We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with a great location in the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Silken Coliseum Hotel
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Santander
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with a great location in the city”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. The room was lovely, modern and spacious. Very comfortable and the shower was great. It is very close to shopping and the beautiful Cathedral. We would definitely stay there again, couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smckillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    306
    128
    21
    21
See reviews for
88
333
13
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This hotel is a 5/10 minute walk from the ferry port and therefore very handy . Ideal for visting the town and surrounding area , with regular bus service to the beaches and casino area in Sardineria . You can walk back to town along a coastal path and stop off at various bars/restaurants, visit the Magdalena park and generally chill out on the beaches . The hotel has recently been refurbished as it was originally a cinema , according to a local Senora who incidently lived in England for 26years until her husband died and she returned to Santander . Can be noisy in the morning but then you don't go on holidy to stay in bed so it gets you moving .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Very smart, modern & clean. Excellent location a few blocks from the bus & train station (where the airport bus drops you for only a €2 fare from the airport). Great beds and bedding - slept wonderfully. A little street noise late on a Friday night, but this is Spain - you should be out making it! Free high speed wi-fi - why isn't every hotel doing this?

Location good - near shops & cafes, 2 minutes to the Cathedral & 4 to the harbour front. Any of the busses along the seafront will take you to the main beach & rock headlands only €1.1 flat fare..

Santander is fabulous - great food, great atmosphere, friendly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen-London-N16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We have just spent 4 nights at the fabulous Hotel Silken Coliseum, and would recommend it to anyone. The location is brilliant (7 min walk to main bus/railway station), and a 5 min walk to the main waterfront and harbour. It is in the heart of the shopping/restaurant district. Our room was large and comfortable, the bed linen white and spotless and the gorgeous bathroom immaculate (Villeroy and Boch fittings). The cafeteria and restaurant are delightful if a little pricey - we did not take the 16 Euros breakfast but ate in the delightful Cafe Botanico right next door (open all day for breakfast, lunches, evening meals etc at extremely reasonable prices). The evening meals in the hotel looked fine but we chose to sample local reastaurants instead. So, don't look any further than the Silken Coliseum, a 4 star hotel at a 3 star price, right in the middle of town. Just one tip about visiting Santander - learn the language before you go :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyTraveller062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Hotel in centre of Santander so very convenient for beaches, shopping and sight seeing. Also good for getting out of city to go to Bilbao etc. Room was a "comfort" room with a view of a ventialtion shaft so that curtains had to be permanently drawn! Bathroom mirror was broken and not repaired for 2 days. Breakfast service was the worst I have ever experienced in many years of travelling. Surly, ungracious staff keen not to assist! Would never go back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We chose this hotel because it was (at that time) #1 of the TA Popularity Index for Santander, and we didn't regret it. It's right in the centre of Santander, which in March is a better option than El Sardinero, for example. It's modern, clean, and the area is quiet despite being very central. The room was big enough for the 4 of us (including 2 children), and there were lots of toiletries, as it's the norm in the Silken chain.

We'd gladly come back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josmon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Four star establishment, but tired rooms and not top notch service leans towards three rather than four stars.

Check in went smooth, and reception area is modern and fresh.

Our room was on the 2nd floor, and facing the backyard - meaning no view whatsover. Except from the other rooms also facing the backyard some five meters away. This meant that we had to keep the curtains well shut during our stay. Quite a dark experience really. (The 'view' reminded me of recent experiences from Manhattan.)
The room was clean, and a large bathroom with good selection of amenities. The bed (large double) was good as well, however on the firm side.

The safe in our room was broken, and made some quite annoying beepy sound every 10 seconds. We called reception about this issue, but were however not offered a new room. Instead they sent the maintenance man while we were out, and claimed he fixed it. Well, he didn't. However I managed to somehow make it shut up, but we could not use the safe. (room no 203 btw). Not a four star handling of our problem the way I see it.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel, and at € 16 I consider it quite a rip off. Just next door (tot the left) is a cafe serving food that will cost you in the range of € 1.50 to 6, depending on your preferences.

We did have dinner in the restaurant the last night though. Normally, I try to aviod hotel restaurants for dinner - but this was a pleasant surprise with tasty food and an OK ambience, and the 'Chuleta' was priced at only € 23.

Location is good for both shopping and restaurants, your are in the city centre - but no nioce or hustle/bustle.
The beaches are some 35-40 minutes away (we walked quite fast). Or you can take the boats from the harbour (10 min walk, max) to other beaches in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_oslo_gooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santander hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nh Ciudad De Santander
Nh Ciudad De Santander
#5 of 32 in Santander
231 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chateau La Roca Hotel
Chateau La Roca Hotel
#14 of 32 in Santander
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Chiqui
Hotel Chiqui
#6 of 32 in Santander
898 reviews
1.5 mi away
Silken Rio Hotel
Silken Rio Hotel
#17 of 32 in Santander
555 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santemar Hotel
Santemar Hotel
#13 of 32 in Santander
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silken Coliseum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silken Coliseum Hotel

Property: Silken Coliseum Hotel
Address: Plaza Remedios 1, 39001 Santander, Spain
Location: Spain > Cantabria > Santander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Silken Coliseum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Hotel Silken Coliseum, destaca por su singular fachada y sus modernas instalaciones. A ello se suma una ubicacion privilegiada en el centro neuralgico de Santander, a escasos metros del Paseo que une el centro historico y de negocios de la ciudad con la Plaza Italia , punto neuralgico del veraneo Santanderino. Asi, tanto el viajero de negocios como el que viene a disfrutar de la ciudad encontrara en el Hotel Silken Coliseum una opcion inmejorable. Las 92 habitaciones del hotel, destacan por su diseno de interiores, con mobiliario de lineas contemporaneas, en el que se ha prestado especial atencion a la iluminacion, texturas y equipamiento para ofrecer un mayor confort y un ambiente sereno y elegante. El establecimiento cuenta con un restaurante "La Platea" en el que se pone de manifiesto la excelencia de la cocina cantabra, cafeteria " Bambalinas" y garaje propio. El hotel dispone de cinco salones con capacidad hasta 200 personas, en los que gracias a su decoracion y a su completo equipamiento de medios audiovisuales, wifi gratuito, pueden organizarse eventos de todo tipo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Silken Coliseum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Silken Coliseum
Silken Coliseum Santander

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing