intimate restaurant”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Our guide (a local) recommended this place to us as her favorite and we were not disappointed. It is a small place, but in good weather has tables available outside as well. Since we had reservations we had a perfect spot inside.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and they had a nice choice of local wines at reasonable prices.

There were also families in the restaurant and everyone seemed to have a good time. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a nice place with great food.

The only minor complaint is that they had a very difficult time with credit cards - they supposedly took AmEx but it didn't work, neither did either of my Visa cards (kept asking for a pin and not accepting it). The only one that worked was a mastercard and they required a PIN. Didn't have this problem anywhere else in Spain.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    755
    459
    124
    36
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very pleasant - service very good returned 3 times in 1 week
Very good menu - especially the menu of the day which was very good value

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A restaurant find”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We sat outside on a little patio for lunch and enjoyed a delicious meal. Pricier than other choices in Toledo, but worth going to for the fine cuisine and excellent service. Complimentary after-lunch liqueur (a local specialty) was incredible.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrh16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“One of the best meals of my life”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I'm still thinking about the meal we had here... My wife got the €25 prix-fixe menu (a delightful tomato-based soup with jamón and eggs that was smoky and velvety, a fall-off-the-bone stewed partridge on perfectly cooked short-grain rice and a fantastic almond custard dessert) and I got the roast venison loin with apples and potatoes. This is world-class food, and we'd have paid 4 times more for similar quality in San Francisco.

Service was attentive and polite without being in the least bit stuffy. The house wine they poured (Florentine?) was top-notch - a peppery Rioja that was just lovely.

Our bill came to €50. I've spent that in the U.S. for mediocre lunches at airports.

One tip: it seems that you don't need a reservation if you're eating outside (there are 3 or 4 tables, first-come, first served), but otherwise, you do. Don't miss this place - have your hotel call ahead before you go.

Meson de la Orza gets my highest possible recommendation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoomedXIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious, cozy, friendly - a highlight of our trip to Toledo”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stumbled across this beautiful little restaurant after a very long day wandering through the narrow, confusing (unfriendly) streets of Toledo.

The maitre d (owner?) was charming, warm and happy to have us there (even without a reservation - It was a Sunday or Monday evening).

The place was beautiful, charming and has a wonderfully firendly atmosphere. The food was DELICIOUS and BEAUTIFULLY presented. We all ooh-ed and ahh-ed over each other's plates and had a lovely, leisurely dinner complete with appetizers, wine, dessert.

I'm sure the prices are relatively high - it was an elegant little place but if you want a special, romantic and delicious meal in Toledo, this is the place for you!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimmers2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante La Orza also viewed

 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 
Toledo, Province of Toledo
Toledo, Province of Toledo
 

Been to Restaurante La Orza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing