We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not good for english”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Victoria
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Certificate of Excellence
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“not good for english”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Nice hotel inside but the outside let it down, very rude staff and would not try to understand requests.
very thin walls, 'every' noise could be heard from the room next door.
TV had all Spanish channels so wasn't much use.
Check out was at mid day although the ferry wasn't until 21:00, a long time to wait if the weather isn't good

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regiment888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    179
    65
    17
    18
See reviews for
121
212
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
309 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Have stayed at this hotel several times over the years, mainly for the great location. This time I think will be the last unless improvements are made. We were travelling from Donostia to Llanes and spent a few days in Santander en route.
View from the room was fantastic but the room, as if to compensate was small and with a balcony where it was virtually impossible to find room to sit.
The breakfast is shockingly bad. Despite what another reviewer says this is NOT a real Spain breakfast. Having travelled extensively in Northern Spain I would not expect to see tinned fruit, soggy croissants, unfresh bread, green scrambled egg. There is not even tortilla on offer. At 9.30 euros a disgrace. Cannot believe how so many reviewers eat at the hotel when there are so many great eating places in Santander. The quality of the breakfast alone would put me off.
Over the years the management seem to have made no effort at all to update the hotel and it just seems to be going nowhere.
We were in the hotel late Sunday afternoon, after a great lunch at the nearby La Bodega, when the fire alarm went off. Along with several guests we made our way to reception to be told there was no problemo. There was no-one who spoke English available and with my limited Spanish I could not find out what was happening. I believe this was a serious concern

Room Tip: Try nearby restaurants La Bodega and La Cania.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GasheadBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

A great hotel in a wonderful location overlooking a choice of immaculately tended sandy beaches and within easy reach of the centre of Santander by bus or a leisurely stroll on a fine day.
The hotel is of a high standard, staff are welcoming and rooms are well maintained and spotlessly clean. Our only criticism was that because of the unusual shape of the hotel, rooms are irregularly shaped and storage space in our room was very limited - a small wedge shaped wardrobe which was difficult to access and offered insufficient space. There were no bedside drawers or cupboards either. On the plus side, our balcony was immense with fabulous views. (Next door's balcony was a quarter of the size).
It beggars belief that reviewers have criticized the food. The breakfast buffet caters for all tastes and offers a wide range of options - though don't expect Brit-style bacon and egg. More like tortilla and limp bacon! There are plenty of alternatives however, and no-one need go hungry. The star attraction however is the Menu del Dia, available in the evening from 8.30 (Spaniards eat late), and provided with an often interesting English translation! There’s soup or fruit juice, then a choice of several first courses followed by a choice of main courses with the freshest fish imaginable, meats or vegetarian option. Dessert also comes with choices, then there's coffee. All this plus a bottle of Rioja, for 20 euros! BARGAIN.
Would we recommend the Gran Hotel Victoria? YES,YES.YES.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed 4 nights and thought the hotel, and particularly our room 405 just great. Had a lovely sea view and probably the biggest balcony we have ever had. Luck of the draw perhaps in view of other earlier reviews.
We were warmly welcomed by the reception with good English spoken.
Breakfast was good apart from tinned fruit. Had a lunch at 20 euros which was not brilliant. Found Santander inexpensive with menus of the day at 12 euros including wine at a number of places and enjoyed the food overall.
Best meal we had was at Asador Lechazo Aranda, 15 Calle Tetuan which was more expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Try to be on floors 4 or 5 for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnthedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Hotel is located about 30 minutes walk from centre of city but there is a good local easily managed bus service. The reception staff had reasonable English and were helpful. The hotel was very clean and bright. We did not have breakfast but had the set dinner one evening which was quite nice and good value. Parking was expensive at 15 Euro approx. per night.
The worst part was the room. Very small and not suitabe for 2 people. It should only have had one bed and be used as a single room. The balcony was also cramped. We were there for 2 nights and by the second night we got quite frustrated with the room.
Unfortunately I could not recommend the hotel to anybody as they might get a similar room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cahiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderhill, Florida
Level Contributor
345 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Lovely place! We got upgraded to a top floor suite which was spacious and ultra comfortable. Had a lovely view of Magdalena Park and the ocean. The hotel was clean, modern and well-designed, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the city itself quite beautiful. We should have stayed longer than the one night we had scheduled. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant, which served a lovely meal that featured local specialties.
Our only issue was a frosted glass door to the bathroom, which made privacy a problem, especially since the third party's bed had a ringside view. What were they thinking? (really, looking aside wasn't really a problem.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentheEnchanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Wouldn't recommend in any way - don't go. Requested a non smoking room but the room really smelled of smoke. The balcony was tiny in our room, it was literally about 2 feet wide and my husband couldn't actually sit on the chair without banging his knees of the balcony wall.
Our room was located a couple of stories over the reception area so we didn't have a sea view. To make matters worse we were looking into the next rooms balcony which was huge.
Now for the food, we had booked full board, big mistake - I admit I am a fussy eater so those who know me wouldn't be surprised that I only ate the ice cream which was desert. My husband on the hand would eat anything and is not fussy in any way but he thought the meals were a total and utter disgrace - extremely poor quality.
Santander is a very expensive place to visit and reminds me of parts of Ireland in the boom years when some people got very greedy - I felt Santander was a total rip off. The only things that offered value were the buses.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopping-spraoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santander hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Sardinero
Gran Hotel Sardinero
#4 of 32 in Santander
639 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#6 of 32 in Santander
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
880 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eurostars Hotel Real
Eurostars Hotel Real
#8 of 32 in Santander
814 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vincci Puertochico
Vincci Puertochico
#11 of 32 in Santander
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Victoria

Property: Gran Hotel Victoria
Address: Calle Maria Luisa Pelayo 38 | El Sardinero, 39005 Santander, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santander
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing