We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our best meals ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Serbal

El Serbal
Reserve with
El Serbal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 635 Restaurants in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $147
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Level Contributor
379 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“One of our best meals ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We opted for the tasting menu of 7 courses and it was almost too much food. They also do a four course menu which may be a better option for those with smaller appetite. Free aperitif drinks were offered which were a range of sherries. To start they brought an amuse bouche which was a leek soup with ravioli. The hi-lights of the 7 courses were a scallop with a shellfish ravioli in a cava sauce, sea bass with vegetables and a calamari tagliatelle , suckling pig and a cheesecake with chocolate. Even the other courses which were not our favourites were beautifully cooked and presented. In addition they brought some delicious home made breads with a selection of olive oils and home made petit fours and truffles even though we did not have coffee. The drinks were reasonably priced we had bottle of Argentine Malbec for about 26 Euros. They also have an extensive mineral water menu but a bottle of Solares didn’t break the bank at less than 4 Euros. Overall a brilliant experience with attentive service (not overbearing) and excellent value for money, sadly the restaurant was quiet despite it being a Saturday night so it was lacking in atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    135
    50
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
peterborough UK
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Worth a journey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed overnight in Santander as we were catching the morning ferry. What a meal! The restaurant is worth more than a detour, it is a major reason for visiting the area. The 7 or was it 8 course meal with wine is exceptional value, it was also wondrous, we spent more eating on the ferry the following night!
The atmosphere is relaxed you do not need to have packed your evening dress. I recommend that you book ahead as it was fairly busy.
We all thought it was one of the best meals we had eaten.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cjwlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheapest Michelin Star Restaurant Ever?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Excellent in every way, Agree with all previous posts except the one saying they needed to lighten up. We found the MD very attentive and serious about the food and wine, but one should not forget that even when a person speaks good English it doesn't mean they will understand the odd quip or badinage with the customer.
Despite the location the inside is what matters and it was spacious and not at all crowded like many similar Michelin starred restaurants where you sit almost on the knee of other diners.
The food was exquisite with great attention to detail and we liked the thought provoking way that at times they paired white wines with meat and red with pork etc. The menu changes in accord with the seasons and we were introduced to local cheeses, seps, fish and meat all of which were served in an attractive way.
Regarding cost: where is there another similar restaurant that serves a lunch menu for 35€ or an 8 course tasting menu with wine for 85€? I appreciate that this will still mean for many that they will go there for a special treat, but rest assured you will not be disappointed. Even an odd glass of wine cost only 3.65€ and no charge for the five different sorts of home made bread and no service charge added to the bill. I know it is not typical for Spanish diners to tip but I sincerely hope the expats do as we need to encourage places like this!
After a lunch which lasted three and a half hours there was no pressure to leave even though we were the last in the place and as we drank our coffee there was a 5 second blast of God Save the Queen. Who said they need to lighten up! We will be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wayzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Culinary Excellence!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This restaurant richly deserves it's No 1 place on TripAdvisor. As a birthday treat we went for the Special Menu. It was all just fantastic. 8 courses and 3 hours later we left to catch our ferry very satisfied indeed. Its expensive but good value for money. Will go again but might have to wait for another birthday.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seadog229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

After the initial shock of the location of El Serbal (although only a minute walk from busy streets of Santander) was surprised by how good this place was. We were given English menus and a complimentary sherry to get us started. Good menu choice, the sharing option on starters and desserts is ideal and they take this into account in the portions.. Mains were both excellent. Service was almost unnoticeable in a good way. They fussed over you just enough without making you uncomfortable. Our waiter didn't speak great English so anything that required an explanation he'd make sure to bring an English speaking colleague over to explain. Biggest shock of the night was when the bill came. Less than €110 for the whole meal for 2 including wine? Can't recommend the place enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Serbal also viewed

Santander, Cantabria
Santander, Cantabria
 
Santander, Cantabria
Santander, Cantabria
 

Been to El Serbal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing