We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spanish culture at its best!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadio

Canadio
Reserve with
Canadio is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 629 Restaurants in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Spanish culture at its best!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We found this place by accident late in the evening (around 22:30) and what a good find it was!! Hardly any tourist and full of locals, which seemed the case for Santander in General anyway.

Noisy as others said yes, but to me that is part of the atmosphere in Spain. If you visit a tapasbar that is how it should be. A meeting place for people who want to catch up after work while having some tapas and a drink.

The bar is a mixture of classic and old with a dining area and a bar. I'd recommend opting for the bar where you can just pick the pintxos you want and an accompanying drink, after which you pay the person behind the bar for your order. My total for 3 pintxos and a beer was 7 euro and 70 cents, which in my opinion is not expensive at all.

In short a great local atmosphere (you get sucked into the authentic spanish lifestyle), friendly and helpful personnel behind the bar and more importantly the food was delicious.

I can't comment on the restaurant as I didn't order from the menu, but do yourself a favour and order at the bar (the way this place is supposed to be experienced).

I've added a picture of the food as well which hopefully comes online here soon.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    486
    402
    102
    28
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoeilaart
Level Contributor
238 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but far too noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

After visiting his restaurant earlier this year in Madrid and after the very pleasant meal there, the place in Santander of the same owner couldn't be surpassed having the opportunity to go there. We went there with eight or ten. The number of Spanish guests tends to vary during the meal. Anyway like in the Madrid restaurant we ordered a number of dishes for sharing. All of the food was super. Spanish ingredients and fish and meat brought in a new way. However its was the fiesta of Santander last weekend and that meant that not only the city but also the restaurants were loaded with people that had obviously more to drink then water. This made the place very noisy. I don't like that at all. Despite the good food I was happy to leave, but I can advise anyone to go to this restaurant when in Santander and when there is no fiesta and everything is probably a bit more quiet. Though....????

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janbnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not just for tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Behind the busy tapas bar, which serves superb and creative pinchos, is the restaurant that serves authentic spanish cuisine with a new modern look. The ambience is very nice and service is very professional and pleasant. The food is excelent. I had Pescado de La Esperanza which was a oven cooked seabass, absolutely fresh, moist, and perfectly done. My husband had the escalopines de jamon y queso, also delicious. The three chocolate with three distinct textures desert was unbelivably light although its richness. A real delight.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Escemes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere matched with tasty pintxos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We first went on a Wednesday and the bar was heaving. Getting to the front wasn't a problem and we were served some cañas (mini-beers) and chose a couple of pintxos (pinchos!) as we weren't sure what they were. After our first sample we couldn't resist so grabbed a couple more and took them outside.

Unbelievable value as the pintxos were just €1 each!!!! The beer was also around the €1.20 mark.

We later returned on the Friday to sample some more as the food was so yummy the first time. The price a bit steeper on this day €2.30ish but the pintxos were also a bit more 'supreme' and we chose octupus and cod ones which looked beautiful.

Highly recommended for the value, the tastiness and the atmosphere where a lot of people were outside enjoying drinks with friends.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kashym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“excellent beef steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

In the front is the tapas bar with a wide selection not found in most tapas bars. The Jamon is of good quality for a starter. This is the only restaurant I order a steak at, order the filet. A bit pricey as other have said.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank expatengineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canadio also viewed

Santander, Cantabria
 
Santander, Cantabria
Santander, Cantabria
 

Been to Canadio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing